EIU vs. Principia College
Eastern Illinois University and Principia College side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.
At a glance
- Cheaper after aid: EIU. Average net price is $13,787 vs $18,248 at Principia College.
Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.
Admission calculator
PartnerNot sure you'd get in? Check your chances at EIU and Principia College with Appily's free admission calculator.
-
Admissions
- Admission chances
-
EIU My Chances
-
Principia College My Chances
-
-
- Applied
-
EIU 12,539
-
Principia College -
-
-
- Admitted
-
EIU 8,194
-
Principia College -
-
-
- Acceptance rate
-
EIU 65.3%
-
Principia College
-
-
- Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
-
EIU 9.8%
-
Principia College
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
EIU 990
-
Principia College 1150
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
EIU
-
Principia College 21
-
-
- Average high school GPA
-
EIU 3.39
-
Principia College 3.34
-
-
- Typical high school grades
-
EIU B+
-
Principia College B+
-
-
- Admissions standards
-
EIU Extremely Easy
-
Principia College Easy
-
-
- Applicant competition
-
EIU Low
-
Principia College
-
-
- SAT range
-
EIU 880-1090
-
Principia College 1040-1250
-
-
- ACT range
-
EIU
-
Principia College 19-23
-
-
- Submit test scores
-
EIU Test optional
-
Principia College Not reported
-
-
- Application deadline
-
EIU
-
Principia College
-
-
-
Cost
- Tuition (in state)
-
EIU $13,679
-
Principia College $34,680
-
-
- Tuition (out of state)
-
EIU $16,217
-
Principia College $34,680
-
-
- Room & board
-
EIU $12,282
-
Principia College $13,910
-
-
- Average net price
-
EIU $13,787
-
Principia College $18,248
-
-
- Average grant aid
-
EIU $12,960
-
Principia College $30,402
-
-
- % receiving grant aid
-
EIU 95%
-
Principia College 90%
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Graduation rate
-
EIU 59%
-
Principia College -
-
-
- Median earnings (after 10 years)
-
EIU $43,500
-
Principia College N/A
-
-
- Making student loan payments
-
EIU 59%
-
Principia College -
-
-
- Median student loan debt
-
EIU $23,650
-
Principia College N/A
-
-
- Median loan payment
-
EIU $244
-
Principia College N/A
-
-
-
Academics
- Student to faculty ratio
-
EIU 14:1
-
Principia College 6:1
-
-
- Popular majors
-
EIU
- Education (21%)
- Business (14%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (9%)
- Communication (9%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
-
Principia College
-
-
-
School basics
- School
- Principia College Principia College
- Location
-
EIU Charleston, IL
-
Principia College Elsah, Illinois
-
-
- Setting
-
EIU Remote Town
-
Principia College Rural Fringe
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
EIU 8,505
-
Principia College 339
-
-
- Type
-
EIU Public 4 Year
-
Principia College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National ranking
-
EIU #688
-
Principia College
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Eastern Illinois University in Charleston, IL with Principia College in Elsah, Illinois on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.
Eastern Illinois University is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (8,505 students vs. 339 students).
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Eastern Illinois University is located in Charleston, IL (Remote Town setting); Principia College is in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting).
- Eastern Illinois University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Eastern Illinois University 14:1; Principia College 6:1.
Cost details
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Eastern Illinois University are 11.7% lower than at Principia College ($12,282 vs. $13,910).
- Out-of-state tuition is 113.8% higher at Principia College than at Eastern Illinois University (about $18,463 more per year; $34,680 vs. $16,217).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Eastern Illinois University than at Principia College (95% vs. 90%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 134.6% larger than aid received by Eastern Illinois University students ($30,402 vs. $12,960).
Admissions details
- SAT or ACT scores are test optional at EIU, not reported at Principia College.
- Enrolled first-year students at EIU average a 3.39 high school GPA, 0.05 higher than at Principia College (3.34).
Loans and repayment
Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.
Change schools
You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.
Eastern Illinois University