Voorhees University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
Deciding between Voorhees University and Johnson & Wales University Charlotte? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
Voorhees University
Johnson & Wales University Charlotte
-
Overview
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Location
-
Voorhees University Denmark, SC
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Charlotte, NC
-
-
- Setting
-
Voorhees University Rural Fringe
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Large City
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
Voorhees University 578
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1,184
-
-
- Type
-
Voorhees University Private 4 Year
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Private 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte #806
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
Voorhees University Protestant Episcopal
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte -
-
-
- Status
-
Voorhees University Non-profit
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
Voorhees University voorhees.edu
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte jwu.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
-
-
-
Cost
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Tuition (In State)
-
Voorhees University $12,630
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $42,419
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
Voorhees University $12,630
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $42,419
-
-
- Room & Board
-
Voorhees University $7,345
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $14,800
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
Voorhees University $13,307
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $28,084
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
Voorhees University $12,239
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $30,033
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
Voorhees University 91%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 100%
-
-
-
Admissions
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Applied
-
Voorhees University -
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 4,105
-
-
- Admitted
-
Voorhees University -
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 3,279
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 79.9%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 13.7%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1010
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 19
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
Voorhees University 2.0
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte -
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
Voorhees University C
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte -
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
Voorhees University Unavailable
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
-
-
- ACT Range
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 16/23
-
-
- SAT Range
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 880/1130
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
Voorhees University Not reported
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
Voorhees University
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
-
-
-
Academics
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
Voorhees University 13:1
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 14:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
Voorhees University
- Business (47%)
- Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting (22%)
- Biology (10%)
- Social Sciences (10%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (6%)
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Personal and Culinary Services (59%)
- Work and Family Studies (20%)
- Business (17%)
- Recreation, Leisure and Fitness Studies (4%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Graduation Rate
-
Voorhees University 34%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 49%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
Voorhees University $26,700
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $40,100
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
Voorhees University 15%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 66%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
Voorhees University $32,301
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $26,900
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
Voorhees University $333
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte $278
-
-
-
Diversity
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- % Men
-
Voorhees University 45%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 35%
-
-
- % Women
-
Voorhees University 55%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 65%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
Voorhees University Extremely Low
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte High
-
-
- HBCU
-
Voorhees University Yes
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
- % White
-
Voorhees University 1%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 43%
-
-
- % Asian
-
Voorhees University 0%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1%
-
-
- % Black
-
Voorhees University 94%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 37%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
Voorhees University 2%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 6%
-
-
- % Native American
-
Voorhees University 0%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
Voorhees University 0%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
Voorhees University 0%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 7%
-
-
- % International
-
Voorhees University 1%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 1%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
Voorhees University 1%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 5%
-
-
-
Students
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- % In-State
-
Voorhees University 39%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 34%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
Voorhees University 61%
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte 66%
-
-
-
Campus
- Voorhees University
- Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte
- Campus Housing
-
Voorhees University Yes
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
Voorhees University Yes
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
Voorhees University Yes
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
Voorhees University Yes
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
Voorhees University No
-
Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte No
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare Voorhees University in Denmark, SC with Johnson & Wales University Charlotte in Charlotte, NC on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
Johnson & Wales University Charlotte is larger than Voorhees University based on total student enrollment (1,184 students vs. 578 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- Voorhees University is located in Denmark, SC (Rural Fringe setting); Johnson & Wales University Charlotte is in Charlotte, NC (Large City setting).
- Voorhees University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Johnson & Wales University Charlotte is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: Voorhees University 13:1; Johnson & Wales University Charlotte 14:1.
Voorhees University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, Voorhees University or Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at Voorhees University than Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte ($13,307 vs. $28,084).
- Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Voorhees University are 50.4% lower than at Johnson & Wales University Charlotte ($7,345 vs. $14,800).
- Johnson & Wales University Charlotte is 235.9% more expensive for in-state tuition than Voorhees University (about $29,789 more per year; $42,419.00 vs. $12,630.00).
- Out-of-state tuition is 235.9% higher at Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte than at Voorhees University (about $29,789 more per year; $42,419.00 vs. $12,630.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Johnson & Wales University Charlotte than at Voorhees University (100% vs. 91%).
- The average total grant financial aid received by Johnson & Wales University Charlotte students is 145.4% larger than aid received by Voorhees University students ($30,033 vs. $12,239).
Voorhees University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, Voorhees University or Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte and Voorhees University.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsJohnson & Wales University Charlotte 880/1130.
- Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsJohnson & Wales University Charlotte 16/23.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Voorhees University - Not reported; Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte - Test optional.
Voorhees University vs. Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for Voorhees University and Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Johnson & Wales University Charlotte's six-year graduation rate (49%) is higher than Voorhees University's (34%).
- Graduates from Johnson & Wales University Charlotte earn a median of about $13,400 more per year than Voorhees University graduates about ten years after starting college ($40,100 vs. $26,700), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, Johnson & Wales University Charlotte graduates have a $5,401 lower median loan debt than Voorhees University graduates ($26,900 vs. $32,301).
- Among borrowers, Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte graduates have an estimated $55 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Voorhees University graduates ($278 vs. $333).
- More Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Voorhees University students, three years after graduation. (66% vs. 15%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.