GSU- Grambling vs. SCU

Deciding between Grambling State University and Southwestern Christian University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Grambling State University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • GSU- Grambling Grambling, LA
  • SCU Bethany, OK
  • Setting
  • GSU- Grambling Rural Fringe
  • SCU Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • GSU- Grambling 5,150
  • SCU 399
  • Type
  • GSU- Grambling Public 4 Year
  • SCU Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • GSU- Grambling #1018
  • SCU
  • Religious Affiliation
  • GSU- Grambling -
  • SCU Pentecostal Holiness Church
  • Status
  • GSU- Grambling Non-profit
  • SCU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • GSU- Grambling
  • SCU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • GSU- Grambling $7,683
  • SCU $21,900
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • GSU- Grambling $16,706
  • SCU $21,900
  • Room & Board
  • GSU- Grambling $10,990
  • SCU $10,100
  • Average Net Price
  • GSU- Grambling $17,018
  • SCU $20,528
  • Average Grant Aid
  • GSU- Grambling $8,870
  • SCU $12,784
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • GSU- Grambling 95%
  • SCU 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • GSU- Grambling 12,976
  • SCU -
  • Admitted
  • GSU- Grambling 5,821
  • SCU -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • GSU- Grambling 44.9%
  • SCU
  • Enrolled
  • GSU- Grambling 18%
  • SCU
  • Typical SAT score
  • GSU- Grambling 1000
  • SCU
  • Typical ACT score
  • GSU- Grambling 17
  • SCU
  • Average High School GPA
  • GSU- Grambling 3.01
  • SCU 3.22
  • Typical High School Grades
  • GSU- Grambling B
  • SCU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • GSU- Grambling Extremely Easy
  • SCU Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • GSU- Grambling Low
  • SCU
  • ACT Range
  • GSU- Grambling 15/19
  • SCU
  • SAT Range
  • GSU- Grambling 920/1080
  • SCU
  • Submit Test Scores
  • GSU- Grambling Required
  • SCU Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • GSU- Grambling
  • SCU
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • GSU- Grambling 25:1
  • SCU 13:1
  • Popular Majors
  • GSU- Grambling
    • Business (22%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (15%)
    • Health Professions (10%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (8%)
    • Biology (7%)
  • SCU
    • Human Services (34%)
    • Business (27%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (16%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • GSU- Grambling 27%
  • SCU 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • GSU- Grambling $32,400
  • SCU $27,400
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • GSU- Grambling 23%
  • SCU 38%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • GSU- Grambling $37,997
  • SCU $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • GSU- Grambling $392
  • SCU $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • GSU- Grambling 37%
  • SCU 61%
  • % Women
  • GSU- Grambling 63%
  • SCU 39%
  • Racial Diversity
  • GSU- Grambling Extremely Low
  • SCU High
  • HBCU
  • GSU- Grambling Yes
  • SCU No
  • % White
  • GSU- Grambling 1%
  • SCU 44%
  • % Asian
  • GSU- Grambling 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Black
  • GSU- Grambling 91%
  • SCU 25%
  • % Hispanic
  • GSU- Grambling 1%
  • SCU 8%
  • % Native American
  • GSU- Grambling 0%
  • SCU 4%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • GSU- Grambling 0%
  • SCU 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • GSU- Grambling 2%
  • SCU 3%
  • % International
  • GSU- Grambling 4%
  • SCU 10%
  • % Unknown Race
  • GSU- Grambling 1%
  • SCU 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • GSU- Grambling 43%
  • SCU 72%
  • % Out-of-State
  • GSU- Grambling 35%
  • SCU 15%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • GSU- Grambling Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • GSU- Grambling No
  • SCU No
  • Meal Plan
  • GSU- Grambling Yes
  • SCU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • GSU- Grambling No
  • SCU Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • GSU- Grambling No
  • SCU No

Comparable Facts

Compare Grambling State University in Grambling, LA with Southwestern Christian University in Bethany, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Grambling State University is larger than SCU based on total student enrollment (5,150 students vs. 399 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Grambling State University is located in Grambling, LA (Rural Fringe setting); Southwestern Christian University is in Bethany, OK (Large Suburban setting).
  • Grambling State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Christian University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Grambling State University 25:1; Southwestern Christian University 13:1.

GSU- Grambling vs. SCU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, GSU- Grambling or SCU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Grambling State University than SCU ($17,018 vs. $20,528).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Christian University are 8.1% lower than at Grambling State University ($10,100 vs. $10,990).
  • Southwestern Christian University is 185% more expensive for in-state tuition than GSU- Grambling (about $14,217 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $7,683.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 31.1% higher at SCU than at Grambling State University (about $5,194 more per year; $21,900.00 vs. $16,706.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Christian University than at Grambling State University (100% vs. 95%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Southwestern Christian University students is 44.1% larger than aid received by Grambling State University students ($12,784 vs. $8,870).

GSU- Grambling vs. SCU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, GSU- Grambling or SCU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SCU and GSU- Grambling.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Grambling State University 920/1080.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Grambling State University 15/19.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: GSU- Grambling - Required; SCU - Not reported.
  • Accepted freshman SCU students have a 0.21 point higher average high school GPA (3.22) than students at GSU- Grambling (3.01).

GSU- Grambling vs. SCU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for GSU- Grambling and SCU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Southwestern Christian University's six-year graduation rate (28%) is higher than Grambling State University's (27%).
  • Graduates from Grambling State University earn a median of about $5,000 more per year than SCU graduates about ten years after starting college ($32,400 vs. $27,400), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Christian University graduates have a $10,997 lower median loan debt than GSU- Grambling graduates ($27,000 vs. $37,997).
  • Among borrowers, SCU graduates have an estimated $113 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than GSU- Grambling graduates ($279 vs. $392).
  • More SCU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former GSU- Grambling students, three years after graduation. (38% vs. 23%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.