UAFS vs. Lane College

Deciding between University of Arkansas Fort Smith and Lane College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Lane College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • UAFS Fort Smith, AR
  • Lane College Jackson, TN
  • Setting
  • UAFS Small City
  • Lane College Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • UAFS 5,496
  • Lane College 738
  • Type
  • UAFS Public 4 Year
  • Lane College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • UAFS
  • Lane College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • UAFS -
  • Lane College Christian Methodist Episcopal
  • Status
  • UAFS Non-profit
  • Lane College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • UAFS
  • Lane College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • UAFS $7,334
  • Lane College $11,790
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • UAFS $12,182
  • Lane College $11,790
  • Room & Board
  • UAFS $10,082
  • Lane College $7,610
  • Average Net Price
  • UAFS $11,159
  • Lane College $11,803
  • Average Grant Aid
  • UAFS $7,715
  • Lane College $11,689
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • UAFS 95%
  • Lane College 88%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • UAFS 2,769
  • Lane College -
  • Admitted
  • UAFS 2,228
  • Lane College -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • UAFS 80.5%
  • Lane College
  • Enrolled
  • UAFS 40.2%
  • Lane College
  • Typical SAT score
  • UAFS
  • Lane College
  • Typical ACT score
  • UAFS
  • Lane College
  • Average High School GPA
  • UAFS 3.39
  • Lane College 2.57
  • Typical High School Grades
  • UAFS B+
  • Lane College B-
  • Admissions Standards
  • UAFS Unavailable
  • Lane College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • UAFS
  • Lane College
  • ACT Range
  • UAFS
  • Lane College
  • SAT Range
  • UAFS
  • Lane College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • UAFS Required
  • Lane College Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • UAFS
  • Lane College Aug 21, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • UAFS 18:1
  • Lane College 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • UAFS
    • Business (17%)
    • Health Professions (14%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (12%)
    • Precision Production Trades (10%)
    • Mechanic and Repair Technologies (10%)
  • Lane College
    • Business (18%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (17%)
    • Social Sciences (17%)
    • Biology (14%)
    • Education (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • UAFS 23%
  • Lane College 34%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • UAFS $35,000
  • Lane College $25,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • UAFS 47%
  • Lane College 12%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • UAFS $14,132
  • Lane College $36,464
  • Median Loan Payment
  • UAFS $146
  • Lane College $377
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • UAFS 40%
  • Lane College 55%
  • % Women
  • UAFS 60%
  • Lane College 45%
  • Racial Diversity
  • UAFS Medium
  • Lane College Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • UAFS No
  • Lane College Yes
  • % White
  • UAFS 70%
  • Lane College 1%
  • % Asian
  • UAFS 5%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Black
  • UAFS 4%
  • Lane College 97%
  • % Hispanic
  • UAFS 11%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Native American
  • UAFS 2%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • UAFS 0%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • UAFS 6%
  • Lane College 1%
  • % International
  • UAFS 1%
  • Lane College 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • UAFS 0%
  • Lane College 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • UAFS 86%
  • Lane College 58%
  • % Out-of-State
  • UAFS 13%
  • Lane College 40%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • UAFS Yes
  • Lane College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • UAFS No
  • Lane College No
  • Meal Plan
  • UAFS Yes
  • Lane College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • UAFS Yes
  • Lane College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • UAFS No
  • Lane College No

Comparable Facts

Compare University of Arkansas Fort Smith in Fort Smith, AR with Lane College in Jackson, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Arkansas Fort Smith is larger than Lane College based on total student enrollment (5,496 students vs. 738 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • University of Arkansas Fort Smith is located in Fort Smith, AR (Small City setting); Lane College is in Jackson, TN (Small City setting).
  • University of Arkansas Fort Smith is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Lane College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Arkansas Fort Smith 18:1; Lane College 15:1.

UAFS vs. Lane College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, UAFS or Lane College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at University of Arkansas Fort Smith than Lane College ($11,159 vs. $11,803).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Lane College are 24.5% lower than at University of Arkansas Fort Smith ($7,610 vs. $10,082).
  • Lane College is 60.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than UAFS (about $4,456 more per year; $11,790.00 vs. $7,334.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 3.3% higher at UAFS than at Lane College (about $392 more per year; $12,182.00 vs. $11,790.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of Arkansas Fort Smith than at Lane College (95% vs. 88%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Lane College students is 51.5% larger than aid received by University of Arkansas Fort Smith students ($11,689 vs. $7,715).

UAFS vs. Lane College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, UAFS or Lane College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Lane College and UAFS.

  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: UAFS - Required; Lane College - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Lane College Aug 21, 2027.
  • Enrolled freshman UAFS students have a 0.82 point higher average high school GPA (3.39) than students at Lane College (2.57).

UAFS vs. Lane College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for UAFS and Lane College? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Lane College's six-year graduation rate (34%) is higher than University of Arkansas Fort Smith's (23%).
  • Graduates from University of Arkansas Fort Smith earn a median of about $10,000 more per year than Lane College graduates about ten years after starting college ($35,000 vs. $25,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Arkansas Fort Smith graduates have a $22,332 lower median loan debt than Lane College graduates ($14,132 vs. $36,464).
  • Among borrowers, UAFS graduates have an estimated $231 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Lane College graduates ($146 vs. $377).
  • More UAFS graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Lane College students, three years after graduation. (47% vs. 12%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.