M
Private 2 Year

McCann School of Business and Technology Ratings and Reviews

Pottsville, Pennsylvania

 21 Reviews

Reviews

Student and Parent Reviews

If you are a student, former student, faculty member or parent, please help guide other prospective students by sharing your personal experiences at this college. What is it really like to go to McCann School of Business and Technology?

J
Aug 9, 2021
Rating 5 out of 5

I just finished my degree at McCann School of Business & Technology-Lewisburg. Even through COVID-19 was going on I got the same support from the start to the end. When I started I was worry about starting due to the shutdowns happening. I was worried about not being able to finish the program. All the teachers I had was awesome, they answer their emails quick and even willing to meet at the school during the shutdown if needed. They was not worried about how much money I want to spend, they was more worried about how my degree was going and if I was going the way I wanted to go. Yes you have to do some extra classes WHICH IS REQUIRED FOR ALL DEGREES AT ALL COLLEGES, NO MATTER WHERE YOU GO. The Gen ED classes was easy, and they space them out so you can do some of the main degree classes with the GEN ED added in throughout the pathway. I'm proud to say I'm a CLASS OF 2021 from McCann School Of Business and Technology-Lewisburg. BTW you have to apply yourself here and do the leg work, if you not then COLLEGE is not for you.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
L
Mar 23, 2021
Rating 1 out of 5

Definitely dont go to this school. Even though I had minor success; the trainers " ARE NOT PROFESSORS " just have to look up their credentials still have students loan debt for a Associate's degree that really has no VALUE except for if you want to teach in the field that the degree is for. Compared that to the certificate which is lesser time and money ,both programs courses are the same.. the recruitment process is a lie and a way to obtain the highest amount of financial aid so they can get a bigger cut for the school and minimum cut that actually goes to your academic career, and equipment .then you are left a few thousand on the very low in for yourself or to be use to start paying down your financial aid. Because they get grants aswell as unsubsidized loans for every student ie maximum payout . Shady practice I graduate in 2014 and still I owe in 2021 . Far as my career it had to be downsized because of medical conditions that I suffered from and the Dept of Education Does Not care . I requested loan forgiveness several deferments and even provided medical documentation that they requested showing that I'm unable to repay these loans back. It's all thanks to McCann school of business &Technology in Allentown PA

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
Oct 25, 2020
Rating 1 out of 5

One of the worst community colleges BAR NONE! Not only do the policies constantly change literally a few days before you start the new semester, but you are expected to be there NO MATTER WHAT. If you miss 3 classes you are expelled (even if you were sick/family emergency/work). I'm currently in debt to this school and they didn't tell me nor my parents that my loans were building up. In fact they never gave us any information. The teachers (not all of them) were total jerks, and didn't seem to care about if we fail or not (plus teachers frequently quit a lot). I could write more but this is a SCAM SCHOOL! All they care about is money and not education. I felt like I was on parole serving prison time, instead of getting an education. DO NOT GO TO MCCANN ITS EVIL!

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
s
Sep 17, 2019
Rating 1 out of 5

So far I am in my second term an dislike it. The education quality is that of middle school. I am currently looking for other school options because this one is not going to be it.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
G
Aug 2, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

I want to formally start by thanking the many professors who have put up with me throughout my time at McCann School of Business & Technology & Miller-Motte College. There is not enough time in the world to effectively thank each and every one of you who contributed to my education. You are making a difference and impacting so many lives. Thank you for believing in me and helping prepare me for this wonderful endeavor in the Criminal Justice field. Thank you for always encouraging me to try my best and for never giving up on me. You taught me more than you will ever know, and without all of you, I would not be where I am today. You?ve always been someone I could call my ?biggest fans.? What means the most to me is that you do more than tell me I?m ?great? at what I do, or that I?m a shoe-in for an opportunity. You take it a few steps beyond and share the reasons why you think so. Thank you not only for being there, but for giving me exactly what I needed at the time.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
Apr 20, 2018
Rating 2 out of 5

I went here for an associates' degree in Network Administration and Security and graduated in 2014. The degree has been absolutely useless and I'll be in debt for the rest of my life as there are no jobs that I can get with this degree that want to pay good enough to afford $300+ a month in student loan payments. The knowledge I'm expected to have with this degree wasn't even taught. I had one great teacher named Dave that went above and beyond, showing us actual virtual servers so we could say we'd seen things hands on and....they fired him. The rest just had us read from the books which were exorbitantly priced and we could have read at home. Would not recommend this school.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
Apr 5, 2018
Rating 1 out of 5

Disinterested staff, some good instructors, and Chromebooks are a joke. Don't loan money and come here. Predatory on the front side and very sub par on the education/back side. Online classes are so confusing, disorganized, etc. not many students pass them. Very incompetent here...no one cares.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
Sep 27, 2017
Rating 1 out of 5

I currently attend McCann School of Business and Technology online. Let me just say to start if you're interested in attending a school to better your future, advance in the current position you are in, for a change, or whatever the reason might be that you're thinking about attending... DON'T, run and run FAR away from this place. This school is a J O K E. I can't say that enough! I've spent 22,000 dollars on this school to attend here - and I regret it every-single-day. I mean I literally do not have to use my school books to do or learn anything. The fellow students that are in the class some are actually okay, and can tell that they truly want to learn, and go places. The majority however, should have never passed middle school (and that was me being nice). They literally question my entire decision making for this school. Like seriously, what was I really thinking? I could literally go on, and on, and on about this school but there is not enough room to do so.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
Jul 18, 2017
Rating 1 out of 5

they mislead you with dreams and hopes and they say they will help you even if you have ADD and THEY NEVER DO NOTHING all they want is the money and screw you after they get teachers cuts and bonuses and sign ons...... nobody cares here go to LCCC DONT GO HERE BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
C
May 25, 2017
Rating 2 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
B
Oct 29, 2016
Rating 1 out of 5

Prior to enrolling you hear all the bells and whistles. While a student at McCann wilkes Barre I did very well as a student, student ambassador, and tutor.The school does not care about the students; although they act as if they do, you don't get ahead, your extenship is a JOKE....this school has gotten me no where at all except with a large student loan bill and not even a job in my field of study.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
j
Jul 27, 2016
Rating 2 out of 5

teachers don't stay long. books are late and obvious kick backs on the books. questionable teaching methods. some great teachers but not across the board, really wish i had gone to bibsi

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
N
Apr 26, 2016
Rating 0 out of 5

Run fast from this school! They overcharge, do not have proper teachers training you, hands on???... What a joke! Am in debt with no degree, took med lab tech course, never got an extern site, why...cause there were none. No one wanted anyone associated with this school. All the do is take your money, staff is rude and can't be bothered with you. Would never recommend anyone to this joke.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
S
Jan 17, 2016
Rating 0 out of 5

Incompetent staff. Financial aid woman could never be found and not interested in making sure necessary paperwork was completed. When I had an issue, no one could be bothered to return a phone call, even the director! Save your time and money.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
N
Sep 15, 2015
Rating 1 out of 5

Enroll if you want to be indebted with a degree that does absolutely nothing for you. Their turn over is incredibly high, admissions are told to enroll as many students as possible or lose their jobs. Predatory lending comes to mind. School is all about that money instead of a quality education. Questioning whether this school is even legitimately accredited.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
A
Apr 20, 2015
Rating 1 out of 5

This place is a joke. When I enrolled they told me I'd start at 15 or more an hour, lie. They were very high pressure and constantly called me until I enrolled. All you hear in the hallways are people yelling profanity, wearing streets clothes and smelling strongly of weed. People come up there for free money. There was a provisional student cursing and yelling at someonebecause her money won't be released to her until she completes her provisional period. Other people come up here to get 20 he's a week in for welfare. This school needs to be investigated.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
R
Mar 20, 2015
Rating 1 out of 5

Huge waste of money! I am so sorry that I did not look at other options when I went back to school. Everyone that works there is incompetent. Oh, and they are a bunch of liars! don't expect to be able to do anything with a degree from McCann, or get a quality education.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
E
Jan 26, 2015
Rating 1 out of 5

Go to a regular college one that is accredited. Stay far away from MCCann unless you like being lied to.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
C
Sep 5, 2014
Rating 1 out of 5

Teachers are actually in your field of study however you can't do a damn thing with a degree from McCann. Waste of Money.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
Jul 23, 2014
Rating 2 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
Apr 28, 2014
Rating 1 out of 5

BEWARE!!! Stay far away. They offer you the world and you get nothing. Students are told that there is a 90% job placement upon graduation. Lie number 1, everyone I spoke to never had any help with this school finding a job. This brings me to lie 2 they told me there was an excellent career services department. I received 1 phone call since graduation to tell me there was a career fair. I received a technology degree from this place and I believe I am no where near ready to pursue a career in this field due to the lack of training from this School. I am sorry I even wasted money on this place and it was the biggest mistake I ever made in my life. McCann destroying futures ruining lives.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
Rate McCann School of Business and Technology

We will review your college review for suitability and publish it if approved. We reserve all rights to reject and edit reviews deemed incomplete, inappropriate or malicous or critical of individuals. By submitting this review you agree for it to be published on this website. Your full name will not be published.