Alabama State vs. SWOSU
Deciding between Alabama State University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Alabama State University
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
-
Overview
- Alabama State
- SWOSU
- Location
-
Alabama State Montgomery, AL
-
SWOSU Weatherford, OK
-
-
- Setting
-
Alabama State Midsize City
-
SWOSU Remote Town
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Alabama State 4,081
-
SWOSU 5,186
-
-
- Type
-
Alabama State Public 4 Year
-
SWOSU Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Alabama State #1014
-
SWOSU #1040
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Alabama State -
-
SWOSU -
-
-
- Status
-
Alabama State Non-profit
-
SWOSU Non-profit
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Alabama State
-
SWOSU
-
-
-
Cost
- Alabama State
- SWOSU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Alabama State $11,248
-
SWOSU $8,469
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Alabama State $19,576
-
SWOSU $8,499
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Alabama State $7,816
-
SWOSU $7,634
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Alabama State $13,138
-
SWOSU $14,410
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Alabama State $11,583
-
SWOSU $8,906
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Alabama State 87%
-
SWOSU 88%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Alabama State
- SWOSU
- Applied
-
Alabama State 7,229
-
SWOSU -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Alabama State 7,052
-
SWOSU -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Alabama State 97.6%
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Alabama State 15%
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Alabama State 860
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Alabama State 17
-
SWOSU 20
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Alabama State 2.95
-
SWOSU 3.53
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Alabama State B
-
SWOSU A-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Alabama State Extremely Easy
-
SWOSU Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Alabama State
-
SWOSU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Alabama State 15/20
-
SWOSU 18/23
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Alabama State 749/967
-
SWOSU
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Alabama State Test optional
-
SWOSU Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Alabama State Jul 31, 2027
-
SWOSU
-
-
-
Academics
- Alabama State
- SWOSU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Alabama State 15:1
-
SWOSU 19:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Alabama State
- Education (18%)
- Business (14%)
- Biology (11%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (11%)
- Psychology (8%)
-
SWOSU
- Health Professions (28%)
- Business (16%)
- Education (12%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (8%)
- Liberal Arts and Humanities (5%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Alabama State
- SWOSU
- Graduation Rate
-
Alabama State 26%
-
SWOSU 33%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Alabama State $29,500
-
SWOSU $48,600
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Alabama State 20%
-
SWOSU 54%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Alabama State $32,091
-
SWOSU $15,687
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Alabama State $331
-
SWOSU $162
-
-
-
Diversity
- Alabama State
- SWOSU
- % Men
-
Alabama State 36%
-
SWOSU 35%
-
-
- % Women
-
Alabama State 64%
-
SWOSU 65%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Alabama State Extremely Low
-
SWOSU Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
Alabama State Yes
-
SWOSU No
-
-
- % White
-
Alabama State 2%
-
SWOSU 67%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Alabama State 0%
-
SWOSU 2%
-
-
- % Black
-
Alabama State 93%
-
SWOSU 5%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Alabama State 1%
-
SWOSU 8%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Alabama State 0%
-
SWOSU 4%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Alabama State 0%
-
SWOSU 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Alabama State 1%
-
SWOSU 7%
-
-
- % International
-
Alabama State 2%
-
SWOSU 5%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Alabama State 1%
-
SWOSU 2%
-
-
-
Students
- Alabama State
- SWOSU
- % In-State
-
Alabama State 43%
-
SWOSU 90%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Alabama State 52%
-
SWOSU 7%
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Alabama State University in Montgomery, AL with Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, OK on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Southwestern Oklahoma State University is larger than Alabama State based on total student enrollment (5,186 students vs. 4,081 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Alabama State University is located in Montgomery, AL (Midsize City setting); Southwestern Oklahoma State University is in Weatherford, OK (Remote Town setting).
- Alabama State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Alabama State University 15:1; Southwestern Oklahoma State University 19:1.
Alabama State vs. SWOSU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Alabama State or SWOSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Alabama State University than SWOSU ($13,138 vs. $14,410).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Southwestern Oklahoma State University are 2.3% lower than at Alabama State University ($7,634 vs. $7,816).
- Alabama State University is 32.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than SWOSU (about $2,779 more per year; $11,248.00 vs. $8,469.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 130.3% higher at Alabama State than at Southwestern Oklahoma State University (about $11,077 more per year; $19,576.00 vs. $8,499.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Southwestern Oklahoma State University than at Alabama State University (88% vs. 87%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Alabama State University students is 30.1% larger than aid received by Southwestern Oklahoma State University students ($11,583 vs. $8,906).
Alabama State vs. SWOSU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Alabama State or SWOSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SWOSU and Alabama State.
- Incoming SWOSU students have a 3 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (20 vs. 17 at Alabama State).
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Alabama State University 749/967.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Alabama State University 15/20; Southwestern Oklahoma State University 18/23.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Alabama State - Test optional; SWOSU - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: Alabama State Jul 31, 2027.
- Accepted freshman SWOSU students have a 0.58 point higher average high school GPA (3.53) than students at Alabama State (2.95).
Alabama State vs. SWOSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Alabama State and SWOSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Southwestern Oklahoma State University's six-year graduation rate (33%) is higher than Alabama State University's (26%).
- Graduates from Southwestern Oklahoma State University earn a median of about $19,100 more per year than Alabama State graduates about ten years after starting college ($48,600 vs. $29,500), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Southwestern Oklahoma State University graduates have a $16,404 lower median loan debt than Alabama State graduates ($15,687 vs. $32,091).
- Among borrowers, SWOSU graduates have an estimated $169 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Alabama State graduates ($162 vs. $331).
- More SWOSU graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Alabama State students, three years after graduation. (54% vs. 20%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.