University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. RIC
Deciding between University of Maryland, Baltimore and Rhode Island College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.
University of Maryland, Baltimore
Rhode Island College
-
Overview
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- Location
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Baltimore, MD
-
RIC Providence, RI
-
-
- Setting
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Large City
-
RIC Large Suburban
-
-
- Total enrollment
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 6,636
-
RIC 6,155
-
-
- Type
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Public 4 Year
-
RIC Public 4 Year
-
-
- National Ranking
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC #843
-
-
- Religious Affiliation
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC -
-
-
- Status
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Non-profit
-
RIC Non-profit
-
-
- Website
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore umaryland.edu
-
RIC ric.edu
-
-
- Team Colors
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC
-
-
-
Cost
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- Tuition (In State)
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
-
RIC $11,300
-
-
- Tuition (Out of State)
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
-
RIC $27,299
-
-
- Room & Board
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
-
RIC $13,414
-
-
- Average Net Price
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC $10,346
-
-
- Average Grant Aid
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
-
RIC $6,706
-
-
- % Receiving Grant Aid
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
-
RIC 95%
-
-
-
Admissions
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- Applied
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC 5,415
-
-
- Admitted
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC 4,972
-
-
- Acceptance Rate
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC 91.8%
-
-
- Enrolled
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC 23.1%
-
-
- Typical SAT score
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC 1000
-
-
- Typical ACT score
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC
-
-
- Average High School GPA
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC 3.08
-
-
- Typical High School Grades
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC B
-
-
- Admissions Standards
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Unavailable
-
RIC Extremely Easy
-
-
- Applicant Competition
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC
-
-
- ACT Range
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC
-
-
- SAT Range
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC 870/1120
-
-
- Submit Test Scores
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Not reported
-
RIC Test optional
-
-
- Application Deadline
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC Mar 15, 2027
-
-
-
Academics
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- Student to Faculty Ratio
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1
-
RIC 15:1
-
-
- Popular Majors
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC
- Education (21%)
- Business (17%)
- Psychology (12%)
- Health Professions (11%)
- Visual and Performing Arts (8%)
-
-
-
Outcomes
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- Graduation Rate
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC 44%
-
-
- Median Earnings (After 10 years)
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore $102,900
-
RIC $42,000
-
-
- Making Student Loan Payments
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 85%
-
RIC 59%
-
-
- Median Student Loan Debt
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore $15,000
-
RIC $21,200
-
-
- Median Loan Payment
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore $155
-
RIC $219
-
-
-
Diversity
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- % Men
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 28%
-
RIC 30%
-
-
- % Women
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 72%
-
RIC 70%
-
-
- Racial Diversity
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore High
-
RIC Medium
-
-
- HBCU
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore No
-
RIC No
-
-
- % White
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 56%
-
RIC 62%
-
-
- % Asian
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 13%
-
RIC 3%
-
-
- % Black
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 19%
-
RIC 8%
-
-
- % Hispanic
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 5%
-
RIC 16%
-
-
- % Native American
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
-
RIC 0%
-
-
- % Pacific Islander
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
-
RIC 0%
-
-
- % Two or More Races
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 3%
-
RIC 2%
-
-
- % International
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
-
RIC 0%
-
-
- % Unknown Race
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
-
RIC 8%
-
-
-
Students
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- % In-State
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC 87%
-
-
- % Out-of-State
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore -
-
RIC 13%
-
-
-
Campus
- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- RIC
- Campus Housing
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
-
RIC Yes
-
-
- Freshman Dorm Required
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC No
-
-
- Meal Plan
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore No
-
RIC Yes
-
-
- Weekend/Evening Classes
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
-
RIC Yes
-
-
- Daycare Facility
-
University of Maryland, Baltimore
-
RIC Yes
-
-
Comparable Facts
Compare University of Maryland, Baltimore in Baltimore, MD with Rhode Island College in Providence, RI on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.
University of Maryland, Baltimore is larger than RIC based on total student enrollment (6,636 students vs. 6,155 students)
Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio
- University of Maryland, Baltimore is located in Baltimore, MD (Large City setting); Rhode Island College is in Providence, RI (Large Suburban setting).
- University of Maryland, Baltimore is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Rhode Island College is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
- Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1; Rhode Island College 15:1.
University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. RIC Cost Comparison
Which college is more expensive, University of Maryland, Baltimore or RIC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).
- In-state tuition differs between Rhode Island College and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($11,300.00 vs. $0.00).
- Out-of-state tuition differs between RIC and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($27,299.00 vs. $0.00).
- A larger share of students receive grant aid at Rhode Island College than at University of Maryland, Baltimore (95% vs. 0%).
University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. RIC Admissions comparison
Which college is harder to get into, University of Maryland, Baltimore or RIC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between RIC and University of Maryland, Baltimore.
- Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsRhode Island College 870/1120.
- Submitting SAT or ACT scores: University of Maryland, Baltimore - Not reported; RIC - Test optional.
- Typical fall application deadline: RIC Mar 15, 2027.
University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. RIC Graduation Outcomes Comparison
How do outcomes compare for University of Maryland, Baltimore and RIC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).
- Graduates from University of Maryland, Baltimore earn a median of about $60,900 more per year than RIC graduates about ten years after starting college ($102,900 vs. $42,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
- Among federal student loan borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have a $6,200 lower median loan debt than RIC graduates ($15,000 vs. $21,200).
- Among borrowers, University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates have an estimated $64 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than RIC graduates ($155 vs. $219).
- More University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former RIC students, three years after graduation. (85% vs. 59%)
Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.