Principia College vs. IUPUI

Principia College and Indiana University Indianapolis side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.

Principia College
Indiana University Indianapolis

At a glance

  • Cheaper after aid: IUPUI. Average net price is $12,228 vs $18,248 at Principia College.
See your own chances ->
Acceptance rate
IUPUI more selective
Principia College-
IUPUI76.4%
SAT range (middle 50%)
Principia College higher
Principia College1040-1250
IUPUI1030-1240
Average net price
IUPUI $6,020 less
Principia College$18,248
IUPUI$12,228
In-state tuition
IUPUI $23,918 less
Principia College$34,680
IUPUI$10,762
Out-of-state tuition
Principia College $211 less
Principia College$34,680
IUPUI$34,891
Graduation rate
IUPUI +33 pts
Principia College-
IUPUI33%
Median earnings (10 years)
IUPUI +$48,600
Principia College-
IUPUI$48,600

Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.

Admission calculator

Partner

Not sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and IUPUI with Appily's free admission calculator.

  • Applied
  • Principia College -
  • IUPUI 15,643
  • Admitted
  • Principia College -
  • IUPUI 11,947
  • Acceptance rate
  • Principia College
  • IUPUI 76.4%
  • Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
  • Principia College
  • IUPUI 24.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Principia College 1150
  • IUPUI 1140
  • Typical ACT score
  • Principia College 21
  • IUPUI 25
  • Average high school GPA
  • Principia College 3.34
  • IUPUI 3.52
  • Typical high school grades
  • Principia College B+
  • IUPUI A-
  • Admissions standards
  • Principia College Easy
  • IUPUI Average
  • Applicant competition
  • Principia College
  • IUPUI
  • SAT range
  • Principia College 1040-1250
  • IUPUI 1030-1240
  • ACT range
  • Principia College 19-23
  • IUPUI 21-29
  • Submit test scores
  • Principia College Not reported
  • IUPUI Test optional
  • Application deadline
  • Principia College
  • IUPUI May 15, 2027
  • Tuition (in state)
  • Principia College $34,680
  • IUPUI $10,762
  • Tuition (out of state)
  • Principia College $34,680
  • IUPUI $34,891
  • Room & board
  • Principia College $13,910
  • IUPUI $13,308
  • Average net price
  • Principia College $18,248
  • IUPUI $12,228
  • Average grant aid
  • Principia College $30,402
  • IUPUI $11,104
  • % receiving grant aid
  • Principia College 90%
  • IUPUI 82%
  • Graduation rate
  • Principia College -
  • IUPUI 33%
  • Median earnings (after 10 years)
  • Principia College N/A
  • IUPUI $48,600
  • Making student loan payments
  • Principia College -
  • IUPUI 53%
  • Median student loan debt
  • Principia College N/A
  • IUPUI $23,090
  • Median loan payment
  • Principia College N/A
  • IUPUI $238
  • Student to faculty ratio
  • Principia College 6:1
  • IUPUI 13:1
  • Popular majors
  • Principia College
  • IUPUI
    • Health Professions (18%)
    • Business (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (13%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Engineering Technology (5%)
  • Location
  • Principia College Elsah, Illinois
  • IUPUI Indianapolis, IN
  • Setting
  • Principia College Rural Fringe
  • IUPUI Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Principia College 339
  • IUPUI 22,534
  • Type
  • Principia College Private 4 Year
  • IUPUI Public 4 Year
  • National ranking
  • Principia College
  • IUPUI #409

Comparable Facts

Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Indiana University Indianapolis in Indianapolis, IN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.

Indiana University Indianapolis is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (22,534 students vs. 339 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Indiana University Indianapolis is in Indianapolis, IN (Large City setting).
  • Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Indiana University Indianapolis is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Indiana University Indianapolis 13:1.

Cost details

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Indiana University Indianapolis are 4.3% lower than at Principia College ($13,308 vs. $13,910).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 0.6% higher at IUPUI than at Principia College (about $211 more per year; $34,891 vs. $34,680).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Principia College than at Indiana University Indianapolis (90% vs. 82%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 173.8% larger than aid received by Indiana University Indianapolis students ($30,402 vs. $11,104).

Admissions details

  • Typical ACT composite is 4 points higher at IUPUI than at Principia College (25 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
  • SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at IUPUI.
  • Typical fall application deadline: IUPUI May 15, 2027.
  • Enrolled first-year students at IUPUI average a 3.52 high school GPA, 0.18 higher than at Principia College (3.34).

Loans and repayment

Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.

Change schools

You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.

Principia College
Indiana University Indianapolis
Add a college Compare up to 4

Frequently compared to these colleges