U
Private 4 Year

Utica College Ratings and Reviews

Utica, New York

 9 Reviews

Ratings

NA
Overall
NA
Academics
NA
Resources
NA
Outcomes
NA
Value

Insufficient data is available for this college to calculate an overall rating.

Reviews

Student and Parent Reviews

If you are a student, former student, faculty member or parent, please help guide other prospective students by sharing your personal experiences at this college. What is it really like to go to Utica College?

r
Oct 10, 2022
Rating 1 out of 5

I read the reviews, believed they weren't real, and continued with the process of enrolling. I urge you to please read my review before making final decisions. First, when I had to pay out of pocket, my expenses were black and white and I paid what I needed to. Whenever I got financial aid, an addition 1-2K were added to my bill. When I disputed my bill, I was told a class was not calculated correctly. Again, this miscalculation and addition to my tuition was added after I received financial aid and not paying out of pocket. It has happened every semester I was fortunate enough to get financial aid, and that seems sketchy at minimum. Second, the reviews on teaching yourself is accurate. What is not said is Utica creates their own test, will not tell you what to focus the majority of your time learning, and has a significantly high fail rate for medsurg. We have repeaters and threepeaters and its become a norm that nobody is questioning why we are all failing. Third, Utica almost lost their accreditation because students went to the board and showed proof that everyone is failing. Those who failed last semester were allowed to take the class for free. Majority of those students are still failing this semester. No lectures, the powerpoints and mini-lecture videos is done by a professor who just could not be more bothered by having to go over the material. Fourth, depending on who your tutor is, you won't get much help. Makayla is amazing, if you decide to move forward with Utica please make sure to attend her tutoring. Other tutors tell you, "This box is probably important, learn it" instead of going over the material and actually helping us understand what the thought process is and how to use it in the real world. Fifth, while I enjoy labs they do not have enough supplies to teach you. You will reuse opened lab kits that are not even the correct kit for the exercise you will be performing. The teachers in labs are very helpful, but that is it. I cannot stress to you enough that this school is not good. This school has made a lot of people fail, fall into debt, give up, etc. Their passing rate is 53%, that is not a good rate. I emailed the dean and was never responded to, I have emailed for help and it's fallen on deaf ears, the prepu questions are outdated to the new text book and does not help prepare you for your exams. Please. Do not go here. Or go here for your prerequisites and then leave.to start somewhere else. I have waisted 8 months here, I have listened to those who have wasted 16 months and are still in semester 2 because of constant failures even after 10 hour study sessions 7 days a week. Do not make our mistake. Avoid Utica at all costs.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
A
May 11, 2020
Rating 4 out of 5

Utica College is like a home away from home. The small class sizes allow professors to get to know the students on a personal level and provide the best learning experience that can be tailored to their individual needs. The faculty and staff here are so amazing and they try to do whatever they can to help the students succeed. I chose Utica College for their occupational therapy program and I am so glad I did because I have made so many great friends and the faculty has helped me to get experience outside of the classroom with local companies.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
H
Apr 28, 2020
Rating 4 out of 5

The class size is very small which makes for a good hands on learning experience.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
K
Apr 15, 2020
Rating 4 out of 5

Utica College is a great option for so many different students. The school offers many different programs, all of which are excellent. I will be going into my senior year this fall, and have to say that it has overall been a great experience. Professors, success coaches, and other advisors have worked with me to get me to where I am and have been more than helpful along the way. Many of the professors are great people to know and make connections with as well. The campus is small, but a great place to be and it's super fun with many other fun events held on campus throughout the year.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
N
Apr 11, 2020
Rating 4 out of 5

I love this school! The people are very friendly/ welcoming and the staff is always there to help when you need it! The food is meh, but what can you expect they have to feed so many people every day. There are many opportunities to get involved. I am a member of multiple clubs and the track team. College is what you make it, so make the most of it!

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
B
Apr 7, 2020
Rating 4 out of 5

It is a small, tight knit community environment that offers a wide variety of clubs and orgs for students to join outside of class to meet more people. Pretty focused on healthcare, construction management, and criminal justice but offers many other programs outside of these.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
K
Apr 6, 2020
Rating 5 out of 5

Some things that Utica College does really well is providing an atmosphere that makes students feel welcomed, important, and able to succeed. When I first came to UC I was very anxious over whether or not I would meet people and if I would fit in. As soon as I stepped on campus the Moose Movers greeted me with such genuine excitement, helped me move in, and gave me confidence for the rest of orientation. Because of the relatively smaller size, I was able to make close connections very quickly as I saw familiar faces in classes, the dining hall, and all over campus. There were so many different clubs to join so I focused on the dance team and the health studies student society, as they went along with my favorite sport and my major of physical therapy. In these I was able to make so many friends and make connections with professors and other opportunities. I became vice president of the dance team and we were able to participate in our first competition this year. This made me feel real

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
C
Apr 3, 2020
Rating 4 out of 5

Utica College makes a community for everyone to feel welcomed. The faculty and staff are all so nice and have your best interest at heart. Everyone wants to make sure you're successful and doing well. The professors are so helpful and truly care about how each and every single one of their students is doing. Everyone is so friendly and it's a home away from home.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
O
Apr 1, 2020
Rating 5 out of 5

24 All Categories I am currently a sophomore at Utica College and I wouldn't trade my decision for the world! I am so happy I chose this school. One of my many favorite things about Utica is the small class sizes. I am really close to a lot of my professors which is very helpful for me. I have always been one who excels when I can talk and ask questions during class. I never feel overwhelmed with having to ask a question or talk to my professor. All of my professors are always super helpful and they will work around my schedule. There are also times where my professor will even send me a text just to see how I am doing with an assignment because they knew I was having trouble. I feel like the education experience at Utica College is unlike any other college. Another thing I love about UC, is that there are always events going on. As students we are never bored and can always find something fun to do! I am really happy with my decision of choosing Utica College.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
Rate Utica College

We will review your college review for suitability and publish it if approved. We reserve all rights to reject and edit reviews deemed incomplete, inappropriate or malicous or critical of individuals. By submitting this review you agree for it to be published on this website. Your full name will not be published.