Grand View University vs. OHCC

Deciding between Grand View University and Oak Hills Christian College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Grand View University Des Moines, IA
  • OHCC Bemidji, MN
  • Setting
  • Grand View University Midsize City
  • OHCC Rural Fringe
  • Total enrollment
  • Grand View University 1,856
  • OHCC 95
  • Type
  • Grand View University Private 4 Year
  • OHCC Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Grand View University #899
  • OHCC
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Grand View University Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • OHCC Interdenominational
  • Status
  • Grand View University Non-profit
  • OHCC Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Grand View University
  • OHCC
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Grand View University $34,762
  • OHCC $19,440
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Grand View University $34,762
  • OHCC $19,440
  • Room & Board
  • Grand View University $13,912
  • OHCC $10,326
  • Average Net Price
  • Grand View University $22,319
  • OHCC $20,227
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Grand View University $26,330
  • OHCC $13,731
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Grand View University 100%
  • OHCC 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Grand View University 1,426
  • OHCC -
  • Admitted
  • Grand View University 1,413
  • OHCC -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Grand View University 99.1%
  • OHCC
  • Enrolled
  • Grand View University 20.9%
  • OHCC
  • Typical SAT score
  • Grand View University 1000
  • OHCC 940
  • Typical ACT score
  • Grand View University 19
  • OHCC 19
  • Average High School GPA
  • Grand View University 3.3
  • OHCC 3.07
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Grand View University B+
  • OHCC B
  • Admissions Standards
  • Grand View University Extremely Easy
  • OHCC Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Grand View University
  • OHCC
  • ACT Range
  • Grand View University 17/22
  • OHCC 17/21
  • SAT Range
  • Grand View University 920/1080
  • OHCC 880/1000
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Grand View University Test-free
  • OHCC Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Grand View University Aug 15, 2027
  • OHCC
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Grand View University 12:1
  • OHCC 10:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Grand View University
    • Health Professions (18%)
    • Business (17%)
    • Education (8%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
  • OHCC
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (74%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (13%)
    • Psychology (10%)
    • Business (3%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Grand View University 41%
  • OHCC 27%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Grand View University $43,900
  • OHCC $29,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Grand View University 60%
  • OHCC 63%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Grand View University $23,908
  • OHCC $18,934
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Grand View University $247
  • OHCC $195
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Grand View University 42%
  • OHCC 57%
  • % Women
  • Grand View University 58%
  • OHCC 43%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Grand View University Low
  • OHCC Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Grand View University No
  • OHCC No
  • % White
  • Grand View University 72%
  • OHCC 85%
  • % Asian
  • Grand View University 3%
  • OHCC 2%
  • % Black
  • Grand View University 8%
  • OHCC 4%
  • % Hispanic
  • Grand View University 4%
  • OHCC 4%
  • % Native American
  • Grand View University 0%
  • OHCC 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Grand View University 0%
  • OHCC 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Grand View University 4%
  • OHCC 2%
  • % International
  • Grand View University 2%
  • OHCC 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Grand View University 7%
  • OHCC 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Grand View University 83%
  • OHCC 67%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Grand View University 16%
  • OHCC 33%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Grand View University Yes
  • OHCC Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Grand View University No
  • OHCC No
  • Meal Plan
  • Grand View University Yes
  • OHCC Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Grand View University Yes
  • OHCC No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Grand View University No
  • OHCC No

Comparable Facts

Compare Grand View University in Des Moines, IA with Oak Hills Christian College in Bemidji, MN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Grand View University is larger than OHCC based on total student enrollment (1,856 students vs. 95 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Grand View University is located in Des Moines, IA (Midsize City setting); Oak Hills Christian College is in Bemidji, MN (Rural Fringe setting).
  • Grand View University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Oak Hills Christian College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Grand View University 12:1; Oak Hills Christian College 10:1.

Grand View University vs. OHCC Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Grand View University or OHCC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Oak Hills Christian College than Grand View University ($20,227 vs. $22,319).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Oak Hills Christian College are 25.8% lower than at Grand View University ($10,326 vs. $13,912).
  • Grand View University is 78.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than OHCC (about $15,322 more per year; $34,762.00 vs. $19,440.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 78.8% higher at Grand View University than at Oak Hills Christian College (about $15,322 more per year; $34,762.00 vs. $19,440.00).
  • The same share of students receive grant aid at Grand View University as at Oak Hills Christian College (100% vs. 100%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Grand View University students is 91.8% larger than aid received by Oak Hills Christian College students ($26,330 vs. $13,731).

Grand View University vs. OHCC Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Grand View University or OHCC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between OHCC and Grand View University.

  • The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Grand View University (1000) is 60 points higher than at OHCC (940).
  • Incoming Grand View University students have the same typical ACT composite (median estimate; 19) as students at OHCC (19).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Grand View University 920/1080; Oak Hills Christian College 880/1000.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Grand View University 17/22; Oak Hills Christian College 17/21.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Grand View University - Test-free; OHCC - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Grand View University Aug 15, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman Grand View University students have a 0.23 point higher average high school GPA (3.3) than students at OHCC (3.07).

Grand View University vs. OHCC Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Grand View University and OHCC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Grand View University's six-year graduation rate (41%) is higher than Oak Hills Christian College's (27%).
  • Graduates from Grand View University earn a median of about $14,600 more per year than OHCC graduates about ten years after starting college ($43,900 vs. $29,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Oak Hills Christian College graduates have a $4,974 lower median loan debt than Grand View University graduates ($18,934 vs. $23,908).
  • Among borrowers, OHCC graduates have an estimated $52 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Grand View University graduates ($195 vs. $247).
  • More OHCC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Grand View University students, three years after graduation. (63% vs. 60%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.