Northwestern Health Sciences University vs. Northland College

Deciding between Northwestern Health Sciences University and Northland College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Northland College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Bloomington, MN
  • Northland College Ashland, WI
  • Setting
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Small City
  • Northland College Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 1,101
  • Northland College 286
  • Type
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Private 4 Year
  • Northland College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University -
  • Northland College United Church of Christ
  • Status
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Non-profit
  • Northland College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $12,015
  • Northland College $44,403
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $12,015
  • Northland College $44,403
  • Room & Board
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $14,962
  • Northland College $11,600
  • Average Net Price
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $36,272
  • Northland College $23,253
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $3,591
  • Northland College $33,572
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 50%
  • Northland College 100%
  • Admissions

  • Admission Chances
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Calculate
  • Northland College Calculate
  • Applied
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University -
  • Northland College 947
  • Admitted
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University -
  • Northland College 710
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College 75%
  • Enrolled
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College 9.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College 1050
  • Typical ACT score
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University -
  • Northland College 3.3
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University -
  • Northland College B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Unavailable
  • Northland College Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College
  • ACT Range
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College 18/25
  • SAT Range
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College 950/1140
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Not reported
  • Northland College Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Northland College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 6:1
  • Northland College 5:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University
    • Biology (56%)
    • Health Professions (44%)
  • Northland College
    • Natural Resources Conservation (23%)
    • Biology (22%)
    • Education (15%)
    • Physical Sciences (9%)
    • Business (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University -
  • Northland College 48%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $53,600
  • Northland College $34,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 60%
  • Northland College 73%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $8,300
  • Northland College $26,943
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University $85
  • Northland College $278
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 36%
  • Northland College 58%
  • % Women
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 64%
  • Northland College 42%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Medium
  • Northland College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University No
  • Northland College No
  • % White
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 44%
  • Northland College 83%
  • % Asian
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 7%
  • Northland College 0%
  • % Black
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 4%
  • Northland College 1%
  • % Hispanic
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 2%
  • Northland College 6%
  • % Native American
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 1%
  • Northland College 2%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 0%
  • Northland College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 1%
  • Northland College 2%
  • % International
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 1%
  • Northland College 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 40%
  • Northland College 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 100%
  • Northland College 32%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University 0%
  • Northland College 43%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University No
  • Northland College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University No
  • Northland College No
  • Meal Plan
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University No
  • Northland College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Yes
  • Northland College No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University No
  • Northland College No
  • Learn More
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University Details
  • Northland College Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Northwestern Health Sciences University in Bloomington, MN with Northland College in Ashland, WI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Northwestern Health Sciences University is larger than Northland College based on total student enrollment (1,101 students vs. 286 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Northwestern Health Sciences University is located in Bloomington, MN (Small City setting); Northland College is in Ashland, WI (Remote Town setting).
  • Northwestern Health Sciences University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Northland College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Northwestern Health Sciences University 6:1; Northland College 5:1.

Northwestern Health Sciences University vs. Northland College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Northwestern Health Sciences University or Northland College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Northland College than Northwestern Health Sciences University ($23,253 vs. $36,272).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Northland College are 22.5% lower than at Northwestern Health Sciences University ($11,600 vs. $14,962).
  • Northland College is 269.6% more expensive for in-state tuition than Northwestern Health Sciences University (about $32,388 more per year; $44,403.00 vs. $12,015.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 269.6% higher at Northland College than at Northwestern Health Sciences University (about $32,388 more per year; $44,403.00 vs. $12,015.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Northland College than at Northwestern Health Sciences University (100% vs. 50%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Northland College students is 834.9% larger than aid received by Northwestern Health Sciences University students ($33,572 vs. $3,591).

Northwestern Health Sciences University vs. Northland College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Northwestern Health Sciences University or Northland College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Northland College and Northwestern Health Sciences University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorthland College 950/1140.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorthland College 18/25.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Northwestern Health Sciences University - Not reported; Northland College - Test optional.

Northwestern Health Sciences University vs. Northland College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Northwestern Health Sciences University and Northland College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Northwestern Health Sciences University earn a median of about $18,700 more per year than Northland College graduates about ten years after starting college ($53,600 vs. $34,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Northwestern Health Sciences University graduates have a $18,643 lower median loan debt than Northland College graduates ($8,300 vs. $26,943).
  • Among borrowers, Northwestern Health Sciences University graduates have an estimated $193 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Northland College graduates ($85 vs. $278).
  • More Northland College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Northwestern Health Sciences University students, three years after graduation. (73% vs. 60%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.