Henderson State University vs. UAFS

Deciding between Henderson State University and University of Arkansas Fort Smith? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Henderson State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Henderson State University Arkadelphia, AR
  • UAFS Fort Smith, AR
  • Setting
  • Henderson State University Distant Town
  • UAFS Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • Henderson State University 2,055
  • UAFS 5,496
  • Type
  • Henderson State University Public 4 Year
  • UAFS Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Henderson State University #1024
  • UAFS
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Henderson State University -
  • UAFS -
  • Status
  • Henderson State University Non-profit
  • UAFS Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Henderson State University
  • UAFS
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Henderson State University $8,244
  • UAFS $7,334
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Henderson State University $10,620
  • UAFS $12,182
  • Room & Board
  • Henderson State University $10,000
  • UAFS $10,082
  • Average Net Price
  • Henderson State University $20,444
  • UAFS $11,159
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Henderson State University $7,867
  • UAFS $7,715
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Henderson State University 98%
  • UAFS 95%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Henderson State University -
  • UAFS 2,769
  • Admitted
  • Henderson State University -
  • UAFS 2,228
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Henderson State University
  • UAFS 80.5%
  • Enrolled
  • Henderson State University
  • UAFS 40.2%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Henderson State University 990
  • UAFS
  • Typical ACT score
  • Henderson State University 18
  • UAFS
  • Average High School GPA
  • Henderson State University 3.23
  • UAFS 3.39
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Henderson State University B+
  • UAFS B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Henderson State University Extremely Easy
  • UAFS Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Henderson State University
  • UAFS
  • ACT Range
  • Henderson State University 16/21
  • UAFS
  • SAT Range
  • Henderson State University 903/1073
  • UAFS
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Henderson State University Not reported
  • UAFS Required
  • Application Deadline
  • Henderson State University Jul 15, 2027
  • UAFS
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Henderson State University 14:1
  • UAFS 18:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Henderson State University
    • Education (19%)
    • Business (17%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (11%)
    • Psychology (8%)
    • Biology (6%)
  • UAFS
    • Business (17%)
    • Health Professions (14%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (12%)
    • Precision Production Trades (10%)
    • Mechanic and Repair Technologies (10%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Henderson State University 31%
  • UAFS 23%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Henderson State University $38,400
  • UAFS $35,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Henderson State University 48%
  • UAFS 47%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Henderson State University $19,500
  • UAFS $14,132
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Henderson State University $201
  • UAFS $146
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Henderson State University 41%
  • UAFS 40%
  • % Women
  • Henderson State University 59%
  • UAFS 60%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Henderson State University Medium
  • UAFS Medium
  • HBCU
  • Henderson State University No
  • UAFS No
  • % White
  • Henderson State University 66%
  • UAFS 70%
  • % Asian
  • Henderson State University 1%
  • UAFS 5%
  • % Black
  • Henderson State University 24%
  • UAFS 4%
  • % Hispanic
  • Henderson State University 4%
  • UAFS 11%
  • % Native American
  • Henderson State University 0%
  • UAFS 2%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Henderson State University 0%
  • UAFS 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Henderson State University 4%
  • UAFS 6%
  • % International
  • Henderson State University 1%
  • UAFS 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Henderson State University 0%
  • UAFS 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Henderson State University 74%
  • UAFS 86%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Henderson State University 23%
  • UAFS 13%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Henderson State University Yes
  • UAFS Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Henderson State University No
  • UAFS No
  • Meal Plan
  • Henderson State University Yes
  • UAFS Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Henderson State University No
  • UAFS Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Henderson State University No
  • UAFS No

Comparable Facts

Compare Henderson State University in Arkadelphia, AR with University of Arkansas Fort Smith in Fort Smith, AR on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Arkansas Fort Smith is larger than Henderson State University based on total student enrollment (5,496 students vs. 2,055 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Henderson State University is located in Arkadelphia, AR (Distant Town setting); University of Arkansas Fort Smith is in Fort Smith, AR (Small City setting).
  • Henderson State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Arkansas Fort Smith is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Henderson State University 14:1; University of Arkansas Fort Smith 18:1.

Henderson State University vs. UAFS Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Henderson State University or UAFS? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at University of Arkansas Fort Smith than Henderson State University ($11,159 vs. $20,444).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Henderson State University are 0.8% lower than at University of Arkansas Fort Smith ($10,000 vs. $10,082).
  • Henderson State University is 12.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than UAFS (about $910 more per year; $8,244.00 vs. $7,334.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 14.7% higher at UAFS than at Henderson State University (about $1,562 more per year; $12,182.00 vs. $10,620.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Henderson State University than at University of Arkansas Fort Smith (98% vs. 95%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Henderson State University students is 2% larger than aid received by University of Arkansas Fort Smith students ($7,867 vs. $7,715).

Henderson State University vs. UAFS Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Henderson State University or UAFS? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between UAFS and Henderson State University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Henderson State University 903/1073.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Henderson State University 16/21.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Henderson State University - Not reported; UAFS - Required.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Henderson State University Jul 15, 2027.
  • Enrolled freshman UAFS students have a 0.16 point higher average high school GPA (3.39) than students at Henderson State University (3.23).

Henderson State University vs. UAFS Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Henderson State University and UAFS? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Henderson State University's six-year graduation rate (31%) is higher than University of Arkansas Fort Smith's (23%).
  • Graduates from Henderson State University earn a median of about $3,400 more per year than UAFS graduates about ten years after starting college ($38,400 vs. $35,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Arkansas Fort Smith graduates have a $5,368 lower median loan debt than Henderson State University graduates ($14,132 vs. $19,500).
  • Among borrowers, UAFS graduates have an estimated $55 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Henderson State University graduates ($146 vs. $201).
  • More Henderson State University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former UAFS students, three years after graduation. (48% vs. 47%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.