Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Empire State University
Deciding between Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology and Empire State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology
Empire State University
-
Overview
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- Location
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Boston, MA
-
Empire State University Saratoga Springs, NY
-
-
- Setting
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Large City
-
Empire State University Small Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 744
-
Empire State University 10,469
-
-
- Type
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Private 4 Year
-
Empire State University Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Status
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Non-profit
-
Empire State University Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Franklin Institute of Boston bfit.edu
-
Empire State University sunyempire.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
-
Cost
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- Tuition (In State)
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $18,906
-
Empire State University $7,648
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $18,906
-
Empire State University $17,558
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $13,500
-
Empire State University $14,230
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $14,841
-
Empire State University $11,659
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $15,180
-
Empire State University $8,243
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 85%
-
Empire State University 82%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- Applied
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Open
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Open
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 2.32
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Franklin Institute of Boston C+
-
Empire State University -
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Unavailable
-
Empire State University Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Open admission
-
Empire State University Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
-
Empire State University
-
-
-
Academics
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 10:1
-
Empire State University 17:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Franklin Institute of Boston
- Mechanic and Repair Technologies (36%)
- Engineering Technology (33%)
- Health Professions (19%)
- Construction Trades (11%)
-
Empire State University
- Business (40%)
- Human Services (20%)
- General Studies (10%)
- Physical Sciences (6%)
- Psychology (6%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- Graduation Rate
-
Franklin Institute of Boston -
-
Empire State University 19%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $41,700
-
Empire State University $46,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 43%
-
Empire State University 44%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $12,000
-
Empire State University $23,250
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Franklin Institute of Boston $124
-
Empire State University $240
-
-
-
Diversity
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- % Men
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 78%
-
Empire State University 32%
-
-
- % Women
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 22%
-
Empire State University 68%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Very High
-
Empire State University High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Franklin Institute of Boston No
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- % White
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 30%
-
Empire State University 60%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 7%
-
Empire State University 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 28%
-
Empire State University 16%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 23%
-
Empire State University 12%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
-
Empire State University 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 1%
-
Empire State University 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 4%
-
Empire State University 2%
-
-
- % International
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
-
Empire State University 5%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 6%
-
Empire State University 2%
-
-
-
Students
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- % In-State
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 100%
-
Empire State University 92%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Franklin Institute of Boston 0%
-
Empire State University 5%
-
-
-
Campus
- Franklin Institute of Boston
- Empire State University
- Campus Housing
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Franklin Institute of Boston No
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Franklin Institute of Boston Yes
-
Empire State University No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Franklin Institute of Boston No
-
Empire State University No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology in Boston, MA with Empire State University in Saratoga Springs, NY on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Empire State University is larger than Franklin Institute of Boston based on total student enrollment (10,469 students vs. 744 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is located in Boston, MA (Large City setting); Empire State University is in Saratoga Springs, NY (Small Suburban setting).
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Empire State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology 10:1; Empire State University 17:1.
Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Empire State University Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Franklin Institute of Boston or Empire State University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Empire State University than Franklin Institute of Boston ($11,659 vs. $14,841).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology are 5.1% lower than at Empire State University ($13,500 vs. $14,230).
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology is 147.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than Empire State University (about $11,258 more per year; $18,906.00 vs. $7,648.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 7.7% higher at Franklin Institute of Boston than at Empire State University (about $1,348 more per year; $18,906.00 vs. $17,558.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology than at Empire State University (85% vs. 82%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology students is 84.2% larger than aid received by Empire State University students ($15,180 vs. $8,243).
Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Empire State University Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Franklin Institute of Boston or Empire State University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Empire State University and Franklin Institute of Boston.
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology reports an open admissions policy.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Franklin Institute of Boston - Open admission; Empire State University - Not reported.
Franklin Institute of Boston vs. Empire State University Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Franklin Institute of Boston and Empire State University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Graduates from Empire State University earn a median of about $4,300 more per year than Franklin Institute of Boston graduates about ten years after starting college ($46,000 vs. $41,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology graduates have a $11,250 lower median loan debt than Empire State University graduates ($12,000 vs. $23,250).
- Among borrowers, Franklin Institute of Boston graduates have an estimated $116 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Empire State University graduates ($124 vs. $240).
- More Empire State University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Franklin Institute of Boston students, three years after graduation. (44% vs. 43%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.