M
#1 Best Private Colleges in Florida

Miami Ratings and Reviews

Coral Gables, Florida

 13 Reviews

Ratings

9/10
Overall
10/10
Academics
9/10
Resources
9/10
Outcomes
10/10
Value

Miami is rated within the top 13% of four-year colleges nationally and earns a CollegeSimply grade of 9 out of 10. Learn how ratings are calculated

Reviews

Student and Parent Reviews

If you are a student, former student, faculty member or parent, please help guide other prospective students by sharing your personal experiences at this college. What is it really like to go to University of Miami?

D
Sep 25, 2020
Rating 5 out of 5

Our student has enjoyed an active social life (pre COVID), experienced a diverse student body and has incredible internship opportunities. He says the food could be better but there are plenty of other option on campus and nearby. All in a great city to experience. The University?s communication is excellent.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
M
Jul 25, 2019
Rating 1 out of 5

The academics were subpar and not worth the money that you pay for tuition. Two of my professors were good researchers but poor teachers. NO engaging discussions. Often times I sat in class wondering if the President of the University was aware of the low quality of education and teaching in my class. In terms of the community: Unsafe. High car accident fatalities. An international student who lived in the apartments very close to the university was robbed and stabbed to death in his home. I had the unfortunate experience of renting from a landlord who posted a listing on the UM website. This person ended up being a drug user and scam artist.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
S
Mar 21, 2019
Rating 3 out of 5

Engineering is Lacking

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
v
Dec 28, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

Excellent in every way. Beautiful Campus.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
J
Sep 13, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

Greek Life

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
N
May 16, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

Incredible experience both socially and academically. Will give you the ability to transition anywhere!

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
A
Apr 25, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

I think it is amazing and my son devontae want to go

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
D
Apr 9, 2018
Rating 5 out of 5

I am an alumnus of the Miami Business School. I loved my time at the U. I worked hard and got a lot out of it. The faculty are great. Not all of them are strictly from the university setting but many have terrific real life experience that is relayed into the classroom. Miami is a cosmopolitan city and the university attracts excellent faculty that you are not going to find in the big state land grant universities

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
N
Nov 10, 2017
Rating 4 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
R
Oct 22, 2017
Rating 5 out of 5

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
A
Jan 17, 2017
Rating 4 out of 5

These other reviews do not do this school justice. As a senior graduating this year with a major in marine science and biology, I can say that UM has prepared me for my future. The marine science school is a particularly good program, but (just like at any other school) if you work for it, there are really great opportunities to be found. I can only speak for the science parts of UM, not the business and law, but the professors are great and so is the campus and city. There are always a few bad professors, but that's at any school. Yes, the tuition is expensive, but they're also pretty liberal with scholarships, and there's always money to be found from non-affiliated scholarship programs. I've loved my time here, and I recommend this university. P.S. The football program is making a comeback too- it's all about the U.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
C
Jul 22, 2016
Rating 2 out of 5

Overall rating: 2/10, Not worth the $45,000 you'll be paying in tuition each year. Want to live in the lovely dorms? Have fun shelling out over $1000/mo to be policed constantly and have your rooms searched Are you a white male? Feel left out as the new president makes "task forces" for every minority group, LGBTQWEPSDF, and women Academics are not a focus of this University. Instead, the University of Miami enjoys raising tuition prices to build new buildings, replace structures and sidewalks that don't need replacing, and hiring more faculty that have degrees in "student affairs" (lol) and other liberal arts degrees Its a great place to go out, though. Everyone is pretty damn good looking. So if you're rich, don't really care too much about the quality of the academics, and want to meet some good looking students this is the place for you.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
S
Apr 28, 2015
Rating 2 out of 5

This beautiful setting with good looking students comes at an extremely steep price. While Miami is a fine schoolit is not a elite scholl and the the ^2k nut is just too much.

Overall Rating
Academics
Value for Money
Professors / Faculty
Campus Atmosphere
Housing
Campus Safety
Dating and Social Life
Party and Bar Scene
Rate University of Miami

We will review your college review for suitability and publish it if approved. We reserve all rights to reject and edit reviews deemed incomplete, inappropriate or malicous or critical of individuals. By submitting this review you agree for it to be published on this website. Your full name will not be published.