North Central University vs. MBC

Deciding between North Central University and Mary Baldwin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

North Central University
Mary Baldwin University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • North Central University Minneapolis, MN
  • MBC Staunton, VA
  • Setting
  • North Central University Large City
  • MBC Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • North Central University 852
  • MBC 1,772
  • Type
  • North Central University Private 4 Year
  • MBC Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • North Central University
  • MBC #1045
  • Religious Affiliation
  • North Central University Assemblies of God Church
  • MBC Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • Status
  • North Central University Non-profit
  • MBC Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • North Central University
  • MBC
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • North Central University $32,220
  • MBC $34,152
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • North Central University $32,220
  • MBC $34,152
  • Room & Board
  • North Central University $10,054
  • MBC $11,411
  • Average Net Price
  • North Central University $26,363
  • MBC $17,810
  • Average Grant Aid
  • North Central University $18,112
  • MBC $28,135
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • North Central University 98%
  • MBC 99%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • North Central University 492
  • MBC -
  • Admitted
  • North Central University 487
  • MBC -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • North Central University 99%
  • MBC
  • Enrolled
  • North Central University 29.6%
  • MBC
  • Typical SAT score
  • North Central University 1050
  • MBC 1030
  • Typical ACT score
  • North Central University 21
  • MBC 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • North Central University 3.4
  • MBC 3.57
  • Typical High School Grades
  • North Central University B+
  • MBC A-
  • Admissions Standards
  • North Central University Very Easy
  • MBC Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • North Central University
  • MBC
  • ACT Range
  • North Central University 18/24
  • MBC 18/24
  • SAT Range
  • North Central University 950/1148
  • MBC 940/1120
  • Submit Test Scores
  • North Central University Test-free
  • MBC Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • North Central University Jun 1, 2027
  • MBC
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • North Central University 14:1
  • MBC 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • North Central University
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (36%)
    • Education (11%)
    • General Studies (9%)
    • Work and Family Studies (8%)
    • Business (8%)
  • MBC
    • Social Sciences (18%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Psychology (15%)
    • History (14%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • North Central University 40%
  • MBC 49%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • North Central University $33,300
  • MBC $38,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • North Central University 68%
  • MBC 53%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • North Central University $25,000
  • MBC $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • North Central University $258
  • MBC $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • North Central University 44%
  • MBC 24%
  • % Women
  • North Central University 56%
  • MBC 76%
  • Racial Diversity
  • North Central University Low
  • MBC Medium
  • HBCU
  • North Central University No
  • MBC No
  • % White
  • North Central University 79%
  • MBC 58%
  • % Asian
  • North Central University 3%
  • MBC 2%
  • % Black
  • North Central University 4%
  • MBC 23%
  • % Hispanic
  • North Central University 6%
  • MBC 6%
  • % Native American
  • North Central University 0%
  • MBC 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • North Central University 0%
  • MBC 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • North Central University 4%
  • MBC 4%
  • % International
  • North Central University 2%
  • MBC 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • North Central University 3%
  • MBC 5%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • North Central University 40%
  • MBC 75%
  • % Out-of-State
  • North Central University 51%
  • MBC 24%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • North Central University Yes
  • MBC Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • North Central University No
  • MBC No
  • Meal Plan
  • North Central University Yes
  • MBC Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • North Central University No
  • MBC No
  • Daycare Facility
  • North Central University No
  • MBC No

Comparable Facts

Compare North Central University in Minneapolis, MN with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Mary Baldwin University is larger than North Central University based on total student enrollment (1,772 students vs. 852 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • North Central University is located in Minneapolis, MN (Large City setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
  • North Central University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: North Central University 14:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.

North Central University vs. MBC Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, North Central University or MBC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Mary Baldwin University than North Central University ($17,810 vs. $26,363).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at North Central University are 11.9% lower than at Mary Baldwin University ($10,054 vs. $11,411).
  • Mary Baldwin University is 6% more expensive for in-state tuition than North Central University (about $1,932 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $32,220.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 6% higher at MBC than at North Central University (about $1,932 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $32,220.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Mary Baldwin University than at North Central University (99% vs. 98%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Mary Baldwin University students is 55.3% larger than aid received by North Central University students ($28,135 vs. $18,112).

North Central University vs. MBC Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, North Central University or MBC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MBC and North Central University.

  • The typical SAT score (median estimate) at North Central University (1050) is 20 points higher than at MBC (1030).
  • Incoming North Central University students have the same typical ACT composite (median estimate; 21) as students at MBC (21).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: North Central University 950/1148; Mary Baldwin University 940/1120.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: North Central University 18/24; Mary Baldwin University 18/24.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: North Central University - Test-free; MBC - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: North Central University Jun 1, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman MBC students have a 0.17 point higher average high school GPA (3.57) than students at North Central University (3.4).

North Central University vs. MBC Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for North Central University and MBC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Mary Baldwin University's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than North Central University's (40%).
  • Graduates from Mary Baldwin University earn a median of about $5,100 more per year than North Central University graduates about ten years after starting college ($38,400 vs. $33,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, North Central University graduates have a $2,000 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($25,000 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, North Central University graduates have an estimated $21 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($258 vs. $279).
  • More North Central University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former MBC students, three years after graduation. (68% vs. 53%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.