Walsh vs. MIAD

Deciding between Walsh College and Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Walsh Troy, MI
  • MIAD Milwaukee, WI
  • Setting
  • Walsh Small City
  • MIAD Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Walsh 908
  • MIAD 838
  • Type
  • Walsh Private 4 Year
  • MIAD Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Walsh
  • MIAD
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD -
  • Status
  • Walsh Non-profit
  • MIAD Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Walsh
  • MIAD
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Walsh $0
  • MIAD $43,743
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Walsh $0
  • MIAD $43,743
  • Room & Board
  • Walsh $0
  • MIAD $10,955
  • Average Net Price
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD $27,579
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Walsh $0
  • MIAD $26,015
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Walsh 0%
  • MIAD 100%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD 1,039
  • Admitted
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD 629
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Walsh
  • MIAD 60.5%
  • Enrolled
  • Walsh
  • MIAD 33.2%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Walsh
  • MIAD 1040
  • Typical ACT score
  • Walsh
  • MIAD 24
  • Average High School GPA
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD 3.08
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD B
  • Admissions Standards
  • Walsh Unavailable
  • MIAD Moderate
  • Applicant Competition
  • Walsh
  • MIAD Low
  • ACT Range
  • Walsh
  • MIAD 20/28
  • SAT Range
  • Walsh
  • MIAD 940/1140
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Walsh Not reported
  • MIAD Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Walsh
  • MIAD Aug 31, 2027
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Walsh 12:1
  • MIAD 11:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Walsh
  • MIAD
    • Visual and Performing Arts (87%)
    • Communications Technology (7%)
    • Architecture (6%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD 57%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Walsh $57,800
  • MIAD $36,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Walsh 65%
  • MIAD 59%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Walsh $15,832
  • MIAD $27,000
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Walsh $163
  • MIAD $279
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Walsh 48%
  • MIAD 19%
  • % Women
  • Walsh 52%
  • MIAD 81%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Walsh Very Low
  • MIAD Medium
  • HBCU
  • Walsh No
  • MIAD No
  • % White
  • Walsh 83%
  • MIAD 68%
  • % Asian
  • Walsh 3%
  • MIAD 4%
  • % Black
  • Walsh 6%
  • MIAD 8%
  • % Hispanic
  • Walsh 2%
  • MIAD 13%
  • % Native American
  • Walsh 0%
  • MIAD 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Walsh 0%
  • MIAD 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Walsh 1%
  • MIAD 5%
  • % International
  • Walsh 3%
  • MIAD 1%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Walsh 2%
  • MIAD 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD 61%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Walsh -
  • MIAD 37%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Walsh No
  • MIAD Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Walsh
  • MIAD No
  • Meal Plan
  • Walsh No
  • MIAD Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Walsh Yes
  • MIAD No
  • Daycare Facility
  • Walsh
  • MIAD No

Comparable Facts

Compare Walsh College in Troy, MI with Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design in Milwaukee, WI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Walsh College is larger than MIAD based on total student enrollment (908 students vs. 838 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Walsh College is located in Troy, MI (Small City setting); Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is in Milwaukee, WI (Large City setting).
  • Walsh College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Walsh College 12:1; Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design 11:1.

Walsh vs. MIAD Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Walsh or MIAD? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design and Walsh ($43,743.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between MIAD and Walsh College ($43,743.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design than at Walsh College (100% vs. 0%).

Walsh vs. MIAD Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Walsh or MIAD? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between MIAD and Walsh.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsMilwaukee Institute of Art & Design 940/1140.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsMilwaukee Institute of Art & Design 20/28.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Walsh - Not reported; MIAD - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: MIAD Aug 31, 2027.

Walsh vs. MIAD Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Walsh and MIAD? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Walsh College earn a median of about $21,800 more per year than MIAD graduates about ten years after starting college ($57,800 vs. $36,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Walsh College graduates have a $11,168 lower median loan debt than MIAD graduates ($15,832 vs. $27,000).
  • Among borrowers, Walsh graduates have an estimated $116 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than MIAD graduates ($163 vs. $279).
  • More Walsh graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former MIAD students, three years after graduation. (65% vs. 59%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.