Maine College of Art & Design vs. Empire State University
Deciding between Maine College of Art & Design and Empire State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Maine College of Art & Design
Empire State University
-
Overview
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- Location
-
Maine College of Art & Design Portland, ME
-
Empire State University Saratoga Springs, NY
-
-
- Setting
-
Maine College of Art & Design Small City
-
Empire State University Small Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Maine College of Art & Design 475
-
Empire State University 10,469
-
-
- Type
-
Maine College of Art & Design Private 4 Year
-
Empire State University Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Maine College of Art & Design -
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Status
-
Maine College of Art & Design Non-profit
-
Empire State University Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Maine College of Art & Design meca.edu
-
Empire State University sunyempire.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
-
Cost
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- Tuition (In State)
-
Maine College of Art & Design $42,942
-
Empire State University $7,648
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Maine College of Art & Design $42,942
-
Empire State University $17,558
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Maine College of Art & Design $17,184
-
Empire State University $14,230
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Maine College of Art & Design $39,639
-
Empire State University $11,659
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Maine College of Art & Design $20,277
-
Empire State University $8,243
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Maine College of Art & Design 100%
-
Empire State University 82%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- Applied
-
Maine College of Art & Design 994
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Maine College of Art & Design 756
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Maine College of Art & Design 76.1%
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Maine College of Art & Design 16.1%
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Maine College of Art & Design -
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Maine College of Art & Design -
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Maine College of Art & Design Unavailable
-
Empire State University Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Maine College of Art & Design Test-free
-
Empire State University Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Maine College of Art & Design
-
Empire State University
-
-
-
Academics
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Maine College of Art & Design 8:1
-
Empire State University 17:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Maine College of Art & Design
- Visual and Performing Arts (100%)
-
Empire State University
- Business (40%)
- Human Services (20%)
- General Studies (10%)
- Physical Sciences (6%)
- Psychology (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- Graduation Rate
-
Maine College of Art & Design 42%
-
Empire State University 19%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Maine College of Art & Design $31,600
-
Empire State University $46,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Maine College of Art & Design 70%
-
Empire State University 44%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Maine College of Art & Design $27,000
-
Empire State University $23,250
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Maine College of Art & Design $279
-
Empire State University $240
-
-
-
Diversity
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- % Men
-
Maine College of Art & Design 22%
-
Empire State University 32%
-
-
- % Women
-
Maine College of Art & Design 78%
-
Empire State University 68%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Maine College of Art & Design Very Low
-
Empire State University High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Maine College of Art & Design No
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- % White
-
Maine College of Art & Design 84%
-
Empire State University 60%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Maine College of Art & Design 2%
-
Empire State University 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
Maine College of Art & Design 1%
-
Empire State University 16%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Maine College of Art & Design 5%
-
Empire State University 12%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Maine College of Art & Design 1%
-
Empire State University 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Maine College of Art & Design 0%
-
Empire State University 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Maine College of Art & Design 4%
-
Empire State University 2%
-
-
- % International
-
Maine College of Art & Design 2%
-
Empire State University 5%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Maine College of Art & Design 3%
-
Empire State University 2%
-
-
-
Students
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- % In-State
-
Maine College of Art & Design 18%
-
Empire State University 92%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Maine College of Art & Design 82%
-
Empire State University 5%
-
-
-
Campus
- Maine College of Art & Design
- Empire State University
- Campus Housing
-
Maine College of Art & Design Yes
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Maine College of Art & Design No
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Maine College of Art & Design Yes
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Maine College of Art & Design No
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Maine College of Art & Design No
-
Empire State University No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Maine College of Art & Design in Portland, ME with Empire State University in Saratoga Springs, NY on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Empire State University is larger than Maine College of Art & Design based on total student enrollment (10,469 students vs. 475 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Maine College of Art & Design is located in Portland, ME (Small City setting); Empire State University is in Saratoga Springs, NY (Small Suburban setting).
- Maine College of Art & Design is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Empire State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Maine College of Art & Design 8:1; Empire State University 17:1.
Maine College of Art & Design vs. Empire State University Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Maine College of Art & Design or Empire State University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Empire State University than Maine College of Art & Design ($11,659 vs. $39,639).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Empire State University are 17.2% lower than at Maine College of Art & Design ($14,230 vs. $17,184).
- Maine College of Art & Design is 461.5% more expensive for in-state tuition than Empire State University (about $35,294 more per year; $42,942.00 vs. $7,648.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 144.6% higher at Maine College of Art & Design than at Empire State University (about $25,384 more per year; $42,942.00 vs. $17,558.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Maine College of Art & Design than at Empire State University (100% vs. 82%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Maine College of Art & Design students is 146% larger than aid received by Empire State University students ($20,277 vs. $8,243).
Maine College of Art & Design vs. Empire State University Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Maine College of Art & Design or Empire State University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Empire State University and Maine College of Art & Design.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Maine College of Art & Design - Test-free; Empire State University - Not reported.
Maine College of Art & Design vs. Empire State University Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Maine College of Art & Design and Empire State University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Maine College of Art & Design's six-year graduation rate (42%) is higher than Empire State University's (19%).
- Graduates from Empire State University earn a median of about $14,400 more per year than Maine College of Art & Design graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,000 vs. $31,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Empire State University graduates have a $3,750 lower median loan debt than Maine College of Art & Design graduates ($23,250 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Empire State University graduates have an estimated $39 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Maine College of Art & Design graduates ($240 vs. $279).
- More Maine College of Art & Design graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Empire State University students, three years after graduation. (70% vs. 44%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.