Walsh vs. University of Rio Grande

Deciding between Walsh College and University of Rio Grande? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Walsh Troy, MI
  • University of Rio Grande Rio Grande, OH
  • Setting
  • Walsh Small City
  • University of Rio Grande Distant Rural
  • Total enrollment
  • Walsh 908
  • University of Rio Grande 2,258
  • Type
  • Walsh Private 4 Year
  • University of Rio Grande Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande -
  • Status
  • Walsh Non-profit
  • University of Rio Grande Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Walsh $0
  • University of Rio Grande $20,560
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Walsh $0
  • University of Rio Grande $20,560
  • Room & Board
  • Walsh $0
  • University of Rio Grande $10,500
  • Average Net Price
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande $24,061
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Walsh $0
  • University of Rio Grande $8,910
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Walsh 0%
  • University of Rio Grande 95%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande -
  • Admitted
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande Open
  • Enrolled
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • Typical ACT score
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • Average High School GPA
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande 3.06
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande B
  • Admissions Standards
  • Walsh Unavailable
  • University of Rio Grande Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • ACT Range
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • SAT Range
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Walsh Not reported
  • University of Rio Grande Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Walsh 12:1
  • University of Rio Grande 20:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande
    • Health Professions (37%)
    • Education (12%)
    • Engineering Technology (12%)
    • Business (8%)
    • Human Services (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande 27%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Walsh $57,800
  • University of Rio Grande $33,900
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Walsh 65%
  • University of Rio Grande 35%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Walsh $15,832
  • University of Rio Grande $20,500
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Walsh $163
  • University of Rio Grande $211
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Walsh 48%
  • University of Rio Grande 41%
  • % Women
  • Walsh 52%
  • University of Rio Grande 59%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Walsh Very Low
  • University of Rio Grande Very Low
  • HBCU
  • Walsh No
  • University of Rio Grande No
  • % White
  • Walsh 83%
  • University of Rio Grande 81%
  • % Asian
  • Walsh 3%
  • University of Rio Grande 0%
  • % Black
  • Walsh 6%
  • University of Rio Grande 5%
  • % Hispanic
  • Walsh 2%
  • University of Rio Grande 1%
  • % Native American
  • Walsh 0%
  • University of Rio Grande 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Walsh 0%
  • University of Rio Grande 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Walsh 1%
  • University of Rio Grande 0%
  • % International
  • Walsh 3%
  • University of Rio Grande 2%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Walsh 2%
  • University of Rio Grande 10%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande 75%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Walsh -
  • University of Rio Grande 14%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Walsh No
  • University of Rio Grande Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande No
  • Meal Plan
  • Walsh No
  • University of Rio Grande Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Walsh Yes
  • University of Rio Grande No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Walsh
  • University of Rio Grande Yes

Comparable Facts

Compare Walsh College in Troy, MI with University of Rio Grande in Rio Grande, OH on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Rio Grande is larger than Walsh based on total student enrollment (2,258 students vs. 908 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Walsh College is located in Troy, MI (Small City setting); University of Rio Grande is in Rio Grande, OH (Distant Rural setting).
  • Walsh College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. University of Rio Grande is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Walsh College 12:1; University of Rio Grande 20:1.

Walsh vs. University of Rio Grande Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Walsh or University of Rio Grande? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between University of Rio Grande and Walsh ($20,560.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between University of Rio Grande and Walsh College ($20,560.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at University of Rio Grande than at Walsh College (95% vs. 0%).

Walsh vs. University of Rio Grande Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Walsh or University of Rio Grande? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between University of Rio Grande and Walsh.

  • University of Rio Grande reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Walsh - Not reported; University of Rio Grande - Open admission.

Walsh vs. University of Rio Grande Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Walsh and University of Rio Grande? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Walsh College earn a median of about $23,900 more per year than University of Rio Grande graduates about ten years after starting college ($57,800 vs. $33,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Walsh College graduates have a $4,668 lower median loan debt than University of Rio Grande graduates ($15,832 vs. $20,500).
  • Among borrowers, Walsh graduates have an estimated $48 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than University of Rio Grande graduates ($163 vs. $211).
  • More Walsh graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former University of Rio Grande students, three years after graduation. (65% vs. 35%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.