Trinity College vs. Claflin University

Deciding between Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences and Claflin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Claflin University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Trinity College Rock Island, IL
  • Claflin University Orangeburg, SC
  • Setting
  • Trinity College Small City
  • Claflin University Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Trinity College 65
  • Claflin University 1,852
  • Type
  • Trinity College Private 4 Year
  • Claflin University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University #979
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Trinity College -
  • Claflin University United Methodist
  • Status
  • Trinity College Non-profit
  • Claflin University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Trinity College $24,989
  • Claflin University $18,282
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Trinity College $24,989
  • Claflin University $18,282
  • Room & Board
  • Trinity College $8,256
  • Claflin University $9,480
  • Average Net Price
  • Trinity College -
  • Claflin University $17,272
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Trinity College $0
  • Claflin University $16,596
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Claflin University 98%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Trinity College -
  • Claflin University 8,127
  • Admitted
  • Trinity College -
  • Claflin University 5,277
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University 64.9%
  • Enrolled
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University 7.3%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University 940
  • Typical ACT score
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University 17
  • Average High School GPA
  • Trinity College 3.42
  • Claflin University 3.28
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Trinity College B+
  • Claflin University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Trinity College Unavailable
  • Claflin University Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University Low
  • ACT Range
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University 16/18
  • SAT Range
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University 840/1040
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Trinity College Not reported
  • Claflin University Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • Trinity College
  • Claflin University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Trinity College 3:1
  • Claflin University 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Trinity College
    • Health Professions (100%)
  • Claflin University
    • Business (29%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (19%)
    • Social Sciences (14%)
    • Biology (11%)
    • Communication (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Trinity College -
  • Claflin University 40%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Trinity College $47,300
  • Claflin University $30,700
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Trinity College 78%
  • Claflin University 25%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Trinity College $19,500
  • Claflin University $32,184
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Trinity College $201
  • Claflin University $332
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Trinity College 18%
  • Claflin University 30%
  • % Women
  • Trinity College 82%
  • Claflin University 70%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Trinity College Low
  • Claflin University Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • Trinity College No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • % White
  • Trinity College 82%
  • Claflin University 1%
  • % Asian
  • Trinity College 2%
  • Claflin University 1%
  • % Black
  • Trinity College 4%
  • Claflin University 92%
  • % Hispanic
  • Trinity College 6%
  • Claflin University 2%
  • % Native American
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Claflin University 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Claflin University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Trinity College 5%
  • Claflin University 0%
  • % International
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Claflin University 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Trinity College 1%
  • Claflin University 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Trinity College -
  • Claflin University 82%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Trinity College -
  • Claflin University 16%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Trinity College No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Trinity College No
  • Claflin University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Trinity College No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Trinity College No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Trinity College Yes
  • Claflin University No

Comparable Facts

Compare Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences in Rock Island, IL with Claflin University in Orangeburg, SC on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Claflin University is larger than Trinity College based on total student enrollment (1,852 students vs. 65 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is located in Rock Island, IL (Small City setting); Claflin University is in Orangeburg, SC (Distant Town setting).
  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Claflin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences 3:1; Claflin University 13:1.

Trinity College vs. Claflin University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Trinity College or Claflin University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences are 12.9% lower than at Claflin University ($8,256 vs. $9,480).
  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is 36.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than Claflin University (about $6,707 more per year; $24,989.00 vs. $18,282.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 36.7% higher at Trinity College than at Claflin University (about $6,707 more per year; $24,989.00 vs. $18,282.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Claflin University than at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences (98% vs. 0%).

Trinity College vs. Claflin University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Trinity College or Claflin University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Claflin University and Trinity College.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsClaflin University 840/1040.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsClaflin University 16/18.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Trinity College - Not reported; Claflin University - Test-free.
  • Accepted freshman Trinity College students have a 0.14 point higher average high school GPA (3.42) than students at Claflin University (3.28).

Trinity College vs. Claflin University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Trinity College and Claflin University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences earn a median of about $16,600 more per year than Claflin University graduates about ten years after starting college ($47,300 vs. $30,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences graduates have a $12,684 lower median loan debt than Claflin University graduates ($19,500 vs. $32,184).
  • Among borrowers, Trinity College graduates have an estimated $131 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Claflin University graduates ($201 vs. $332).
  • More Trinity College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Claflin University students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 25%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.