JC vs. MBC
Deciding between University of Jamestown and Mary Baldwin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
University of Jamestown
Mary Baldwin University
-
Overview
- JC
- MBC
- Location
-
JC Jamestown, ND
-
MBC Staunton, VA
-
-
- Setting
-
JC Remote Town
-
MBC Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
JC 1,376
-
MBC 1,772
-
-
- Type
-
JC Private 4 Year
-
MBC Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
JC #760
-
MBC #1045
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
JC Presbyterian Church (USA)
-
MBC Presbyterian Church (USA)
-
-
- Status
-
JC Non-profit
-
MBC Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
JC uj.edu
-
MBC marybaldwin.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
JC
-
MBC
-
-
-
Cost
- JC
- MBC
- Tuition (In State)
-
JC $24,990
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
JC $24,990
-
MBC $34,152
-
-
- Room & Board
-
JC $9,990
-
MBC $11,411
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
JC $20,510
-
MBC $17,810
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
JC $17,548
-
MBC $28,135
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
JC 100%
-
MBC 99%
-
-
-
Admissions
- JC
- MBC
- Applied
-
JC 965
-
MBC -
-
-
- Admitted
-
JC 850
-
MBC -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
JC 88.1%
-
MBC
-
-
- Enrolled
-
JC 36.1%
-
MBC
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
JC 1020
-
MBC 1030
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
JC 20
-
MBC 21
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
JC 3.25
-
MBC 3.57
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
JC B+
-
MBC A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
JC Very Easy
-
MBC Very Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
JC
-
MBC
-
-
- ACT Range
-
JC 17/24
-
MBC 18/24
-
-
- SAT Range
-
JC 900/1140
-
MBC 940/1120
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
JC Test-free
-
MBC Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
JC
-
MBC
-
-
-
Academics
- JC
- MBC
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
JC 13:1
-
MBC 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
JC
- Business (24%)
- Health Professions (14%)
- Education (12%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (8%)
- Psychology (6%)
-
MBC
- Social Sciences (18%)
- Business (18%)
- Psychology (15%)
- History (14%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- JC
- MBC
- Graduation Rate
-
JC 43%
-
MBC 49%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
JC $47,800
-
MBC $38,400
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
JC 79%
-
MBC 53%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
JC $26,000
-
MBC $27,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
JC $268
-
MBC $279
-
-
-
Diversity
- JC
- MBC
- % Men
-
JC 52%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
- % Women
-
JC 48%
-
MBC 76%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
JC Low
-
MBC Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
JC No
-
MBC No
-
-
- % White
-
JC 78%
-
MBC 58%
-
-
- % Asian
-
JC 1%
-
MBC 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
JC 6%
-
MBC 23%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
JC 7%
-
MBC 6%
-
-
- % Native American
-
JC 1%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
JC 1%
-
MBC 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
JC 0%
-
MBC 4%
-
-
- % International
-
JC 6%
-
MBC 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
JC 0%
-
MBC 5%
-
-
-
Students
- JC
- MBC
- % In-State
-
JC 39%
-
MBC 75%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
JC 50%
-
MBC 24%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare University of Jamestown in Jamestown, ND with Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Mary Baldwin University is larger than JC based on total student enrollment (1,772 students vs. 1,376 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- University of Jamestown is located in Jamestown, ND (Remote Town setting); Mary Baldwin University is in Staunton, VA (Distant Town setting).
- University of Jamestown is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Mary Baldwin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Jamestown 13:1; Mary Baldwin University 15:1.
JC vs. MBC Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, JC or MBC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Mary Baldwin University than JC ($17,810 vs. $20,510).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at University of Jamestown are 12.5% lower than at Mary Baldwin University ($9,990 vs. $11,411).
- Mary Baldwin University is 36.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than JC (about $9,162 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $24,990.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 36.7% higher at MBC than at University of Jamestown (about $9,162 more per year; $34,152.00 vs. $24,990.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of Jamestown than at Mary Baldwin University (100% vs. 99%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Mary Baldwin University students is 60.3% larger than aid received by University of Jamestown students ($28,135 vs. $17,548).
JC vs. MBC Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, JC or MBC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MBC and JC.
- The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Mary Baldwin University (1030) is 10 points higher than at JC (1020).
- Incoming MBC students have a 1 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (21 vs. 20 at JC).
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: University of Jamestown 900/1140; Mary Baldwin University 940/1120.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: University of Jamestown 17/24; Mary Baldwin University 18/24.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: JC - Test-free; MBC - Not reported.
- Accepted freshman MBC students have a 0.32 point higher average high school GPA (3.57) than students at JC (3.25).
JC vs. MBC Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for JC and MBC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Mary Baldwin University's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than University of Jamestown's (43%).
- Graduates from University of Jamestown earn a median of about $9,400 more per year than MBC graduates about ten years after starting college ($47,800 vs. $38,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Jamestown graduates have a $1,000 lower median loan debt than MBC graduates ($26,000 vs. $27,000).
- Among borrowers, JC graduates have an estimated $11 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MBC graduates ($268 vs. $279).
- More JC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former MBC students, three years after graduation. (79% vs. 53%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.