Judson University vs. MBC
Deciding between Judson University and Mary Baldwin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Judson University
Mary Baldwin University
-
Overview
- Judson University
- MBC
- Location
-
Judson University Elgin, IL
-
MBC Staunton, VA
-
-
- Setting
-
Judson University Midsize City
-
MBC Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Judson University 960
-
MBC 1,772
-
-
- Type
-
Judson University Private 4 Year
-
MBC Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Judson University
-
MBC #1045
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Judson University Baptist
-
MBC Presbyterian Church (USA)
-
-
- Status
-
Judson University Non-profit
-
MBC Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Judson University judsonu.edu
-
MBC marybaldwin.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Judson University
-
MBC
-
-
-
Cost
- Judson University
- MBC
- Tuition (In State)
-
Judson University $31,360
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Judson University $31,360
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Judson University $12,320
-
MBC $11,411
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Judson University $18,673
-
MBC $17,810
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Judson University $24,024
-
MBC $28,135
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Judson University 98%
-
MBC 99%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Judson University
- MBC
- Applied
-
Judson University 830
-
MBC -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Judson University 395
-
MBC -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Judson University 47.6%
-
MBC
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Judson University 39.2%
-
MBC
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Judson University 970
-
MBC 1030
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Judson University 20
-
MBC 21
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Judson University 3.16
-
MBC 3.57
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Judson University B+
-
MBC A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Judson University Very Easy
-
MBC Very Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Judson University Low
-
MBC
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Judson University 16/24
-
MBC 18/24
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Judson University 816/1118
-
MBC 940/1120
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Judson University Test optional
-
MBC Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Judson University
-
MBC
-
-
-
Academics
- Judson University
- MBC
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Judson University 10:1
-
MBC 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Judson University
- Business (38%)
- Education (15%)
- Human Services (10%)
- Architecture (6%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (5%)
-
MBC
- Social Sciences (18%)
- Business (18%)
- Psychology (15%)
- History (14%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Judson University
- MBC
- Graduation Rate
-
Judson University 49%
-
MBC 49%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Judson University $44,800
-
MBC $38,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Judson University 63%
-
MBC 53%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Judson University $23,000
-
MBC $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Judson University $237
-
MBC $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- Judson University
- MBC
- % Men
-
Judson University 57%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
- % Women
-
Judson University 43%
-
MBC 76%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Judson University Medium
-
MBC Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
Judson University No
-
MBC No
-
-
- % White
-
Judson University 58%
-
MBC 58%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Judson University 2%
-
MBC 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
Judson University 8%
-
MBC 23%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Judson University 17%
-
MBC 6%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Judson University 0%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Judson University 0%
-
MBC 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Judson University 1%
-
MBC 4%
-
-
- % International
-
Judson University 3%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Judson University 10%
-
MBC 5%
-
-
-
Students
- Judson University
- MBC
- % In-State
-
Judson University 58%
-
MBC 75%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Judson University 37%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
-
Campus
- Judson University
- MBC
- Campus Housing
-
Judson University Yes
-
MBC Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Judson University No
-
MBC No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Judson University Yes
-
MBC Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Judson University Yes
-
MBC No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Judson University No
-
MBC No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Judson University in Elgin, IL with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Mary Baldwin University is larger than Judson University based on total student enrollment (1,772 students vs. 960 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Judson University is located in Elgin, IL (Midsize City setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
- Judson University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Judson University 10:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.
Judson University vs. MBC Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Judson University or MBC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Mary Baldwin University than Judson University ($17,810 vs. $18,673).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Mary Baldwin University are 7.4% lower than at Judson University ($11,411 vs. $12,320).
- Mary Baldwin University is 8.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Judson University (about $2,792 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $31,360.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 8.9% higher at MBC than at Judson University (about $2,792 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $31,360.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Mary Baldwin University than at Judson University (99% vs. 98%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Mary Baldwin University students is 17.1% larger than aid received by Judson University students ($28,135 vs. $24,024).
Judson University vs. MBC Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Judson University or MBC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MBC and Judson University.
- The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Mary Baldwin University (1030) is 60 points higher than at Judson University (970).
- Incoming MBC students have a 1 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (21 vs. 20 at Judson University).
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Judson University 816/1118; Mary Baldwin University 940/1120.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Judson University 16/24; Mary Baldwin University 18/24.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Judson University - Test optional; MBC - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman MBC students have a 0.41 point higher average high school GPA (3.57) than students at Judson University (3.16).
Judson University vs. MBC Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Judson University and MBC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- The graduation rate at Judson University is the same as at Mary Baldwin University (49% vs. 49%).
- Graduates from Judson University earn a median of about $6,400 more per year than MBC graduates about ten years after starting college ($44,800 vs. $38,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Judson University graduates have a $4,000 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($23,000 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, Judson University graduates have an estimated $42 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($237 vs. $279).
- More Judson University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former MBC students, three years after graduation. (63% vs. 53%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.