Principia College vs. IPFW
Principia College and Purdue University Fort Wayne side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: IPFW. Average net price is $14,735 vs $18,248 at Principia College.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Principia College and IPFW with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
IPFW My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Principia College -
-
IPFW 7,631
-
-
- Admitted
-
Principia College -
-
IPFW 6,402
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Principia College
-
IPFW 83.9%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Principia College
-
IPFW 21.4%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Principia College 1150
-
IPFW 1100
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Principia College 21
-
IPFW 25
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Principia College 3.34
-
IPFW 3.37
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Principia College B+
-
IPFW B+
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Principia College Easy
-
IPFW Average
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Principia College
-
IPFW
-
-
- SAT range
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
IPFW 970-1220
-
-
- ACT range
-
Principia College 19-23
-
IPFW 22-29
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Principia College Not reported
-
IPFW Test optional
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Principia College
-
IPFW Aug 1, 2027
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
IPFW $9,532
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Principia College $34,680
-
IPFW $22,887
-
-
- Room & board
-
Principia College $13,910
-
IPFW $11,669
-
-
- Average net price
-
Principia College $18,248
-
IPFW $14,735
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Principia College $30,402
-
IPFW $7,135
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Principia College 90%
-
IPFW 95%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Principia College -
-
IPFW 26%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Principia College N/A
-
IPFW $38,600
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Principia College -
-
IPFW 51%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Principia College N/A
-
IPFW $24,500
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Principia College N/A
-
IPFW $253
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Principia College 6:1
-
IPFW 13:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Principia College
-
IPFW
- Business (19%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (17%)
- Health Professions (14%)
- Education (9%)
- Engineering Technology (8%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Location
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
IPFW Fort Wayne, IN
-
-
- Setting
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
IPFW Large City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Principia College 339
-
IPFW 7,206
-
-
- Type
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
IPFW Public 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Principia College
-
IPFW #761
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Principia College in Elsah, Illinois with Purdue University Fort Wayne in Fort Wayne, IN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Purdue University Fort Wayne is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (7,206 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Principia College is located in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting); Purdue University Fort Wayne is in Fort Wayne, IN (Large City setting).
- Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Purdue University Fort Wayne is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Principia College 6:1; Purdue University Fort Wayne 13:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Purdue University Fort Wayne are 16.1% lower than at Principia College ($11,669 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 51.5% higher at Principia College than at Purdue University Fort Wayne (about $11,793 more per year; $34,680 vs. $22,887).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Purdue University Fort Wayne than at Principia College (95% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 326.1% larger than aid received by Purdue University Fort Wayne students ($30,402 vs. $7,135).
Admissions details
- Typical ACT composite is 4 points higher at IPFW than at Principia College (25 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Principia College, test optional at IPFW.
- Typical fall application deadline: IPFW Aug 1, 2027.
- Enrolled first-year students at IPFW average a 3.37 high school GPA, 0.03 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
Purdue University Fort Wayne