University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. CHC

Deciding between University of Maryland, Baltimore and Chestnut Hill College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Chestnut Hill College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Baltimore, MD
  • CHC Philadelphia, PA
  • Setting
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Large City
  • CHC Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 6,636
  • CHC 1,288
  • Type
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Public 4 Year
  • CHC Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC #816
  • Religious Affiliation
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Non-profit
  • CHC Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • CHC $39,870
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • CHC $39,870
  • Room & Board
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • CHC $12,600
  • Average Net Price
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC $28,588
  • Average Grant Aid
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • CHC $29,590
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • CHC 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC 2,964
  • Admitted
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC 2,207
  • Acceptance Rate
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC 74.5%
  • Enrolled
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC 7.2%
  • Typical SAT score
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC 1000
  • Typical ACT score
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC
  • Average High School GPA
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC 3.12
  • Typical High School Grades
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC B
  • Admissions Standards
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Unavailable
  • CHC Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC Low
  • ACT Range
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC
  • SAT Range
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC 900/1090
  • Submit Test Scores
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Not reported
  • CHC Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1
  • CHC 10:1
  • Popular Majors
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC
    • Human Services (21%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Education (18%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (9%)
    • Psychology (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC 44%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $102,900
  • CHC $45,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 85%
  • CHC 47%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $15,000
  • CHC $26,481
  • Median Loan Payment
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $155
  • CHC $273
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 28%
  • CHC 36%
  • % Women
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 72%
  • CHC 64%
  • Racial Diversity
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore High
  • CHC High
  • HBCU
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • CHC No
  • % White
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 56%
  • CHC 40%
  • % Asian
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 13%
  • CHC 2%
  • % Black
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 19%
  • CHC 37%
  • % Hispanic
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5%
  • CHC 9%
  • % Native American
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • CHC 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • CHC 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 3%
  • CHC 4%
  • % International
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • CHC 3%
  • % Unknown Race
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • CHC 5%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC 57%
  • % Out-of-State
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • CHC 37%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • CHC Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC No
  • Meal Plan
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • CHC Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • CHC Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • CHC No

Comparable Facts

Compare University of Maryland, Baltimore in Baltimore, MD with Chestnut Hill College in Philadelphia, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Maryland, Baltimore is larger than CHC based on total student enrollment (6,636 students vs. 1,288 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • University of Maryland, Baltimore is located in Baltimore, MD (Large City setting); Chestnut Hill College is in Philadelphia, PA (Large City setting).
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Chestnut Hill College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1; Chestnut Hill College 10:1.

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. CHC Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, University of Maryland, Baltimore or CHC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Chestnut Hill College and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($39,870.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between CHC and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($39,870.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Chestnut Hill College than at University of Maryland, Baltimore (100% vs. 0%).

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. CHC Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, University of Maryland, Baltimore or CHC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between CHC and University of Maryland, Baltimore.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scoresChestnut Hill College 900/1090.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: University of Maryland, Baltimore - Not reported; CHC - Test-free.

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. CHC Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for University of Maryland, Baltimore and CHC? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Chestnut Hill College's six-year graduation rate is 44%. Comparable graduation rate data is not available for University of Maryland, Baltimore.
  • Graduates from University of Maryland, Baltimore earn a median of about $57,600 more per year than CHC graduates about ten years after starting college ($102,900 vs. $45,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have a $11,481 lower median loan debt than CHC graduates ($15,000 vs. $26,481).
  • Among borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have an estimated $118 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than CHC graduates ($155 vs. $273).
  • More University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CHC students, three years after graduation. (85% vs. 47%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.