Alabama State vs. Lane College
Deciding between Alabama State University and Lane College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Alabama State University
Lane College
-
Overview
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- Location
-
Alabama State Montgomery, AL
-
Lane College Jackson, TN
-
-
- Setting
-
Alabama State Midsize City
-
Lane College Small City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Alabama State 4,081
-
Lane College 738
-
-
- Type
-
Alabama State Public 4 Year
-
Lane College Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Alabama State #1014
-
Lane College
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Alabama State -
-
Lane College Christian Methodist Episcopal
-
-
- Status
-
Alabama State Non-profit
-
Lane College Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Alabama State alasu.edu
-
Lane College lanecollege.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Alabama State
-
Lane College
-
-
-
Cost
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- Tuition (In State)
-
Alabama State $11,248
-
Lane College $11,790
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Alabama State $19,576
-
Lane College $11,790
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Alabama State $7,816
-
Lane College $7,610
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Alabama State $13,138
-
Lane College $11,803
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Alabama State $11,583
-
Lane College $11,689
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Alabama State 87%
-
Lane College 88%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- Applied
-
Alabama State 7,229
-
Lane College -
-
-
- Admitted
-
Alabama State 7,052
-
Lane College -
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Alabama State 97.6%
-
Lane College
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Alabama State 15%
-
Lane College
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Alabama State 860
-
Lane College
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Alabama State 17
-
Lane College
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Alabama State 2.95
-
Lane College 2.57
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Alabama State B
-
Lane College B-
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Alabama State Extremely Easy
-
Lane College Unavailable
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Alabama State
-
Lane College
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Alabama State 15/20
-
Lane College
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Alabama State 749/967
-
Lane College
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Alabama State Test optional
-
Lane College Not reported
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Alabama State Jul 31, 2027
-
Lane College Aug 21, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Alabama State 15:1
-
Lane College 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Alabama State
- Education (18%)
- Business (14%)
- Biology (11%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (11%)
- Psychology (8%)
-
Lane College
- Business (18%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (17%)
- Social Sciences (17%)
- Biology (14%)
- Education (9%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- Graduation Rate
-
Alabama State 26%
-
Lane College 34%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Alabama State $29,500
-
Lane College $25,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Alabama State 20%
-
Lane College 12%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Alabama State $32,091
-
Lane College $36,464
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Alabama State $331
-
Lane College $377
-
-
-
Diversity
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- % Men
-
Alabama State 36%
-
Lane College 55%
-
-
- % Women
-
Alabama State 64%
-
Lane College 45%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Alabama State Extremely Low
-
Lane College Extremely Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Alabama State Yes
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- % White
-
Alabama State 2%
-
Lane College 1%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Alabama State 0%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Black
-
Alabama State 93%
-
Lane College 97%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Alabama State 1%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Alabama State 0%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Alabama State 0%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Alabama State 1%
-
Lane College 1%
-
-
- % International
-
Alabama State 2%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Alabama State 1%
-
Lane College 0%
-
-
-
Students
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- % In-State
-
Alabama State 43%
-
Lane College 58%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Alabama State 52%
-
Lane College 40%
-
-
-
Campus
- Alabama State
- Lane College
- Campus Housing
-
Alabama State Yes
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Alabama State No
-
Lane College No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Alabama State Yes
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Alabama State No
-
Lane College Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Alabama State No
-
Lane College No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Alabama State University in Montgomery, AL with Lane College in Jackson, TN on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Alabama State University is larger than Lane College based on total student enrollment (4,081 students vs. 738 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Alabama State University is located in Montgomery, AL (Midsize City setting); Lane College is in Jackson, TN (Small City setting).
- Alabama State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Lane College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Alabama State University 15:1; Lane College 15:1.
Alabama State vs. Lane College Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Alabama State or Lane College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Lane College than Alabama State ($11,803 vs. $13,138).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Lane College are 2.6% lower than at Alabama State University ($7,610 vs. $7,816).
- Lane College is 4.8% more expensive for in-state tuition than Alabama State (about $542 more per year; $11,790.00 vs. $11,248.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 66% higher at Alabama State than at Lane College (about $7,786 more per year; $19,576.00 vs. $11,790.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Lane College than at Alabama State University (88% vs. 87%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Lane College students is 0.9% larger than aid received by Alabama State University students ($11,689 vs. $11,583).
Alabama State vs. Lane College Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Alabama State or Lane College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Lane College and Alabama State.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Alabama State University 749/967.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Alabama State University 15/20.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Alabama State - Test optional; Lane College - Not reported.
- Typical fall application deadline: Alabama State Jul 31, 2027; Lane College Aug 21, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Alabama State students have a 0.38 point higher average high school GPA (2.95) than students at Lane College (2.57).
Alabama State vs. Lane College Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Alabama State and Lane College? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Lane College's six-year graduation rate (34%) is higher than Alabama State University's (26%).
- Graduates from Alabama State University earn a median of about $4,500 more per year than Lane College graduates about ten years after starting college ($29,500 vs. $25,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Alabama State University graduates have a $4,373 lower median loan debt than Lane College graduates ($32,091 vs. $36,464).
- Among borrowers, Alabama State graduates have an estimated $46 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Lane College graduates ($331 vs. $377).
- More Alabama State graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Lane College students, three years after graduation. (20% vs. 12%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.