Eastern Nazarene College vs. Salem State University
Eastern Nazarene College and Salem State University side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: Salem State University. Average net price is $17,541 vs $21,894 at Eastern Nazarene College.
- Graduation: Eastern Nazarene College 52% vs Salem State University 42%.
- Earnings 10 years out: Eastern Nazarene College $47,500 vs Salem State University $44,400 (median).
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Eastern Nazarene College and Salem State University with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
Eastern Nazarene College My Chances
-
Salem State University My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
Eastern Nazarene College -
-
Salem State University 7,953
-
-
- Admitted
-
Eastern Nazarene College -
-
Salem State University 7,625
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
Eastern Nazarene College
-
Salem State University 95.9%
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
Eastern Nazarene College
-
Salem State University 11.3%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Eastern Nazarene College 1030
-
Salem State University 1080
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Eastern Nazarene College
-
Salem State University
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
Eastern Nazarene College 3.21
-
Salem State University 3.17
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
Eastern Nazarene College B+
-
Salem State University B+
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
Eastern Nazarene College Very Easy
-
Salem State University Very Easy
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
Eastern Nazarene College
-
Salem State University
-
-
- SAT range
-
Eastern Nazarene College 883-1180
-
Salem State University 990-1160
-
-
- ACT range
-
Eastern Nazarene College
-
Salem State University
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
Eastern Nazarene College Not reported
-
Salem State University Test-free
-
-
- Application deadline
-
Eastern Nazarene College
-
Salem State University Jun 1, 2027
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
Eastern Nazarene College $29,924
-
Salem State University $12,338
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
Eastern Nazarene College $29,924
-
Salem State University $19,531
-
-
- Room & board
-
Eastern Nazarene College $11,352
-
Salem State University $16,838
-
-
- Average net price
-
Eastern Nazarene College $21,894
-
Salem State University $17,541
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
Eastern Nazarene College $20,305
-
Salem State University $10,319
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
Eastern Nazarene College 100%
-
Salem State University 98%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
Eastern Nazarene College 52%
-
Salem State University 42%
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
Eastern Nazarene College $47,500
-
Salem State University $44,400
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
Eastern Nazarene College 59%
-
Salem State University 63%
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
Eastern Nazarene College $22,805
-
Salem State University $24,000
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
Eastern Nazarene College $235
-
Salem State University $248
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
Eastern Nazarene College 3:1
-
Salem State University 12:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
Eastern Nazarene College
- Business (47%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (11%)
- Education (8%)
- Psychology (5%)
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (4%)
-
Salem State University
- Business (23%)
- Health Professions (17%)
- Education (9%)
- Psychology (7%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (7%)
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Eastern Nazarene College Eastern Nazarene College
- Salem State University Salem State University
- Location
-
Eastern Nazarene College Quincy, MA
-
Salem State University Salem, MA
-
-
- Setting
-
Eastern Nazarene College Small City
-
Salem State University Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Eastern Nazarene College 60
-
Salem State University 6,230
-
-
- Type
-
Eastern Nazarene College Private 4 Year
-
Salem State University Public 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
Eastern Nazarene College
-
Salem State University #779
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Eastern Nazarene College in Quincy, MA with Salem State University in Salem, MA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Salem State University is larger than Eastern Nazarene College based on total student enrollment (6,230 students vs. 60 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Eastern Nazarene College is located in Quincy, MA (Small City setting); Salem State University is in Salem, MA (Large Suburban setting).
- Eastern Nazarene College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Salem State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Eastern Nazarene College 3:1; Salem State University 12:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Eastern Nazarene College are 32.6% lower than at Salem State University ($11,352 vs. $16,838).
- Out-of-state tuition is 53.2% higher at Eastern Nazarene College than at Salem State University (about $10,393 more per year; $29,924 vs. $19,531).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Eastern Nazarene College than at Salem State University (100% vs. 98%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Eastern Nazarene College students is 96.8% larger than aid received by Salem State University students ($20,305 vs. $10,319).
Admissions details
- SAT or ACT scores are not reported at Eastern Nazarene College, test-free at Salem State University.
- Typical fall application deadline: Salem State University Jun 1, 2027.
- Enrolled first-year students at Eastern Nazarene College average a 3.21 high school GPA, 0.04 higher than at Salem State University (3.17).
Loans and repayment
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Eastern Nazarene College graduates have a $1,195 lower median loan debt than Salem State University graduates ($22,805 vs. $24,000).
- Among borrowers, Eastern Nazarene College graduates have an estimated $13 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Salem State University graduates ($235 vs. $248).
- More Salem State University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Eastern Nazarene College students, three years after graduation (63% vs. 59%).
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
Salem State University