U
#3 Best Public Universities in New York

UB Ratings and Reviews

Buffalo, New York

 8 Reviews

Ratings

8/10
Overall
8/10
Academics
8/10
Resources
9/10
Outcomes
8/10
Value

UB is rated within the top 24% of four-year colleges nationally and earns a CollegeSimply grade of 8 out of 10. Learn how ratings are calculated

Reviews

Student and Parent Reviews

If you are a student, former student, faculty member or parent, please help guide other prospective students by sharing your personal experiences at this college. What is it really like to go to University at Buffalo?

J
Jun 10, 2021
Rating 1 out of 5

This school has charged me ridiculous fees since it closed for COVID and now that I?m due a refund they are making me wait THIRTY days and say ?hopefully ? I?ll be refunded on the 30th day. They have no problem taking my money but refuse to give it back.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
Nov 29, 2020
Rating 4 out of 5

UB is a spectacular value. It's all up to you. If you challenge yourself, you can select a rigorous course load that will prepare you for advanced study anywhere. After graduating from UB, I completed further training at Michigan, MIT, and Harvard. I was born and raised in western New York, and I had visited UB many times before matriculating. I met one of the great loves of my life there. And some great friends too. I really have nothing but fond memories of the place. I know of no place that is a better value for the money (if you're a state resident). Possibly Berkeley if you're a CA state resident. The Berkeley faculty are in general more famous, but frankly, the education at the collegiate level is better at UB. And living in Buffalo at this point in your life builds a certain kind of character that will serve you for the rest of your life. I'm not sure you can get that anywhere else. Nowhere that I know of anyway.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
P
Jul 2, 2019
Rating 2 out of 5

Very good value for money. This school has two kinds of students: ones who want to get their degree and get out, or those who would rather spend all their time in frat basements. It's like an airport. Everyone's just trying to go their own way, without unnecessary contact with others and with minimal pride for their school. No one absolutely loves being here, we all tolerate it for the price. Teachers are like airport staff. They're good at what they do, they'll help you get to where you want to go (if you ask), but ultimately they don't care about you or what's going on in your life. It's not hard to make connections, but you really have to put in a ton of effort. In conclusion, it's big enough to find your people, but so big that you might lose yourself.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
K
Nov 14, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

I didn't take part in the party scene, so I would not be able to comment on that....I got a good education for a reasonable price with a lot of facilities and mostly excellent professors.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
K
Feb 25, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
May 7, 2017
Rating 5 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
A
Jan 29, 2017
Rating 5 out of 5

Great School, I have yet to find any major flaws. The professors I have had have been well engaged in university activities, and respond immediately to questions; the advisory is also quality in my experience, from day one. There is a wide variety of courses and programs to choose from, as well as clubs, and the connections buffalo has in terms of internships and employment is stunning. Coursework is very doable.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
E
Dec 17, 2016
Rating 0 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
Rate University at Buffalo

We will review your college review for suitability and publish it if approved. We reserve all rights to reject and edit reviews deemed incomplete, inappropriate or malicous or critical of individuals. By submitting this review you agree for it to be published on this website. Your full name will not be published.