Geneva College vs. University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
Deciding between Geneva College and University of Pittsburgh Johnstown? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Geneva College
University of Pittsburgh Johnstown
-
Overview
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- Location
-
Geneva College Beaver Falls, PA
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Johnstown, PA
-
-
- Setting
-
Geneva College Large Suburban
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Small Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Geneva College 1,366
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 1,813
-
-
- Type
-
Geneva College Private 4 Year
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown #526
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Geneva College Reformed Presbyterian Church
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown -
-
-
- Status
-
Geneva College Non-profit
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Geneva College geneva.edu
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown pitt.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
-
-
-
Cost
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- Tuition (In State)
-
Geneva College $33,450
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $14,906
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Geneva College $33,450
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $26,780
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Geneva College $11,330
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $12,940
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Geneva College $23,528
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $18,452
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Geneva College $21,913
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $12,209
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Geneva College 97%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 98%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- Applied
-
Geneva College -
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 2,422
-
-
- Admitted
-
Geneva College -
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 2,297
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 94.8%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 17.8%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 1100
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 24
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Geneva College 3.64
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 3.57
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Geneva College A-
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Geneva College Unavailable
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Moderate
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 22/27
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 985/1220
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Geneva College Not reported
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Geneva College
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
-
-
-
Academics
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Geneva College 15:1
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 14:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Geneva College
- Business (27%)
- Theology and Religious Vvocations (16%)
- Human Services (12%)
- Education (9%)
- Engineering (8%)
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- Business (24%)
- Education (15%)
- Engineering Technology (12%)
- English and Literature (11%)
- Biology (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- Graduation Rate
-
Geneva College 68%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 59%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Geneva College $43,600
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $58,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Geneva College 70%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 75%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Geneva College $25,250
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $26,909
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Geneva College $261
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown $278
-
-
-
Diversity
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- % Men
-
Geneva College 51%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 56%
-
-
- % Women
-
Geneva College 49%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 44%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Geneva College Very Low
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Very Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Geneva College No
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown No
-
-
- % White
-
Geneva College 84%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 87%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Geneva College 0%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Geneva College 9%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 3%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Geneva College 1%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 1%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Geneva College 0%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Geneva College 0%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Geneva College 3%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 2%
-
-
- % International
-
Geneva College 1%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 2%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Geneva College 2%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 3%
-
-
-
Students
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- % In-State
-
Geneva College 70%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 88%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Geneva College 28%
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown 9%
-
-
-
Campus
- Geneva College
- University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown
- Campus Housing
-
Geneva College Yes
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Geneva College No
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Geneva College Yes
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Geneva College No
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Geneva College No
-
University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Geneva College in Beaver Falls, PA with University of Pittsburgh Johnstown in Johnstown, PA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
University of Pittsburgh Johnstown is larger than Geneva College based on total student enrollment (1,813 students vs. 1,366 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Geneva College is located in Beaver Falls, PA (Large Suburban setting); University of Pittsburgh Johnstown is in Johnstown, PA (Small Suburban setting).
- Geneva College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Pittsburgh Johnstown is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Geneva College 15:1; University of Pittsburgh Johnstown 14:1.
Geneva College vs. University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Geneva College or University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at University of Pittsburgh Johnstown than Geneva College ($18,452 vs. $23,528).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Geneva College are 12.4% lower than at University of Pittsburgh Johnstown ($11,330 vs. $12,940).
- Geneva College is 124.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown (about $18,544 more per year; $33,450.00 vs. $14,906.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 24.9% higher at Geneva College than at University of Pittsburgh Johnstown (about $6,670 more per year; $33,450.00 vs. $26,780.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of Pittsburgh Johnstown than at Geneva College (98% vs. 97%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Geneva College students is 79.5% larger than aid received by University of Pittsburgh Johnstown students ($21,913 vs. $12,209).
Geneva College vs. University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Geneva College or University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown and Geneva College.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsUniversity of Pittsburgh Johnstown 985/1220.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsUniversity of Pittsburgh Johnstown 22/27.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Geneva College - Not reported; University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown - Test optional.
- Accepted freshman Geneva College students have a 0.07 point higher average high school GPA (3.64) than students at University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown (3.57).
Geneva College vs. University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Geneva College and University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Geneva College's six-year graduation rate (68%) is higher than University of Pittsburgh Johnstown's (59%).
- Graduates from University of Pittsburgh Johnstown earn a median of about $14,400 more per year than Geneva College graduates about ten years after starting college ($58,000 vs. $43,600), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Geneva College graduates have a $1,659 lower median loan debt than University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown graduates ($25,250 vs. $26,909).
- Among borrowers, Geneva College graduates have an estimated $17 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown graduates ($261 vs. $278).
- More University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Geneva College students, three years after graduation. (75% vs. 70%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.