Allen College vs. Livingstone College

Deciding between Allen College and Livingstone College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Livingstone College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Allen College Waterloo, IA
  • Livingstone College Salisbury, NC
  • Setting
  • Allen College Rural Fringe
  • Livingstone College Distant Town
  • Total enrollment
  • Allen College 483
  • Livingstone College 936
  • Type
  • Allen College Private 4 Year
  • Livingstone College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Allen College -
  • Livingstone College African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
  • Status
  • Allen College Non-profit
  • Livingstone College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Allen College $19,516
  • Livingstone College $18,296
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Allen College $19,516
  • Livingstone College $18,296
  • Room & Board
  • Allen College $8,800
  • Livingstone College $6,794
  • Average Net Price
  • Allen College -
  • Livingstone College $12,826
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Allen College $0
  • Livingstone College $15,485
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Allen College 0%
  • Livingstone College 99%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Allen College -
  • Livingstone College 6,721
  • Admitted
  • Allen College -
  • Livingstone College 3,982
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College 59.2%
  • Enrolled
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College 8.6%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College 880
  • Typical ACT score
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College 17
  • Average High School GPA
  • Allen College -
  • Livingstone College 2.64
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Allen College -
  • Livingstone College B-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Allen College Unavailable
  • Livingstone College Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College Low
  • ACT Range
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College 14/21
  • SAT Range
  • Allen College
  • Livingstone College 800/960
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Allen College Not reported
  • Livingstone College Test-free
  • Application Deadline
  • Allen College Feb 1, 2027
  • Livingstone College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Allen College 8:1
  • Livingstone College 14:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Allen College
    • Health Professions (100%)
  • Livingstone College
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (19%)
    • Business (17%)
    • Human Services (13%)
    • Psychology (9%)
    • Social Sciences (9%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Allen College 50%
  • Livingstone College 28%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Allen College $49,100
  • Livingstone College $24,200
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Allen College 84%
  • Livingstone College 13%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Allen College $16,750
  • Livingstone College $42,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Allen College $173
  • Livingstone College $434
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Allen College 11%
  • Livingstone College 59%
  • % Women
  • Allen College 89%
  • Livingstone College 41%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Allen College Extremely Low
  • Livingstone College Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • Allen College No
  • Livingstone College Yes
  • % White
  • Allen College 87%
  • Livingstone College 0%
  • % Asian
  • Allen College 1%
  • Livingstone College 0%
  • % Black
  • Allen College 2%
  • Livingstone College 81%
  • % Hispanic
  • Allen College 0%
  • Livingstone College 1%
  • % Native American
  • Allen College 0%
  • Livingstone College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Allen College 0%
  • Livingstone College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Allen College 1%
  • Livingstone College 0%
  • % International
  • Allen College 0%
  • Livingstone College 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Allen College 8%
  • Livingstone College 17%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Allen College 100%
  • Livingstone College 40%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Allen College 0%
  • Livingstone College 54%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Allen College Yes
  • Livingstone College Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Allen College No
  • Livingstone College Yes
  • Meal Plan
  • Allen College No
  • Livingstone College Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Allen College Yes
  • Livingstone College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Allen College No
  • Livingstone College No

Comparable Facts

Compare Allen College in Waterloo, IA with Livingstone College in Salisbury, NC on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Livingstone College is larger than Allen College based on total student enrollment (936 students vs. 483 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Allen College is located in Waterloo, IA (Rural Fringe setting); Livingstone College is in Salisbury, NC (Distant Town setting).
  • Allen College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Livingstone College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Allen College 8:1; Livingstone College 14:1.

Allen College vs. Livingstone College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Allen College or Livingstone College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Livingstone College are 22.8% lower than at Allen College ($6,794 vs. $8,800).
  • Allen College is 6.7% more expensive for in-state tuition than Livingstone College (about $1,220 more per year; $19,516.00 vs. $18,296.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 6.7% higher at Allen College than at Livingstone College (about $1,220 more per year; $19,516.00 vs. $18,296.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Livingstone College than at Allen College (99% vs. 0%).

Allen College vs. Livingstone College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Allen College or Livingstone College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Livingstone College and Allen College.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsLivingstone College 800/960.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsLivingstone College 14/21.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Allen College - Not reported; Livingstone College - Test-free.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Allen College Feb 1, 2027.

Allen College vs. Livingstone College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Allen College and Livingstone College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Allen College's six-year graduation rate (50%) is higher than Livingstone College's (28%).
  • Graduates from Allen College earn a median of about $24,900 more per year than Livingstone College graduates about ten years after starting college ($49,100 vs. $24,200), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Allen College graduates have a $25,250 lower median loan debt than Livingstone College graduates ($16,750 vs. $42,000).
  • Among borrowers, Allen College graduates have an estimated $261 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Livingstone College graduates ($173 vs. $434).
  • More Allen College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Livingstone College students, three years after graduation. (84% vs. 13%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.