Malone University vs. MBC
Deciding between Malone University and Mary Baldwin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Malone University
Mary Baldwin University
-
Overview
- Malone University
- MBC
- Location
-
Malone University Canton, OH
-
MBC Staunton, VA
-
-
- Setting
-
Malone University Small City
-
MBC Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Malone University 1,256
-
MBC 1,772
-
-
- Type
-
Malone University Private 4 Year
-
MBC Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Malone University #659
-
MBC #1045
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Malone University Friends
-
MBC Presbyterian Church (USA)
-
-
- Status
-
Malone University Non-profit
-
MBC Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Malone University malone.edu
-
MBC marybaldwin.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Malone University
-
MBC
-
-
-
Cost
- Malone University
- MBC
- Tuition (In State)
-
Malone University $37,160
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Malone University $37,160
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Malone University $11,400
-
MBC $11,411
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Malone University $22,390
-
MBC $17,810
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Malone University $27,261
-
MBC $28,135
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Malone University 100%
-
MBC 99%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Malone University
- MBC
- Applied
-
Malone University 1,313
-
MBC -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Malone University 996
-
MBC -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Malone University 75.9%
-
MBC
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Malone University 23.1%
-
MBC
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Malone University 1060
-
MBC 1030
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Malone University 21
-
MBC 21
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Malone University 3.49
-
MBC 3.57
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Malone University B+
-
MBC A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Malone University Very Easy
-
MBC Very Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Malone University
-
MBC
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Malone University 18/24
-
MBC 18/24
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Malone University 930/1180
-
MBC 940/1120
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Malone University Test optional
-
MBC Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Malone University
-
MBC
-
-
-
Academics
- Malone University
- MBC
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Malone University 14:1
-
MBC 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Malone University
- Business (37%)
- Health Professions (19%)
- Education (13%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (5%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (5%)
-
MBC
- Social Sciences (18%)
- Business (18%)
- Psychology (15%)
- History (14%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Malone University
- MBC
- Graduation Rate
-
Malone University 59%
-
MBC 49%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Malone University $46,700
-
MBC $38,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Malone University 63%
-
MBC 53%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Malone University $24,819
-
MBC $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Malone University $256
-
MBC $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Malone University
- MBC
- % Men
-
Malone University 40%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
- % Women
-
Malone University 60%
-
MBC 76%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Malone University Very Low
-
MBC Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
Malone University No
-
MBC No
-
-
- % White
-
Malone University 84%
-
MBC 58%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Malone University 1%
-
MBC 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
Malone University 9%
-
MBC 23%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Malone University 2%
-
MBC 6%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Malone University 0%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Malone University 0%
-
MBC 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Malone University 3%
-
MBC 4%
-
-
- % International
-
Malone University 1%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Malone University 0%
-
MBC 5%
-
-
-
Students
- Malone University
- MBC
- % In-State
-
Malone University 85%
-
MBC 75%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Malone University 13%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
-
Campus
- Malone University
- MBC
- Campus Housing
-
Malone University Yes
-
MBC Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Malone University No
-
MBC No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Malone University Yes
-
MBC Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Malone University Yes
-
MBC No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Malone University No
-
MBC No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Malone University in Canton, OH with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Mary Baldwin University is larger than Malone University based on total student enrollment (1,772 students vs. 1,256 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Malone University is located in Canton, OH (Small City setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
- Malone University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Malone University 14:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.
Malone University vs. MBC Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Malone University or MBC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Mary Baldwin University than Malone University ($17,810 vs. $22,390).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Malone University are 0.1% lower than at Mary Baldwin University ($11,400 vs. $11,411).
- Malone University is 8.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than MBC (about $3,008 more per year; $37,160.00 vs. $34,152.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 8.8% higher at Malone University than at Mary Baldwin University (about $3,008 more per year; $37,160.00 vs. $34,152.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Malone University than at Mary Baldwin University (100% vs. 99%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Mary Baldwin University students is 3.2% larger than aid received by Malone University students ($28,135 vs. $27,261).
Malone University vs. MBC Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Malone University or MBC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MBC and Malone University.
- The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Malone University (1060) is 30 points higher than at MBC (1030).
- Incoming Malone University students have the same typical ACT composite (median estimate; 21) as students at MBC (21).
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Malone University 930/1180; Mary Baldwin University 940/1120.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Malone University 18/24; Mary Baldwin University 18/24.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Malone University - Test optional; MBC - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman MBC students have a 0.08 point higher average high school GPA (3.57) than students at Malone University (3.49).
Malone University vs. MBC Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Malone University and MBC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Malone University's six-year graduation rate (59%) is higher than Mary Baldwin University's (49%).
- Graduates from Malone University earn a median of about $8,300 more per year than MBC graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,700 vs. $38,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Malone University graduates have a $2,181 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($24,819 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Malone University graduates have an estimated $23 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($256 vs. $279).
- More Malone University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former MBC students, three years after graduation. (63% vs. 53%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.