Gallaudet University vs. CCSJ

Deciding between Gallaudet University and Calumet College of Saint Joseph? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Gallaudet University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Gallaudet University Washington, DC
  • CCSJ Whiting, IN
  • Setting
  • Gallaudet University Large City
  • CCSJ Large Suburban
  • Total enrollment
  • Gallaudet University 1,335
  • CCSJ 658
  • Type
  • Gallaudet University Private 4 Year
  • CCSJ Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Gallaudet University #570
  • CCSJ
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Gallaudet University -
  • CCSJ Roman Catholic
  • Status
  • Gallaudet University Non-profit
  • CCSJ Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Gallaudet University
  • CCSJ
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Gallaudet University $19,654
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Gallaudet University $19,654
  • CCSJ $23,850
  • Room & Board
  • Gallaudet University $15,892
  • CCSJ $9,600
  • Average Net Price
  • Gallaudet University $15,944
  • CCSJ $16,765
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Gallaudet University $24,529
  • CCSJ $16,181
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Gallaudet University 100%
  • CCSJ 96%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Gallaudet University 403
  • CCSJ -
  • Admitted
  • Gallaudet University 234
  • CCSJ -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Gallaudet University 58.1%
  • CCSJ
  • Enrolled
  • Gallaudet University 60.7%
  • CCSJ
  • Typical SAT score
  • Gallaudet University 900
  • CCSJ
  • Typical ACT score
  • Gallaudet University 15
  • CCSJ
  • Average High School GPA
  • Gallaudet University 3.3
  • CCSJ 2.75
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Gallaudet University B+
  • CCSJ B-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Gallaudet University Extremely Easy
  • CCSJ Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Gallaudet University Low
  • CCSJ
  • ACT Range
  • Gallaudet University 14/17
  • CCSJ
  • SAT Range
  • Gallaudet University 780/1022
  • CCSJ
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Gallaudet University Required
  • CCSJ Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Gallaudet University
  • CCSJ
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Gallaudet University 6:1
  • CCSJ 11:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Gallaudet University
    • Communication (13%)
    • Business (10%)
    • Foreign Languages (9%)
    • Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
    • Social Sciences (8%)
  • CCSJ
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (41%)
    • Business (26%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Legal Professions (4%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (4%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Gallaudet University 41%
  • CCSJ 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Gallaudet University $31,700
  • CCSJ $46,800
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Gallaudet University 55%
  • CCSJ 36%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Gallaudet University $16,541
  • CCSJ $19,750
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Gallaudet University $171
  • CCSJ $204
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Gallaudet University 39%
  • CCSJ 66%
  • % Women
  • Gallaudet University 61%
  • CCSJ 34%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Gallaudet University High
  • CCSJ High
  • HBCU
  • Gallaudet University No
  • CCSJ No
  • % White
  • Gallaudet University 49%
  • CCSJ 43%
  • % Asian
  • Gallaudet University 3%
  • CCSJ 1%
  • % Black
  • Gallaudet University 13%
  • CCSJ 24%
  • % Hispanic
  • Gallaudet University 12%
  • CCSJ 31%
  • % Native American
  • Gallaudet University 1%
  • CCSJ 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Gallaudet University 0%
  • CCSJ 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Gallaudet University 11%
  • CCSJ 1%
  • % International
  • Gallaudet University 8%
  • CCSJ 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Gallaudet University 3%
  • CCSJ 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Gallaudet University 2%
  • CCSJ 58%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Gallaudet University 96%
  • CCSJ 41%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Gallaudet University Yes
  • CCSJ No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Gallaudet University No
  • CCSJ No
  • Meal Plan
  • Gallaudet University Yes
  • CCSJ No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Gallaudet University No
  • CCSJ No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Gallaudet University Yes
  • CCSJ No

Comparable Facts

Compare Gallaudet University in Washington, DC with Calumet College of Saint Joseph in Whiting, IN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Gallaudet University is larger than CCSJ based on total student enrollment (1,335 students vs. 658 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Gallaudet University is located in Washington, DC (Large City setting); Calumet College of Saint Joseph is in Whiting, IN (Large Suburban setting).
  • Gallaudet University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Calumet College of Saint Joseph is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Gallaudet University 6:1; Calumet College of Saint Joseph 11:1.

Gallaudet University vs. CCSJ Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Gallaudet University or CCSJ? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Gallaudet University than CCSJ ($15,944 vs. $16,765).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Calumet College of Saint Joseph are 39.6% lower than at Gallaudet University ($9,600 vs. $15,892).
  • Calumet College of Saint Joseph is 21.3% more expensive for in-state tuition than Gallaudet University (about $4,196 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $19,654.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 21.3% higher at CCSJ than at Gallaudet University (about $4,196 more per year; $23,850.00 vs. $19,654.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Gallaudet University than at Calumet College of Saint Joseph (100% vs. 96%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Gallaudet University students is 51.6% larger than aid received by Calumet College of Saint Joseph students ($24,529 vs. $16,181).

Gallaudet University vs. CCSJ Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Gallaudet University or CCSJ? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between CCSJ and Gallaudet University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Gallaudet University 780/1022.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Gallaudet University 14/17.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Gallaudet University - Required; CCSJ - Not reported.
  • Enrolled freshman Gallaudet University students have a 0.55 point higher average high school GPA (3.3) than students at CCSJ (2.75).

Gallaudet University vs. CCSJ Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Gallaudet University and CCSJ? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Gallaudet University's six-year graduation rate (41%) is higher than Calumet College of Saint Joseph's (28%).
  • Graduates from Calumet College of Saint Joseph earn a median of about $15,100 more per year than Gallaudet University graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,800 vs. $31,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Gallaudet University graduates have a $3,209 lower median loan debt than CCSJ graduates ($16,541 vs. $19,750).
  • Among borrowers, Gallaudet University graduates have an estimated $33 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than CCSJ graduates ($171 vs. $204).
  • More Gallaudet University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former CCSJ students, three years after graduation. (55% vs. 36%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.