Livingstone College vs. SCU
Deciding between Livingstone College and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Livingstone College
Southwestern Christian University
-
Overview
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- Location
-
Livingstone College Salisbury, NC
-
SCU Bethany, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Livingstone College Distant Town
-
SCU Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Livingstone College 936
-
SCU 399
-
-
- Type
-
Livingstone College Private 4 Year
-
SCU Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Livingstone College
-
SCU
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Livingstone College African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
-
SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
-
-
- Status
-
Livingstone College Non-profit
-
SCU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Livingstone College livingstone.edu
-
SCU swcu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Livingstone College
-
SCU
-
-
-
Cost
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Livingstone College $18,296
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Livingstone College $18,296
-
SCU $21,900
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Livingstone College $6,794
-
SCU $10,100
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Livingstone College $12,826
-
SCU $20,528
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Livingstone College $15,485
-
SCU $12,784
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Livingstone College 99%
-
SCU 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- Applied
-
Livingstone College 6,721
-
SCU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Livingstone College 3,982
-
SCU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Livingstone College 59.2%
-
SCU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Livingstone College 8.6%
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Livingstone College 880
-
SCU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Livingstone College 17
-
SCU
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Livingstone College 2.64
-
SCU 3.22
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Livingstone College B-
-
SCU B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Livingstone College Extremely Easy
-
SCU Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Livingstone College Low
-
SCU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Livingstone College 14/21
-
SCU
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Livingstone College 800/960
-
SCU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Livingstone College Test-free
-
SCU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Livingstone College
-
SCU
-
-
-
Academics
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Livingstone College 14:1
-
SCU 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Livingstone College
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (19%)
- Business (17%)
- Human Services (13%)
- Psychology (9%)
- Social Sciences (9%)
-
SCU
- Human Services (34%)
- Business (27%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- Graduation Rate
-
Livingstone College 28%
-
SCU 28%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Livingstone College $24,200
-
SCU $27,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Livingstone College 13%
-
SCU 38%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Livingstone College $42,000
-
SCU $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Livingstone College $434
-
SCU $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- % Men
-
Livingstone College 59%
-
SCU 61%
-
-
- % Women
-
Livingstone College 41%
-
SCU 39%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Livingstone College Extremely Low
-
SCU High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Livingstone College Yes
-
SCU No
-
-
- % White
-
Livingstone College 0%
-
SCU 44%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Livingstone College 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Livingstone College 81%
-
SCU 25%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Livingstone College 1%
-
SCU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Livingstone College 0%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Livingstone College 0%
-
SCU 1%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Livingstone College 0%
-
SCU 3%
-
-
- % International
-
Livingstone College 0%
-
SCU 10%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Livingstone College 17%
-
SCU 4%
-
-
-
Students
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- % In-State
-
Livingstone College 40%
-
SCU 72%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Livingstone College 54%
-
SCU 15%
-
-
-
Campus
- Livingstone College
- SCU
- Campus Housing
-
Livingstone College Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Livingstone College Yes
-
SCU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Livingstone College Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Livingstone College Yes
-
SCU Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Livingstone College No
-
SCU No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Livingstone College in Salisbury, NC with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Livingstone College is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (936 students vs. 399 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Livingstone College is located in Salisbury, NC (Distant Town setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
- Livingstone College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Livingstone College 14:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.
Livingstone College vs. SCU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Livingstone College or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Livingstone College than SCU ($12,826 vs. $20,528).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Livingstone College are 32.7% lower than at Southwestern Christian University ($6,794 vs. $10,100).
- Southwestern Christian University is 19.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than Livingstone College (about $3,604 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $18,296.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 19.7% higher at SCU than at Livingstone College (about $3,604 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $18,296.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Livingstone College (100% vs. 99%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Livingstone College students is 21.1% larger than aid received by Southwestern Christian University students ($15,485 vs. $12,784).
Livingstone College vs. SCU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Livingstone College or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and Livingstone College.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Livingstone College 800/960.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Livingstone College 14/21.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Livingstone College - Test-free; SCU - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman SCU students have a 0.58 point higher average high school GPA (3.22) than students at Livingstone College (2.64).
Livingstone College vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Livingstone College and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- The graduation rate at Livingstone College is the same as at Southwestern Christian University (28% vs. 28%).
- Graduates from Southwestern Christian University earn a median of about $3,200 more per year than Livingstone College graduates about ten years after starting college ($27,400 vs. $24,200), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University graduates have a $15,000 lower median loan debt than Livingstone College graduates ($27,000 vs. $42,000).
- Among borrowers, SCU graduates have an estimated $155 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Livingstone College graduates ($279 vs. $434).
- More SCU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Livingstone College students, three years after graduation. (38% vs. 13%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.