UAFS vs. RSU

Deciding between University of Arkansas Fort Smith and Rogers State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Rogers State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • UAFS Fort Smith, AR
  • RSU Claremore, OK
  • Setting
  • UAFS Small City
  • RSU Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • UAFS 5,496
  • RSU 3,272
  • Type
  • UAFS Public 4 Year
  • RSU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • UAFS -
  • RSU -
  • Status
  • UAFS Non-profit
  • RSU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • UAFS $7,334
  • RSU $7,750
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • UAFS $12,182
  • RSU $16,410
  • Room & Board
  • UAFS $10,082
  • RSU $9,882
  • Average Net Price
  • UAFS $11,159
  • RSU $15,314
  • Average Grant Aid
  • UAFS $7,715
  • RSU $7,040
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • UAFS 95%
  • RSU 65%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • UAFS 2,769
  • RSU -
  • Admitted
  • UAFS 2,228
  • RSU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • UAFS 80.5%
  • RSU
  • Enrolled
  • UAFS 40.2%
  • RSU
  • Typical SAT score
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • Typical ACT score
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • Average High School GPA
  • UAFS 3.39
  • RSU 3.4
  • Typical High School Grades
  • UAFS B+
  • RSU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • UAFS Unavailable
  • RSU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • ACT Range
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • SAT Range
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • UAFS Required
  • RSU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • UAFS
  • RSU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • UAFS 18:1
  • RSU 18:1
  • Popular Majors
  • UAFS
    • Business (17%)
    • Health Professions (14%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (12%)
    • Precision Production Trades (10%)
    • Mechanic and Repair Technologies (10%)
  • RSU
    • Business (30%)
    • Health Professions (17%)
    • Education (9%)
    • Biology (8%)
    • Engineering Technology (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • UAFS 23%
  • RSU 23%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • UAFS $35,000
  • RSU $37,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • UAFS 47%
  • RSU 46%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • UAFS $14,132
  • RSU $16,150
  • Median Loan Payment
  • UAFS $146
  • RSU $166
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • UAFS 40%
  • RSU 39%
  • % Women
  • UAFS 60%
  • RSU 61%
  • Racial Diversity
  • UAFS Medium
  • RSU High
  • HBCU
  • UAFS No
  • RSU No
  • % White
  • UAFS 70%
  • RSU 58%
  • % Asian
  • UAFS 5%
  • RSU 1%
  • % Black
  • UAFS 4%
  • RSU 3%
  • % Hispanic
  • UAFS 11%
  • RSU 5%
  • % Native American
  • UAFS 2%
  • RSU 11%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • UAFS 0%
  • RSU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • UAFS 6%
  • RSU 19%
  • % International
  • UAFS 1%
  • RSU 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • UAFS 0%
  • RSU 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • UAFS 86%
  • RSU 89%
  • % Out-of-State
  • UAFS 13%
  • RSU 3%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • UAFS Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • UAFS No
  • RSU No
  • Meal Plan
  • UAFS Yes
  • RSU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • UAFS Yes
  • RSU No
  • Daycare Facility
  • UAFS No
  • RSU No

Comparable Facts

Compare University of Arkansas Fort Smith in Fort Smith, AR with Rogers State University in Claremore, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Arkansas Fort Smith is larger than RSU based on total student enrollment (5,496 students vs. 3,272 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • University of Arkansas Fort Smith is located in Fort Smith, AR (Small City setting); Rogers State University is in Claremore, OK (Distant Town setting).
  • University of Arkansas Fort Smith is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Rogers State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Arkansas Fort Smith 18:1; Rogers State University 18:1.

UAFS vs. RSU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, UAFS or RSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at University of Arkansas Fort Smith than RSU ($11,159 vs. $15,314).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Rogers State University are 2% lower than at University of Arkansas Fort Smith ($9,882 vs. $10,082).
  • Rogers State University is 5.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than UAFS (about $416 more per year; $7,750.00 vs. $7,334.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 34.7% higher at RSU than at University of Arkansas Fort Smith (about $4,228 more per year; $16,410.00 vs. $12,182.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of Arkansas Fort Smith than at Rogers State University (95% vs. 65%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by University of Arkansas Fort Smith students is 9.6% larger than aid received by Rogers State University students ($7,715 vs. $7,040).

UAFS vs. RSU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, UAFS or RSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between RSU and UAFS.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: UAFS - Required; RSU - Not reported.
  • Enrolled freshman RSU students have a 0.01 point higher average high school GPA (3.4) than students at UAFS (3.39).

UAFS vs. RSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for UAFS and RSU? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • The graduation rate at UAFS is the same as at Rogers State University (23% vs. 23%).
  • Graduates from Rogers State University earn a median of about $2,300 more per year than UAFS graduates about ten years after starting college ($37,300 vs. $35,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Arkansas Fort Smith graduates have a $2,018 lower median loan debt than RSU graduates ($14,132 vs. $16,150).
  • Among borrowers, UAFS graduates have an estimated $20 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than RSU graduates ($146 vs. $166).
  • More UAFS graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former RSU students, three years after graduation. (47% vs. 46%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.