CIIS vs. Claflin University
Deciding between California Institute of Integral Studies and Claflin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
California Institute of Integral Studies
Claflin University
-
Overview
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- Location
-
CIIS San Francisco, CA
-
Claflin University Orangeburg, SC
-
-
- Setting
-
CIIS Large City
-
Claflin University Distant Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
CIIS 1,874
-
Claflin University 1,852
-
-
- Type
-
CIIS Private 4 Year
-
Claflin University Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University #979
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University United Methodist
-
-
- Status
-
CIIS Non-profit
-
Claflin University Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
CIIS ciis.edu
-
Claflin University claflin.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University
-
-
-
Cost
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- Tuition (In State)
-
CIIS $0
-
Claflin University $18,282
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
CIIS $0
-
Claflin University $18,282
-
-
- Room & Board
-
CIIS $0
-
Claflin University $9,480
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University $17,272
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
CIIS $0
-
Claflin University $16,596
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
CIIS 0%
-
Claflin University 98%
-
-
-
Admissions
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- Applied
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University 8,127
-
-
- Admitted
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University 5,277
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University 64.9%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University 7.3%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University 940
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University 17
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University 3.28
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
CIIS Unavailable
-
Claflin University Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University Low
-
-
- ACT Range
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University 16/18
-
-
- SAT Range
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University 840/1040
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
CIIS Not reported
-
Claflin University Test-free
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University
-
-
-
Academics
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
CIIS 15:1
-
Claflin University 13:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University
- Business (29%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (19%)
- Social Sciences (14%)
- Biology (11%)
- Communication (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- Graduation Rate
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University 40%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
CIIS N/A
-
Claflin University $30,700
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
CIIS 45%
-
Claflin University 25%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
CIIS $18,750
-
Claflin University $32,184
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
CIIS $193
-
Claflin University $332
-
-
-
Diversity
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- % Men
-
CIIS 19%
-
Claflin University 30%
-
-
- % Women
-
CIIS 81%
-
Claflin University 70%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
CIIS High
-
Claflin University Extremely Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
CIIS No
-
Claflin University Yes
-
-
- % White
-
CIIS 47%
-
Claflin University 1%
-
-
- % Asian
-
CIIS 5%
-
Claflin University 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
CIIS 9%
-
Claflin University 92%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
CIIS 19%
-
Claflin University 2%
-
-
- % Native American
-
CIIS 1%
-
Claflin University 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
CIIS 1%
-
Claflin University 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
CIIS 10%
-
Claflin University 0%
-
-
- % International
-
CIIS 4%
-
Claflin University 2%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
CIIS 3%
-
Claflin University 0%
-
-
-
Students
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- % In-State
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University 82%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
CIIS -
-
Claflin University 16%
-
-
-
Campus
- CIIS
- Claflin University
- Campus Housing
-
CIIS No
-
Claflin University Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
CIIS No
-
Claflin University Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
CIIS Yes
-
Claflin University Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
CIIS
-
Claflin University No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare California Institute of Integral Studies in San Francisco, CA with Claflin University in Orangeburg, SC on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
California Institute of Integral Studies is larger than Claflin University based on total student enrollment (1,874 students vs. 1,852 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- California Institute of Integral Studies is located in San Francisco, CA (Large City setting); Claflin University is in Orangeburg, SC (Distant Town setting).
- California Institute of Integral Studies is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Claflin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: California Institute of Integral Studies 15:1; Claflin University 13:1.
CIIS vs. Claflin University Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, CIIS or Claflin University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- In-state tuition differs between Claflin University and CIIS ($18,282.00 vs. $0.00).
- Out-of-state tuition differs between Claflin University and California Institute of Integral Studies ($18,282.00 vs. $0.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Claflin University than at California Institute of Integral Studies (98% vs. 0%).
CIIS vs. Claflin University Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, CIIS or Claflin University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Claflin University and CIIS.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsClaflin University 840/1040.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsClaflin University 16/18.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: CIIS - Not reported; Claflin University - Test-free.
CIIS vs. Claflin University Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for CIIS and Claflin University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Among federal student loan borrowers, California Institute of Integral Studies graduates have a $13,434 lower median loan debt than Claflin University graduates ($18,750 vs. $32,184).
- Among borrowers, CIIS graduates have an estimated $139 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Claflin University graduates ($193 vs. $332).
- More CIIS graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Claflin University students, three years after graduation. (45% vs. 25%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.