Allen College vs. Northland College

Deciding between Allen College and Northland College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Northland College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Allen College Waterloo, IA
  • Northland College Ashland, WI
  • Setting
  • Allen College Rural Fringe
  • Northland College Remote Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Allen College 483
  • Northland College 286
  • Type
  • Allen College Private 4 Year
  • Northland College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Allen College
  • Northland College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Allen College -
  • Northland College United Church of Christ
  • Status
  • Allen College Non-profit
  • Northland College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Allen College
  • Northland College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Allen College $19,516
  • Northland College $44,403
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Allen College $19,516
  • Northland College $44,403
  • Room & Board
  • Allen College $8,800
  • Northland College $11,600
  • Average Net Price
  • Allen College -
  • Northland College $23,253
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Allen College $0
  • Northland College $33,572
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Allen College 0%
  • Northland College 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Allen College -
  • Northland College 947
  • Admitted
  • Allen College -
  • Northland College 710
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Allen College
  • Northland College 75%
  • Enrolled
  • Allen College
  • Northland College 9.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Allen College
  • Northland College 1050
  • Typical ACT score
  • Allen College
  • Northland College 21
  • Average High School GPA
  • Allen College -
  • Northland College 3.3
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Allen College -
  • Northland College B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Allen College Unavailable
  • Northland College Very Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Allen College
  • Northland College
  • ACT Range
  • Allen College
  • Northland College 18/25
  • SAT Range
  • Allen College
  • Northland College 950/1140
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Allen College Not reported
  • Northland College Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Allen College Feb 1, 2027
  • Northland College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Allen College 8:1
  • Northland College 5:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Allen College
    • Health Professions (100%)
  • Northland College
    • Natural Resources Conservation (23%)
    • Biology (22%)
    • Education (15%)
    • Physical Sciences (9%)
    • Business (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Allen College 50%
  • Northland College 48%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Allen College $49,100
  • Northland College $34,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Allen College 84%
  • Northland College 73%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Allen College $16,750
  • Northland College $26,943
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Allen College $173
  • Northland College $278
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Allen College 11%
  • Northland College 58%
  • % Women
  • Allen College 89%
  • Northland College 42%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Allen College Extremely Low
  • Northland College Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Allen College No
  • Northland College No
  • % White
  • Allen College 87%
  • Northland College 83%
  • % Asian
  • Allen College 1%
  • Northland College 0%
  • % Black
  • Allen College 2%
  • Northland College 1%
  • % Hispanic
  • Allen College 0%
  • Northland College 6%
  • % Native American
  • Allen College 0%
  • Northland College 2%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Allen College 0%
  • Northland College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Allen College 1%
  • Northland College 2%
  • % International
  • Allen College 0%
  • Northland College 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Allen College 8%
  • Northland College 4%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Allen College 100%
  • Northland College 32%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Allen College 0%
  • Northland College 43%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Allen College Yes
  • Northland College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Allen College No
  • Northland College No
  • Meal Plan
  • Allen College No
  • Northland College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Allen College Yes
  • Northland College No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Allen College No
  • Northland College No

Comparable Facts

Compare Allen College in Waterloo, IA with Northland College in Ashland, WI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Allen College is larger than Northland College based on total student enrollment (483 students vs. 286 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Allen College is located in Waterloo, IA (Rural Fringe setting); Northland College is in Ashland, WI (Remote Town setting).
  • Allen College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Northland College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Allen College 8:1; Northland College 5:1.

Allen College vs. Northland College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Allen College or Northland College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Allen College are 24.1% lower than at Northland College ($8,800 vs. $11,600).
  • Northland College is 127.5% more expensive for in-state tuition than Allen College (about $24,887 more per year; $44,403.00 vs. $19,516.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 127.5% higher at Northland College than at Allen College (about $24,887 more per year; $44,403.00 vs. $19,516.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Northland College than at Allen College (100% vs. 0%).

Allen College vs. Northland College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Allen College or Northland College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Northland College and Allen College.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorthland College 950/1140.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorthland College 18/25.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Allen College - Not reported; Northland College - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Allen College Feb 1, 2027.

Allen College vs. Northland College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Allen College and Northland College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Allen College's six-year graduation rate (50%) is higher than Northland College's (48%).
  • Graduates from Allen College earn a median of about $14,200 more per year than Northland College graduates about ten years after starting college ($49,100 vs. $34,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Allen College graduates have a $10,193 lower median loan debt than Northland College graduates ($16,750 vs. $26,943).
  • Among borrowers, Allen College graduates have an estimated $105 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Northland College graduates ($173 vs. $278).
  • More Allen College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Northland College students, three years after graduation. (84% vs. 73%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.