B
#1 Best Private Colleges in Utah

BYU Ratings and Reviews

Provo, Utah

 14 Reviews

Ratings

8/10
Overall
9/10
Academics
6/10
Resources
10/10
Outcomes
9/10
Value

BYU is rated within the top 24% of four-year colleges nationally and earns a CollegeSimply grade of 8 out of 10. Learn how ratings are calculated

Reviews

Student and Parent Reviews

If you are a student, former student, faculty member or parent, please help guide other prospective students by sharing your personal experiences at this college. What is it really like to go to Brigham Young University Provo?

L
May 11, 2021
Rating 5 out of 5

An amazing experience for anyone.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
B
Oct 30, 2019
Rating 5 out of 5

BYU is a great school although it is very difficult and there is a lot of homework, so don't slack off and don't procrastinate.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
Dec 6, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

I loved going to BYU. I received my masters there. The campus is very social and the students walking around seem happier than at other universities I have attended.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
R
Sep 23, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

I look back on my time at BYU with fondness. The beautiful campus offers a fantastic atmosphere so you could study effectively anywhere. School offers a large selection of classes, even fun classes to give yourself a break. High moral standards offers a safe place to live. Great experiences (academically and socially) that prepared me for admission to medical school. Would highly recommend BYU to anyone.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
M
Aug 21, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

I enjoyed my experience. Quality professors and classes. Prepared me well for my professional career ? top 5 school in my major. Clean cut students. Fun sports teams to follow. Fun intramural sports programs (played soccer, football, ultimate frisbee and softball during my time there).

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
S
Apr 12, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

Wonderful school.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
Jan 11, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

Amazing atmosphere and great morals

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
Sep 15, 2017
Rating 5 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
May 2, 2017
Rating 5 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
L
Mar 29, 2016
Rating 3 out of 5

It's safely.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
j
Mar 12, 2016
Rating 3 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
S
Mar 9, 2016
Rating 5 out of 5

The school does not except any high school or community college grades over 4.0. An A+ is still a 4.0. It has very, very strict rules against tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, even off-campus. BYU accepts students of any religion as long as the student qualifies academically and abides by their very strict morality clause. Non-LDS (non-Mormon) students pay higher tuition then LDS students. This is because BYU is supported by contributions from LDS members around the world.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
Jul 16, 2015
Rating 5 out of 5

As long as you're cool with the Honor Code (which eliminates any chance of traditional college partying), this is one of the best colleges in the country. Outstanding in every way, with top-notch academics. You'll be extremely well positioned for a great career or grad school. (BYU positioned me for a prestigious business career and then getting into grad school in the Ivy League.)

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
S
Oct 21, 2014
Rating 4 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
Rate Brigham Young University Provo

We will review your college review for suitability and publish it if approved. We reserve all rights to reject and edit reviews deemed incomplete, inappropriate or malicous or critical of individuals. By submitting this review you agree for it to be published on this website. Your full name will not be published.