Washburn University vs. MWSU
Deciding between Washburn University and Missouri Western State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Washburn University
Missouri Western State University
-
Overview
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- Location
-
Washburn University Topeka, KS
-
MWSU Saint Joseph, MO
-
-
- Setting
-
Washburn University Midsize City
-
MWSU Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Washburn University 6,033
-
MWSU 3,716
-
-
- Type
-
Washburn University Public 4 Year
-
MWSU Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Washburn University -
-
MWSU -
-
-
- Status
-
Washburn University Non-profit
-
MWSU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Washburn University washburn.edu
-
MWSU missouriwestern.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
- Admission Chances
-
Washburn University My Chances
-
MWSU My Chances
-
-
-
Cost
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Washburn University $9,945
-
MWSU $10,306
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Washburn University $20,949
-
MWSU $20,866
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Washburn University $11,501
-
MWSU $12,311
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Washburn University $11,488
-
MWSU $13,126
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Washburn University $9,781
-
MWSU $9,245
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Washburn University 95%
-
MWSU 96%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- Admission Chances
-
Washburn University My Chances
-
MWSU My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Washburn University -
-
MWSU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Washburn University -
-
MWSU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU Open
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU Open
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Washburn University 3.46
-
MWSU 3.25
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Washburn University B+
-
MWSU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Washburn University Unavailable
-
MWSU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Washburn University Not reported
-
MWSU Open admission
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Washburn University
-
MWSU
-
-
-
Academics
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Washburn University 15:1
-
MWSU 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Washburn University
- Health Professions (38%)
- Business (18%)
- Education (6%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
- Communication (5%)
-
MWSU
- Business (21%)
- Health Professions (15%)
- Education (11%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- Graduation Rate
-
Washburn University 37%
-
MWSU 27%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Washburn University $42,300
-
MWSU $36,500
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Washburn University 49%
-
MWSU 53%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Washburn University $16,900
-
MWSU $21,818
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Washburn University $174
-
MWSU $225
-
-
-
Diversity
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- % Men
-
Washburn University 35%
-
MWSU 38%
-
-
- % Women
-
Washburn University 65%
-
MWSU 62%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Washburn University Low
-
MWSU Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Washburn University No
-
MWSU No
-
-
- % White
-
Washburn University 64%
-
MWSU 79%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Washburn University 1%
-
MWSU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Washburn University 6%
-
MWSU 10%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Washburn University 8%
-
MWSU 1%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Washburn University 1%
-
MWSU 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Washburn University 0%
-
MWSU 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Washburn University 4%
-
MWSU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Washburn University 3%
-
MWSU 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Washburn University 14%
-
MWSU 3%
-
-
-
Students
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- % In-State
-
Washburn University 87%
-
MWSU 81%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Washburn University 2%
-
MWSU 18%
-
-
-
Campus
- Washburn University
- MWSU
- Campus Housing
-
Washburn University Yes
-
MWSU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Washburn University No
-
MWSU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Washburn University Yes
-
MWSU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Washburn University Yes
-
MWSU Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Washburn University No
-
MWSU Yes
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Washburn University in Topeka, KS with Missouri Western State University in Saint Joseph, MO on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Washburn University is larger than MWSU based on total student enrollment (6,033 students vs. 3,716 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Washburn University is located in Topeka, KS (Midsize City setting); Missouri Western State University is in Saint Joseph, MO (Small City setting).
- Washburn University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Missouri Western State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Washburn University 15:1; Missouri Western State University 15:1.
Washburn University vs. MWSU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Washburn University or MWSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Washburn University than MWSU ($11,488 vs. $13,126).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Washburn University are 6.6% lower than at Missouri Western State University ($11,501 vs. $12,311).
- Missouri Western State University is 3.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than Washburn University (about $361 more per year; $10,306.00 vs. $9,945.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 0.4% higher at Washburn University than at Missouri Western State University (about $83 more per year; $20,949.00 vs. $20,866.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Missouri Western State University than at Washburn University (96% vs. 95%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Washburn University students is 5.8% larger than aid received by Missouri Western State University students ($9,781 vs. $9,245).
Washburn University vs. MWSU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Washburn University or MWSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MWSU and Washburn University.
- Missouri Western State University reports an open admissions policy.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Washburn University - Not reported; MWSU - Open admission.
- Enrolled freshman Washburn University students have a 0.21 point higher average high school GPA (3.46) than students at MWSU (3.25).
Washburn University vs. MWSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Washburn University and MWSU? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.
- Washburn University's six-year graduation rate (37%) is higher than Missouri Western State University's (27%).
- Graduates from Washburn University earn a median of about $5,800 more per year than MWSU graduates about ten years after starting college ($42,300 vs. $36,500), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Washburn University graduates have a $4,918 lower median loan debt than MWSU graduates ($16,900 vs. $21,818).
- Among borrowers, Washburn University graduates have an estimated $51 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MWSU graduates ($174 vs. $225).
- More MWSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Washburn University students, three years after graduation. (53% vs. 49%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.