WKU vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore

Deciding between Western Kentucky University and University of Maryland, Baltimore? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Western Kentucky University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • WKU Bowling Green, KY
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Baltimore, MD
  • Setting
  • WKU Small City
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • WKU 16,291
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 6,636
  • Type
  • WKU Public 4 Year
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • WKU #970
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Religious Affiliation
  • WKU -
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Status
  • WKU Non-profit
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • WKU
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • WKU $11,652
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • WKU $27,000
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Room & Board
  • WKU $12,582
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Average Net Price
  • WKU $12,548
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • WKU $10,921
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • WKU 99%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • WKU 9,840
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Admitted
  • WKU 9,237
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • WKU 93.9%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Enrolled
  • WKU 30.2%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Typical SAT score
  • WKU 950
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Typical ACT score
  • WKU 18
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Average High School GPA
  • WKU 3.42
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • WKU B+
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Admissions Standards
  • WKU Extremely Easy
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • WKU
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • ACT Range
  • WKU 16/21
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • SAT Range
  • WKU 840/1050
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Submit Test Scores
  • WKU Test optional
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • WKU Aug 1, 2027
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • WKU 19:1
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1
  • Popular Majors
  • WKU
    • Business (16%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Health Professions (11%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Social Sciences (8%)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • WKU 50%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • WKU $37,100
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $102,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • WKU 47%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 85%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • WKU $24,250
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $15,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • WKU $250
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $155
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • WKU 38%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 28%
  • % Women
  • WKU 62%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 72%
  • Racial Diversity
  • WKU Low
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore High
  • HBCU
  • WKU No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • % White
  • WKU 76%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 56%
  • % Asian
  • WKU 1%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 13%
  • % Black
  • WKU 10%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 19%
  • % Hispanic
  • WKU 3%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5%
  • % Native American
  • WKU 0%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • WKU 0%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • WKU 3%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 3%
  • % International
  • WKU 6%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • WKU 1%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • WKU 66%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • % Out-of-State
  • WKU 33%
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • WKU Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • WKU No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Meal Plan
  • WKU Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • WKU No
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • WKU Yes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore

Comparable Facts

Compare Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, KY with University of Maryland, Baltimore in Baltimore, MD on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Western Kentucky University is larger than University of Maryland, Baltimore based on total student enrollment (16,291 students vs. 6,636 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Western Kentucky University is located in Bowling Green, KY (Small City setting); University of Maryland, Baltimore is in Baltimore, MD (Large City setting).
  • Western Kentucky University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Maryland, Baltimore is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Western Kentucky University 19:1; University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1.

WKU vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, WKU or University of Maryland, Baltimore? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Western Kentucky University and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($11,652.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between WKU and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($27,000.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Western Kentucky University than at University of Maryland, Baltimore (99% vs. 0%).

WKU vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, WKU or University of Maryland, Baltimore? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between University of Maryland, Baltimore and WKU.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Western Kentucky University 840/1050.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scores: Western Kentucky University 16/21.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: WKU - Test optional; University of Maryland, Baltimore - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: WKU Aug 1, 2027.

WKU vs. University of Maryland, Baltimore Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for WKU and University of Maryland, Baltimore? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Western Kentucky University's six-year graduation rate is 50%. Comparable graduation rate data is not available for University of Maryland, Baltimore.
  • Graduates from University of Maryland, Baltimore earn a median of about $65,800 more per year than WKU graduates about ten years after starting college ($102,900 vs. $37,100), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have a $9,250 lower median loan debt than WKU graduates ($15,000 vs. $24,250).
  • Among borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have an estimated $95 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than WKU graduates ($155 vs. $250).
  • More University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former WKU students, three years after graduation. (85% vs. 47%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.