RMC vs. MBC

Deciding between Rocky Mountain College and Mary Baldwin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Rocky Mountain College
Mary Baldwin University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • RMC Billings, MT
  • MBC Staunton, VA
  • Setting
  • RMC Midsize City
  • MBC Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • RMC 1,032
  • MBC 1,772
  • Type
  • RMC Private 4 Year
  • MBC Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • RMC #709
  • MBC #1045
  • Religious Affiliation
  • RMC United Church of Christ
  • MBC Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • Status
  • RMC Non-profit
  • MBC Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • RMC
  • MBC
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • RMC $35,582
  • MBC $34,152
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • RMC $35,582
  • MBC $34,152
  • Room & Board
  • RMC $10,152
  • MBC $11,411
  • Average Net Price
  • RMC $20,791
  • MBC $17,810
  • Average Grant Aid
  • RMC $25,508
  • MBC $28,135
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • RMC 100%
  • MBC 99%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • RMC 1,405
  • MBC -
  • Admitted
  • RMC 978
  • MBC -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • RMC 69.6%
  • MBC
  • Enrolled
  • RMC 28.6%
  • MBC
  • Typical SAT score
  • RMC 1010
  • MBC 1030
  • Typical ACT score
  • RMC 21
  • MBC 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • RMC 3.42
  • MBC 3.57
  • Typical High School Grades
  • RMC B+
  • MBC A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • RMC Very Easy
  • MBC Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • RMC Low
  • MBC
  • ACT Range
  • RMC 18/24
  • MBC 18/24
  • SAT Range
  • RMC 893/1133
  • MBC 940/1120
  • Submit Test Scores
  • RMC Test optional
  • MBC Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • RMC
  • MBC
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • RMC 14:1
  • MBC 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • RMC
    • Business (17%)
    • Biology (12%)
    • Transportation and Materials Moving (11%)
    • Education (9%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
  • MBC
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Psychology (15%)
    • History (14%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • RMC 50%
  • MBC 49%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • RMC $46,800
  • MBC $38,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • RMC 66%
  • MBC 53%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • RMC $26,000
  • MBC $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • RMC $268
  • MBC $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • RMC 50%
  • MBC 24%
  • % Women
  • RMC 50%
  • MBC 76%
  • Racial Diversity
  • RMC Low
  • MBC Medium
  • HBCU
  • RMC No
  • MBC No
  • % White
  • RMC 78%
  • MBC 58%
  • % Asian
  • RMC 1%
  • MBC 2%
  • % Black
  • RMC 3%
  • MBC 23%
  • % Hispanic
  • RMC 6%
  • MBC 6%
  • % Native American
  • RMC 2%
  • MBC 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • RMC 1%
  • MBC 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • RMC 4%
  • MBC 4%
  • % International
  • RMC 4%
  • MBC 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • RMC 2%
  • MBC 5%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • RMC 50%
  • MBC 75%
  • % Out-of-State
  • RMC 43%
  • MBC 24%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • RMC Yes
  • MBC Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • RMC No
  • MBC No
  • Meal Plan
  • RMC Yes
  • MBC Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • RMC No
  • MBC No
  • Daycare Facility
  • RMC Yes
  • MBC No

Comparable Facts

Compare Rocky Mountain College in Billings, MT with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Mary Baldwin University is larger than RMC based on total student enrollment (1,772 students vs. 1,032 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Rocky Mountain College is located in Billings, MT (Midsize City setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
  • Rocky Mountain College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Rocky Mountain College 14:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.

RMC vs. MBC Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, RMC or MBC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Mary Baldwin University than RMC ($17,810 vs. $20,791).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Rocky Mountain College are 11% lower than at Mary Baldwin University ($10,152 vs. $11,411).
  • Rocky Mountain College is 4.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than MBC (about $1,430 more per year; $35,582.00 vs. $34,152.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 4.2% higher at RMC than at Mary Baldwin University (about $1,430 more per year; $35,582.00 vs. $34,152.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Rocky Mountain College than at Mary Baldwin University (100% vs. 99%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Mary Baldwin University students is 10.3% larger than aid received by Rocky Mountain College students ($28,135 vs. $25,508).

RMC vs. MBC Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, RMC or MBC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MBC and RMC.

  • The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Mary Baldwin University (1030) is 20 points higher than at RMC (1010).
  • Incoming RMC students have the same typical ACT composite (median estimate; 21) as students at MBC (21).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Rocky Mountain College 893/1133; Mary Baldwin University 940/1120.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Rocky Mountain College 18/24; Mary Baldwin University 18/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: RMC - Test optional; MBC - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman MBC students have a 0.15 point higher average high school GPA (3.57) than students at RMC (3.42).

RMC vs. MBC Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for RMC and MBC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Rocky Mountain College's six-year graduation rate (50%) is higher than Mary Baldwin University's (49%).
  • Graduates from Rocky Mountain College earn a median of about $8,400 more per year than MBC graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,800 vs. $38,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Rocky Mountain College graduates have a $1,000 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($26,000 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, RMC graduates have an estimated $11 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($268 vs. $279).
  • More RMC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former MBC students, three years after graduation. (66% vs. 53%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.