Athens State University vs. Martin University

Deciding between Athens State University and Martin University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Athens State University Athens, AL
  • Martin University Indianapolis, IN
  • Setting
  • Athens State University Town Fringe
  • Martin University Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Athens State University 2,986
  • Martin University 198
  • Type
  • Athens State University Public 4 Year
  • Martin University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University -
  • Status
  • Athens State University Non-profit
  • Martin University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Athens State University $0
  • Martin University $13,200
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Athens State University $0
  • Martin University $13,200
  • Room & Board
  • Athens State University $0
  • Martin University $8,140
  • Average Net Price
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University $18,114
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Athens State University $0
  • Martin University $5,038
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Athens State University 0%
  • Martin University 86%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University -
  • Admitted
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University Open
  • Enrolled
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • Typical ACT score
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • Average High School GPA
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University -
  • Admissions Standards
  • Athens State University Unavailable
  • Martin University Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • ACT Range
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • SAT Range
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Athens State University Not reported
  • Martin University Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Athens State University 14:1
  • Martin University 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University
    • Business (38%)
    • Psychology (17%)
    • Biology (10%)
    • Philosophy and Religious Studies (9%)
    • Education (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University 8%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Athens State University $42,200
  • Martin University $25,500
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Athens State University 49%
  • Martin University 11%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Athens State University $18,534
  • Martin University $41,750
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Athens State University $191
  • Martin University $431
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Athens State University 29%
  • Martin University 25%
  • % Women
  • Athens State University 71%
  • Martin University 75%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Athens State University Low
  • Martin University Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • Athens State University No
  • Martin University No
  • % White
  • Athens State University 78%
  • Martin University 2%
  • % Asian
  • Athens State University 1%
  • Martin University 0%
  • % Black
  • Athens State University 12%
  • Martin University 93%
  • % Hispanic
  • Athens State University 2%
  • Martin University 1%
  • % Native American
  • Athens State University 2%
  • Martin University 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Athens State University 0%
  • Martin University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Athens State University 2%
  • Martin University 3%
  • % International
  • Athens State University 1%
  • Martin University 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Athens State University 3%
  • Martin University 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University 100%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Athens State University -
  • Martin University 0%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Athens State University No
  • Martin University No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Athens State University No
  • Martin University No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Athens State University Yes
  • Martin University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Athens State University
  • Martin University No
  • Learn More
  • Athens State University Details
  • Martin University Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Athens State University in Athens, AL with Martin University in Indianapolis, IN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Athens State University is larger than Martin University based on total student enrollment (2,986 students vs. 198 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Athens State University is located in Athens, AL (Town Fringe setting); Martin University is in Indianapolis, IN (Large City setting).
  • Athens State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Martin University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Athens State University 14:1; Martin University 14:1.

Athens State University vs. Martin University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Athens State University or Martin University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Martin University and Athens State University ($13,200.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Martin University and Athens State University ($13,200.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Martin University than at Athens State University (86% vs. 0%).

Athens State University vs. Martin University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Athens State University or Martin University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Martin University and Athens State University.

  • Martin University reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Athens State University - Not reported; Martin University - Open admission.

Athens State University vs. Martin University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Athens State University and Martin University? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Martin University's six-year graduation rate is 8%. Comparable graduation rate data is not available for Athens State University.
  • Graduates from Athens State University earn a median of about $16,700 more per year than Martin University graduates about ten years after starting college ($42,200 vs. $25,500), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Athens State University graduates have a $23,216 lower median loan debt than Martin University graduates ($18,534 vs. $41,750).
  • Among borrowers, Athens State University graduates have an estimated $240 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Martin University graduates ($191 vs. $431).
  • More Athens State University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Martin University students, three years after graduation. (49% vs. 11%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.