Washburn University vs. NSU
Deciding between Washburn University and Norfolk State University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Washburn University
Norfolk State University
-
Overview
- Washburn University
- NSU
- Location
-
Washburn University Topeka, KS
-
NSU Norfolk, VA
-
-
- Setting
-
Washburn University Midsize City
-
NSU Midsize City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Washburn University 6,033
-
NSU 6,053
-
-
- Type
-
Washburn University Public 4 Year
-
NSU Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Washburn University
-
NSU #988
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Washburn University -
-
NSU -
-
-
- Status
-
Washburn University Non-profit
-
NSU Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Washburn University washburn.edu
-
NSU nsu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Washburn University
-
NSU
-
-
-
Cost
- Washburn University
- NSU
- Tuition (In State)
-
Washburn University $9,945
-
NSU $10,180
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Washburn University $20,949
-
NSU $21,682
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Washburn University $11,501
-
NSU $11,591
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Washburn University $11,488
-
NSU $9,124
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Washburn University $9,781
-
NSU $15,056
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Washburn University 95%
-
NSU 75%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Washburn University
- NSU
- Applied
-
Washburn University -
-
NSU 11,247
-
-
- Admitted
-
Washburn University -
-
NSU 9,871
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Washburn University
-
NSU 87.8%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Washburn University
-
NSU 13.2%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Washburn University
-
NSU 930
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Washburn University
-
NSU 19
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Washburn University 3.46
-
NSU 2.9
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Washburn University B+
-
NSU B
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Washburn University Unavailable
-
NSU Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Washburn University
-
NSU
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Washburn University
-
NSU 16/22
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Washburn University
-
NSU 823/1030
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Washburn University Not reported
-
NSU Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Washburn University
-
NSU May 31, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- Washburn University
- NSU
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Washburn University 15:1
-
NSU 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Washburn University
- Health Professions (38%)
- Business (18%)
- Education (6%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (6%)
- Communication (5%)
-
NSU
- Health Professions (21%)
- Business (16%)
- Social Sciences (11%)
- General Studies (10%)
- Communication (7%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Washburn University
- NSU
- Graduation Rate
-
Washburn University 37%
-
NSU 33%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Washburn University $42,300
-
NSU $36,700
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Washburn University 49%
-
NSU 27%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Washburn University $16,900
-
NSU $31,000
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Washburn University $174
-
NSU $320
-
-
-
Diversity
- Washburn University
- NSU
- % Men
-
Washburn University 35%
-
NSU 33%
-
-
- % Women
-
Washburn University 65%
-
NSU 67%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Washburn University Low
-
NSU Very Low
-
-
- HBCU
-
Washburn University No
-
NSU Yes
-
-
- % White
-
Washburn University 64%
-
NSU 5%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Washburn University 1%
-
NSU 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Washburn University 6%
-
NSU 84%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Washburn University 8%
-
NSU 3%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Washburn University 1%
-
NSU 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Washburn University 0%
-
NSU 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Washburn University 4%
-
NSU 4%
-
-
- % International
-
Washburn University 3%
-
NSU 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Washburn University 14%
-
NSU 3%
-
-
-
Students
- Washburn University
- NSU
- % In-State
-
Washburn University 87%
-
NSU 65%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Washburn University 2%
-
NSU 2%
-
-
-
Campus
- Washburn University
- NSU
- Campus Housing
-
Washburn University Yes
-
NSU Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Washburn University No
-
NSU No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Washburn University Yes
-
NSU Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Washburn University Yes
-
NSU No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Washburn University No
-
NSU Yes
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Washburn University in Topeka, KS with Norfolk State University in Norfolk, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Norfolk State University is larger than Washburn University based on total student enrollment (6,053 students vs. 6,033 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Washburn University is located in Topeka, KS (Midsize City setting); Norfolk State University is in Norfolk, VA (Midsize City setting).
- Washburn University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Norfolk State University is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Washburn University 15:1; Norfolk State University 15:1.
Washburn University vs. NSU Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Washburn University or NSU? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Norfolk State University than Washburn University ($9,124 vs. $11,488).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Washburn University are 0.8% lower than at Norfolk State University ($11,501 vs. $11,591).
- Norfolk State University is 2.4% more expensive for in-state tuition than Washburn University (about $235 more per year; $10,180.00 vs. $9,945.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 3.5% higher at NSU than at Washburn University (about $733 more per year; $21,682.00 vs. $20,949.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Washburn University than at Norfolk State University (95% vs. 75%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Norfolk State University students is 53.9% larger than aid received by Washburn University students ($15,056 vs. $9,781).
Washburn University vs. NSU Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Washburn University or NSU? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between NSU and Washburn University.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorfolk State University 823/1030.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsNorfolk State University 16/22.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Washburn University - Not reported; NSU - Test optional.
- Typical fall application deadline: NSU May 31, 2027.
- Accepted freshman Washburn University students have a 0.56 point higher average high school GPA (3.46) than students at NSU (2.9).
Washburn University vs. NSU Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Washburn University and NSU? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Washburn University's six-year graduation rate (37%) is higher than Norfolk State University's (33%).
- Graduates from Washburn University earn a median of about $5,600 more per year than NSU graduates about ten years after starting college ($42,300 vs. $36,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Washburn University graduates have a $14,100 lower median loan debt than NSU graduates ($16,900 vs. $31,000).
- Among borrowers, Washburn University graduates have an estimated $146 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than NSU graduates ($174 vs. $320).
- More Washburn University graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former NSU students, three years after graduation. (49% vs. 27%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.