Rush University Medical Center vs. Claflin University

Deciding between Rush University and Claflin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Claflin University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Rush University Medical Center Chicago, IL
  • Claflin University Orangeburg, SC
  • Setting
  • Rush University Medical Center Large City
  • Claflin University Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Rush University Medical Center 2,769
  • Claflin University 1,852
  • Type
  • Rush University Medical Center Private 4 Year
  • Claflin University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University #979
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University United Methodist
  • Status
  • Rush University Medical Center Non-profit
  • Claflin University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Claflin University $18,282
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Claflin University $18,282
  • Room & Board
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Claflin University $9,480
  • Average Net Price
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University $17,272
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Rush University Medical Center $0
  • Claflin University $16,596
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Rush University Medical Center 0%
  • Claflin University 98%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University 8,127
  • Admitted
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University 5,277
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University 64.9%
  • Enrolled
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University 7.3%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University 940
  • Typical ACT score
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University 17
  • Average High School GPA
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University 3.28
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Rush University Medical Center Unavailable
  • Claflin University Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University Low
  • ACT Range
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University 16/18
  • SAT Range
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University 840/1040
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Rush University Medical Center Not reported
  • Claflin University Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Rush University Medical Center 10:1
  • Claflin University 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University
    • Business (29%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (19%)
    • Social Sciences (14%)
    • Biology (11%)
    • Communication (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University 40%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Rush University Medical Center $116,100
  • Claflin University $30,700
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Rush University Medical Center 78%
  • Claflin University 25%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Rush University Medical Center $21,772
  • Claflin University $32,184
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Rush University Medical Center $225
  • Claflin University $332
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Rush University Medical Center 22%
  • Claflin University 30%
  • % Women
  • Rush University Medical Center 78%
  • Claflin University 70%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Rush University Medical Center High
  • Claflin University Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • % White
  • Rush University Medical Center 47%
  • Claflin University 1%
  • % Asian
  • Rush University Medical Center 10%
  • Claflin University 1%
  • % Black
  • Rush University Medical Center 8%
  • Claflin University 92%
  • % Hispanic
  • Rush University Medical Center 25%
  • Claflin University 2%
  • % Native American
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Claflin University 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Claflin University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Rush University Medical Center 1%
  • Claflin University 0%
  • % International
  • Rush University Medical Center 0%
  • Claflin University 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Rush University Medical Center 6%
  • Claflin University 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University 82%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Rush University Medical Center -
  • Claflin University 16%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Rush University Medical Center No
  • Claflin University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Rush University Medical Center
  • Claflin University No
  • Learn More
  • Rush University Medical Center Details
  • Claflin University Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Rush University in Chicago, IL with Claflin University in Orangeburg, SC on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Rush University is larger than Claflin University based on total student enrollment (2,769 students vs. 1,852 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Rush University is located in Chicago, IL (Large City setting); Claflin University is in Orangeburg, SC (Distant Town setting).
  • Rush University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Claflin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Rush University 10:1; Claflin University 13:1.

Rush University Medical Center vs. Claflin University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Rush University Medical Center or Claflin University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Claflin University and Rush University Medical Center ($18,282.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Claflin University and Rush University ($18,282.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Claflin University than at Rush University (98% vs. 0%).

Rush University Medical Center vs. Claflin University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Rush University Medical Center or Claflin University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Claflin University and Rush University Medical Center.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsClaflin University 840/1040.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsClaflin University 16/18.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Rush University Medical Center - Not reported; Claflin University - Test-free.

Rush University Medical Center vs. Claflin University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Rush University Medical Center and Claflin University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Rush University earn a median of about $85,400 more per year than Claflin University graduates about ten years after starting college ($116,100 vs. $30,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Rush University graduates have a $10,412 lower median loan debt than Claflin University graduates ($21,772 vs. $32,184).
  • Among borrowers, Rush University Medical Center graduates have an estimated $107 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Claflin University graduates ($225 vs. $332).
  • More Rush University Medical Center graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Claflin University students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 25%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.