Divine Word College vs. Shaw University
Deciding between Divine Word College and Shaw University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Divine Word College
Shaw University
-
Overview
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- Location
-
Divine Word College Epworth, IA
-
Shaw University Raleigh, NC
-
-
- Setting
-
Divine Word College Distant Rural
-
Shaw University Large City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Divine Word College 64
-
Shaw University 964
-
-
- Type
-
Divine Word College Private 4 Year
-
Shaw University Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Divine Word College Roman Catholic
-
Shaw University Baptist
-
-
- Status
-
Divine Word College Non-profit
-
Shaw University Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University
-
-
-
Cost
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- Tuition (In State)
-
Divine Word College $15,600
-
Shaw University $17,538
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Divine Word College $15,600
-
Shaw University $17,538
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Divine Word College $4,400
-
Shaw University $9,210
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Divine Word College $3,083
-
Shaw University $16,445
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Divine Word College $19,417
-
Shaw University $14,417
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Divine Word College 100%
-
Shaw University 97%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- Applied
-
Divine Word College -
-
Shaw University 7,390
-
-
- Admitted
-
Divine Word College -
-
Shaw University 5,924
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University 80.2%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University 4.1%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Divine Word College -
-
Shaw University 2.6
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Divine Word College -
-
Shaw University B-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Divine Word College Unavailable
-
Shaw University Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Divine Word College
-
Shaw University
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Divine Word College Not reported
-
Shaw University Test-free
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Divine Word College Jul 15, 2027
-
Shaw University Jul 30, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Divine Word College 5:1
-
Shaw University 14:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Divine Word College
- Philosophy and Religious Studies (60%)
- Social Sciences (40%)
-
Shaw University
- Business (27%)
- Human Services (14%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (10%)
- Social Sciences (8%)
- Psychology (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- Graduation Rate
-
Divine Word College 17%
-
Shaw University 27%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Divine Word College N/A
-
Shaw University $29,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Divine Word College -
-
Shaw University 15%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Divine Word College N/A
-
Shaw University $38,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Divine Word College N/A
-
Shaw University $392
-
-
-
Diversity
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- % Men
-
Divine Word College 52%
-
Shaw University 47%
-
-
- % Women
-
Divine Word College 48%
-
Shaw University 53%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Divine Word College Medium
-
Shaw University Extremely Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Divine Word College No
-
Shaw University Yes
-
-
- % White
-
Divine Word College 1%
-
Shaw University 1%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Divine Word College 22%
-
Shaw University 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
Divine Word College 1%
-
Shaw University 58%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Divine Word College 8%
-
Shaw University 0%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Divine Word College 0%
-
Shaw University 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Divine Word College 0%
-
Shaw University 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Divine Word College 0%
-
Shaw University 0%
-
-
- % International
-
Divine Word College 68%
-
Shaw University 2%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Divine Word College 0%
-
Shaw University 39%
-
-
-
Students
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- % In-State
-
Divine Word College 0%
-
Shaw University 51%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Divine Word College 50%
-
Shaw University 42%
-
-
-
Campus
- Divine Word College
- Shaw University
- Campus Housing
-
Divine Word College Yes
-
Shaw University Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Divine Word College Yes
-
Shaw University No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Divine Word College Yes
-
Shaw University Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Divine Word College No
-
Shaw University Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Divine Word College No
-
Shaw University No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Divine Word College in Epworth, IA with Shaw University in Raleigh, NC on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Shaw University is larger than Divine Word College based on total student enrollment (964 students vs. 64 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Divine Word College is located in Epworth, IA (Distant Rural setting); Shaw University is in Raleigh, NC (Large City setting).
- Divine Word College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Shaw University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Divine Word College 5:1; Shaw University 14:1.
Divine Word College vs. Shaw University Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Divine Word College or Shaw University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Divine Word College than Shaw University ($3,083 vs. $16,445).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Divine Word College are 52.2% lower than at Shaw University ($4,400 vs. $9,210).
- Shaw University is 12.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than Divine Word College (about $1,938 more per year; $17,538.00 vs. $15,600.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 12.4% higher at Shaw University than at Divine Word College (about $1,938 more per year; $17,538.00 vs. $15,600.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Divine Word College than at Shaw University (100% vs. 97%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Divine Word College students is 34.7% larger than aid received by Shaw University students ($19,417 vs. $14,417).
Divine Word College vs. Shaw University Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Divine Word College or Shaw University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Shaw University and Divine Word College.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Divine Word College - Not reported; Shaw University - Test-free.
- Typical fall application deadline: Divine Word College Jul 15, 2027; Shaw University Jul 30, 2027.
Divine Word College vs. Shaw University Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Divine Word College and Shaw University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Shaw University's six-year graduation rate (27%) is higher than Divine Word College's (17%).
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.