Washburn University vs. WKU

Deciding between Washburn University and Western Kentucky University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Western Kentucky University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Washburn University Topeka, KS
  • WKU Bowling Green, KY
  • Setting
  • Washburn University Midsize City
  • WKU Small City
  • Total enrollment
  • Washburn University 6,033
  • WKU 16,291
  • Type
  • Washburn University Public 4 Year
  • WKU Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Washburn University
  • WKU #970
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Washburn University -
  • WKU -
  • Status
  • Washburn University Non-profit
  • WKU Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Washburn University
  • WKU
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Washburn University $9,945
  • WKU $11,652
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Washburn University $20,949
  • WKU $27,000
  • Room & Board
  • Washburn University $11,501
  • WKU $12,582
  • Average Net Price
  • Washburn University $11,488
  • WKU $12,548
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Washburn University $9,781
  • WKU $10,921
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Washburn University 95%
  • WKU 99%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Washburn University -
  • WKU 9,840
  • Admitted
  • Washburn University -
  • WKU 9,237
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Washburn University
  • WKU 93.9%
  • Enrolled
  • Washburn University
  • WKU 30.2%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Washburn University
  • WKU 950
  • Typical ACT score
  • Washburn University
  • WKU 18
  • Average High School GPA
  • Washburn University 3.46
  • WKU 3.42
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Washburn University B+
  • WKU B+
  • Admissions Standards
  • Washburn University Unavailable
  • WKU Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • Washburn University
  • WKU
  • ACT Range
  • Washburn University
  • WKU 16/21
  • SAT Range
  • Washburn University
  • WKU 840/1050
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Washburn University Not reported
  • WKU Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Washburn University
  • WKU Aug 1, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Washburn University 15:1
  • WKU 19:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Washburn University
    • Health Professions (38%)
    • Business (18%)
    • Education (6%)
    • Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
    • Communication (5%)
  • WKU
    • Business (16%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Health Professions (11%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (10%)
    • Social Sciences (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Washburn University 37%
  • WKU 50%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Washburn University $42,300
  • WKU $37,100
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Washburn University 49%
  • WKU 47%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Washburn University $16,900
  • WKU $24,250
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Washburn University $174
  • WKU $250
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Washburn University 35%
  • WKU 38%
  • % Women
  • Washburn University 65%
  • WKU 62%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Washburn University Low
  • WKU Low
  • HBCU
  • Washburn University No
  • WKU No
  • % White
  • Washburn University 64%
  • WKU 76%
  • % Asian
  • Washburn University 1%
  • WKU 1%
  • % Black
  • Washburn University 6%
  • WKU 10%
  • % Hispanic
  • Washburn University 8%
  • WKU 3%
  • % Native American
  • Washburn University 1%
  • WKU 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Washburn University 0%
  • WKU 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Washburn University 4%
  • WKU 3%
  • % International
  • Washburn University 3%
  • WKU 6%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Washburn University 14%
  • WKU 1%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Washburn University 87%
  • WKU 66%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Washburn University 2%
  • WKU 33%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Washburn University Yes
  • WKU Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Washburn University No
  • WKU No
  • Meal Plan
  • Washburn University Yes
  • WKU Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Washburn University Yes
  • WKU No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Washburn University No
  • WKU Yes

Comparable Facts

Compare Washburn University in Topeka, KS with Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, KY on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Western Kentucky University is larger than Washburn University based on total student enrollment (16,291 students vs. 6,033 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Washburn University is located in Topeka, KS (Midsize City setting); Western Kentucky University is in Bowling Green, KY (Small City setting).
  • Washburn University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Western Kentucky University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Washburn University 15:1; Western Kentucky University 19:1.

Washburn University vs. WKU Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Washburn University or WKU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Washburn University than WKU ($11,488 vs. $12,548).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Washburn University are 8.6% lower than at Western Kentucky University ($11,501 vs. $12,582).
  • Western Kentucky University is 17.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than Washburn University (about $1,707 more per year; $11,652.00 vs. $9,945.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 28.9% higher at WKU than at Washburn University (about $6,051 more per year; $27,000.00 vs. $20,949.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Western Kentucky University than at Washburn University (99% vs. 95%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Western Kentucky University students is 11.7% larger than aid received by Washburn University students ($10,921 vs. $9,781).

Washburn University vs. WKU Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Washburn University or WKU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between WKU and Washburn University.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsWestern Kentucky University 840/1050.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsWestern Kentucky University 16/21.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Washburn University - Not reported; WKU - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: WKU Aug 1, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman Washburn University students have a 0.04 point higher average high school GPA (3.46) than students at WKU (3.42).

Washburn University vs. WKU Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Washburn University and WKU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Western Kentucky University's six-year graduation rate (50%) is higher than Washburn University's (37%).
  • Graduates from Washburn University earn a median of about $5,200 more per year than WKU graduates about ten years after starting college ($42,300 vs. $37,100), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Washburn University graduates have a $7,350 lower median loan debt than WKU graduates ($16,900 vs. $24,250).
  • Among borrowers, Washburn University graduates have an estimated $76 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than WKU graduates ($174 vs. $250).
  • More Washburn University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former WKU students, three years after graduation. (49% vs. 47%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.