PSC vs. GSU- Grambling

Deciding between Philander Smith University and Grambling State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Philander Smith University
Grambling State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • PSC Little Rock, AR
  • GSU- Grambling Grambling, LA
  • Setting
  • PSC Midsize City
  • GSU- Grambling Rural Fringe
  • Total enrollment
  • PSC 780
  • GSU- Grambling 5,150
  • Type
  • PSC Private 4 Year
  • GSU- Grambling Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling #1018
  • Religious Affiliation
  • PSC United Methodist
  • GSU- Grambling -
  • Status
  • PSC Non-profit
  • GSU- Grambling Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • GSU- Grambling $7,683
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • PSC $13,014
  • GSU- Grambling $16,706
  • Room & Board
  • PSC $10,000
  • GSU- Grambling $10,990
  • Average Net Price
  • PSC $14,082
  • GSU- Grambling $17,018
  • Average Grant Aid
  • PSC $14,283
  • GSU- Grambling $8,870
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • PSC 99%
  • GSU- Grambling 95%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • PSC -
  • GSU- Grambling 12,976
  • Admitted
  • PSC -
  • GSU- Grambling 5,821
  • Acceptance Rate
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling 44.9%
  • Enrolled
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling 18%
  • Typical SAT score
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling 1000
  • Typical ACT score
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling 17
  • Average High School GPA
  • PSC 3.04
  • GSU- Grambling 3.01
  • Typical High School Grades
  • PSC B
  • GSU- Grambling B
  • Admissions Standards
  • PSC Unavailable
  • GSU- Grambling Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling Low
  • ACT Range
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling 15/19
  • SAT Range
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling 920/1080
  • Submit Test Scores
  • PSC Not reported
  • GSU- Grambling Required
  • Application Deadline
  • PSC
  • GSU- Grambling
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • PSC 11:1
  • GSU- Grambling 25:1
  • Popular Majors
  • PSC
    • Business (30%)
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Biology (10%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (9%)
    • Human Services (9%)
  • GSU- Grambling
    • Business (22%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (15%)
    • Health Professions (10%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (8%)
    • Biology (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • PSC 31%
  • GSU- Grambling 27%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • PSC $26,800
  • GSU- Grambling $32,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • PSC 35%
  • GSU- Grambling 23%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • PSC $31,000
  • GSU- Grambling $37,997
  • Median Loan Payment
  • PSC $320
  • GSU- Grambling $392
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • PSC 48%
  • GSU- Grambling 37%
  • % Women
  • PSC 52%
  • GSU- Grambling 63%
  • Racial Diversity
  • PSC Very Low
  • GSU- Grambling Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • PSC Yes
  • GSU- Grambling Yes
  • % White
  • PSC 0%
  • GSU- Grambling 1%
  • % Asian
  • PSC 1%
  • GSU- Grambling 0%
  • % Black
  • PSC 91%
  • GSU- Grambling 91%
  • % Hispanic
  • PSC 1%
  • GSU- Grambling 1%
  • % Native American
  • PSC 0%
  • GSU- Grambling 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • PSC 0%
  • GSU- Grambling 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • PSC 2%
  • GSU- Grambling 2%
  • % International
  • PSC 5%
  • GSU- Grambling 4%
  • % Unknown Race
  • PSC 0%
  • GSU- Grambling 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • PSC 40%
  • GSU- Grambling 43%
  • % Out-of-State
  • PSC 29%
  • GSU- Grambling 35%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • PSC Yes
  • GSU- Grambling Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • PSC No
  • GSU- Grambling No
  • Meal Plan
  • PSC Yes
  • GSU- Grambling Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • PSC Yes
  • GSU- Grambling No
  • Daycare Facility
  • PSC No
  • GSU- Grambling No

Comparable Facts

Compare Philander Smith University in Little Rock, AR with Grambling State University in Grambling, LA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Grambling State University is larger than PSC based on total student enrollment (5,150 students vs. 780 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Philander Smith University is located in Little Rock, AR (Midsize City setting); Grambling State University is in Grambling, LA (Rural Fringe setting).
  • Philander Smith University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Grambling State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Philander Smith University 11:1; Grambling State University 25:1.

PSC vs. GSU- Grambling Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, PSC or GSU- Grambling? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Philander Smith University than GSU- Grambling ($14,082 vs. $17,018).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Philander Smith University are 9% lower than at Grambling State University ($10,000 vs. $10,990).
  • Philander Smith University is 69.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than GSU- Grambling (about $5,331 more per year; $13,014.00 vs. $7,683.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 28.4% higher at GSU- Grambling than at Philander Smith University (about $3,692 more per year; $16,706.00 vs. $13,014.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Philander Smith University than at Grambling State University (99% vs. 95%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Philander Smith University students is 61% larger than aid received by Grambling State University students ($14,283 vs. $8,870).

PSC vs. GSU- Grambling Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, PSC or GSU- Grambling? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between GSU- Grambling and PSC.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsGrambling State University 920/1080.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsGrambling State University 15/19.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: PSC - Not reported; GSU- Grambling - Required.
  • Accepted freshman PSC students have a 0.03 point higher average high school GPA (3.04) than students at GSU- Grambling (3.01).

PSC vs. GSU- Grambling Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for PSC and GSU- Grambling? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Philander Smith University's six-year graduation rate (31%) is higher than Grambling State University's (27%).
  • Graduates from Grambling State University earn a median of about $5,600 more per year than PSC graduates about ten years after starting college ($32,400 vs. $26,800), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Philander Smith University graduates have a $6,997 lower median loan debt than GSU- Grambling graduates ($31,000 vs. $37,997).
  • Among borrowers, PSC graduates have an estimated $72 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than GSU- Grambling graduates ($320 vs. $392).
  • More PSC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former GSU- Grambling students, three years after graduation. (35% vs. 23%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.