Alabama State vs. Washburn University
Deciding between Alabama State University and Washburn University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Alabama State University
Washburn University
-
Overview
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- Location
-
Alabama State Montgomery, AL
-
Washburn University Topeka, KS
-
-
- Setting
-
Alabama State Midsize City
-
Washburn University Midsize City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Alabama State 4,081
-
Washburn University 6,033
-
-
- Type
-
Alabama State Public 4 Year
-
Washburn University Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Alabama State #1014
-
Washburn University
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Alabama State -
-
Washburn University -
-
-
- Status
-
Alabama State Non-profit
-
Washburn University Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Alabama State alasu.edu
-
Washburn University washburn.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Alabama State
-
Washburn University
-
-
-
Cost
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- Tuition (In State)
-
Alabama State $11,248
-
Washburn University $9,945
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Alabama State $19,576
-
Washburn University $20,949
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Alabama State $7,816
-
Washburn University $11,501
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Alabama State $13,138
-
Washburn University $11,488
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Alabama State $11,583
-
Washburn University $9,781
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Alabama State 87%
-
Washburn University 95%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- Applied
-
Alabama State 7,229
-
Washburn University -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Alabama State 7,052
-
Washburn University -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Alabama State 97.6%
-
Washburn University
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Alabama State 15%
-
Washburn University
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Alabama State 860
-
Washburn University
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Alabama State 17
-
Washburn University
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Alabama State 2.95
-
Washburn University 3.46
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Alabama State B
-
Washburn University B+
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Alabama State Extremely Easy
-
Washburn University Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Alabama State
-
Washburn University
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Alabama State 15/20
-
Washburn University
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Alabama State 749/967
-
Washburn University
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Alabama State Test optional
-
Washburn University Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Alabama State Jul 31, 2027
-
Washburn University
-
-
-
Academics
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Alabama State 15:1
-
Washburn University 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Alabama State
- Education (18%)
- Business (14%)
- Biology (11%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (11%)
- Psychology (8%)
-
Washburn University
- Health Professions (38%)
- Business (18%)
- Education (6%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
- Communication (5%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- Graduation Rate
-
Alabama State 26%
-
Washburn University 37%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Alabama State $29,500
-
Washburn University $42,300
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Alabama State 20%
-
Washburn University 49%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Alabama State $32,091
-
Washburn University $16,900
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Alabama State $331
-
Washburn University $174
-
-
-
Diversity
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- % Men
-
Alabama State 36%
-
Washburn University 35%
-
-
- % Women
-
Alabama State 64%
-
Washburn University 65%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Alabama State Extremely Low
-
Washburn University Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Alabama State Yes
-
Washburn University No
-
-
- % White
-
Alabama State 2%
-
Washburn University 64%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Alabama State 0%
-
Washburn University 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Alabama State 93%
-
Washburn University 6%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Alabama State 1%
-
Washburn University 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Alabama State 0%
-
Washburn University 1%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Alabama State 0%
-
Washburn University 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Alabama State 1%
-
Washburn University 4%
-
-
- % International
-
Alabama State 2%
-
Washburn University 3%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Alabama State 1%
-
Washburn University 14%
-
-
-
Students
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- % In-State
-
Alabama State 43%
-
Washburn University 87%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Alabama State 52%
-
Washburn University 2%
-
-
-
Campus
- Alabama State
- Washburn University
- Campus Housing
-
Alabama State Yes
-
Washburn University Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Alabama State No
-
Washburn University No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Alabama State Yes
-
Washburn University Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Alabama State No
-
Washburn University Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Alabama State No
-
Washburn University No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Alabama State University in Montgomery, AL with Washburn University in Topeka, KS on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Washburn University is larger than Alabama State based on total student enrollment (6,033 students vs. 4,081 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Alabama State University is located in Montgomery, AL (Midsize City setting); Washburn University is in Topeka, KS (Midsize City setting).
- Alabama State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Washburn University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Alabama State University 15:1; Washburn University 15:1.
Alabama State vs. Washburn University Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Alabama State or Washburn University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Washburn University than Alabama State ($11,488 vs. $13,138).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Alabama State University are 32% lower than at Washburn University ($7,816 vs. $11,501).
- Alabama State University is 13.1% more expensive for in-state tuition than Washburn University (about $1,303 more per year; $11,248.00 vs. $9,945.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 7% higher at Washburn University than at Alabama State University (about $1,373 more per year; $20,949.00 vs. $19,576.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Washburn University than at Alabama State University (95% vs. 87%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Alabama State University students is 18.4% larger than aid received by Washburn University students ($11,583 vs. $9,781).
Alabama State vs. Washburn University Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Alabama State or Washburn University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Washburn University and Alabama State.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Alabama State University 749/967.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Alabama State University 15/20.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Alabama State - Test optional; Washburn University - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: Alabama State Jul 31, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Washburn University students have a 0.51 point higher average high school GPA (3.46) than students at Alabama State (2.95).
Alabama State vs. Washburn University Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Alabama State and Washburn University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Washburn University's six-year graduation rate (37%) is higher than Alabama State University's (26%).
- Graduates from Washburn University earn a median of about $12,800 more per year than Alabama State graduates about ten years after starting college ($42,300 vs. $29,500), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Washburn University graduates have a $15,191 lower median loan debt than Alabama State graduates ($16,900 vs. $32,091).
- Among borrowers, Washburn University graduates have an estimated $157 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Alabama State graduates ($174 vs. $331).
- More Washburn University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Alabama State students, three years after graduation. (49% vs. 20%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.