University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. City Tech

Deciding between University of Maryland, Baltimore and CUNY New York City College of Technology? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

CUNY New York City College of Technology

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Baltimore, MD
  • City Tech Brooklyn, NY
  • Setting
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Large City
  • City Tech Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 6,636
  • City Tech 14,486
  • Type
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Public 4 Year
  • City Tech Public 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech #797
  • Religious Affiliation
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech -
  • Status
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Non-profit
  • City Tech Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • City Tech $7,332
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • City Tech $15,282
  • Room & Board
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • City Tech $22,260
  • Average Net Price
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech $5,794
  • Average Grant Aid
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • City Tech $8,206
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • City Tech 85%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech 24,745
  • Admitted
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech 19,867
  • Acceptance Rate
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech 80.3%
  • Enrolled
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech 18.2%
  • Typical SAT score
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech 1020
  • Typical ACT score
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech
  • Average High School GPA
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech -
  • Admissions Standards
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Unavailable
  • City Tech Extremely Easy
  • Applicant Competition
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech
  • ACT Range
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech
  • SAT Range
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech 900/1140
  • Submit Test Scores
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Not reported
  • City Tech Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech Sep 1, 2026
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1
  • City Tech 16:1
  • Popular Majors
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech
    • Health Professions (20%)
    • Engineering Technology (18%)
    • Business (16%)
    • Computer and Information Sciences (9%)
    • Visual and Performing Arts (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech 24%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $102,900
  • City Tech $43,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 85%
  • City Tech 47%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $15,000
  • City Tech $10,613
  • Median Loan Payment
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $155
  • City Tech $109
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 28%
  • City Tech 53%
  • % Women
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 72%
  • City Tech 47%
  • Racial Diversity
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore High
  • City Tech Very High
  • HBCU
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • City Tech No
  • % White
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 56%
  • City Tech 12%
  • % Asian
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 13%
  • City Tech 20%
  • % Black
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 19%
  • City Tech 29%
  • % Hispanic
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5%
  • City Tech 32%
  • % Native American
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • City Tech 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • City Tech 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 3%
  • City Tech 1%
  • % International
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • City Tech 5%
  • % Unknown Race
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • City Tech 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech 88%
  • % Out-of-State
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • City Tech 0%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • City Tech No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech No
  • Meal Plan
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • City Tech No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • City Tech Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • City Tech Yes
  • Learn More
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Details
  • City Tech Details

Comparable Facts

Compare University of Maryland, Baltimore in Baltimore, MD with CUNY New York City College of Technology in Brooklyn, NY on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

CUNY New York City College of Technology is larger than University of Maryland, Baltimore based on total student enrollment (14,486 students vs. 6,636 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • University of Maryland, Baltimore is located in Baltimore, MD (Large City setting); CUNY New York City College of Technology is in Brooklyn, NY (Large City setting).
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. CUNY New York City College of Technology is a public, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1; CUNY New York City College of Technology 16:1.

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. City Tech Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, University of Maryland, Baltimore or City Tech? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between CUNY New York City College of Technology and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($7,332.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between City Tech and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($15,282.00 vs. $0.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at CUNY New York City College of Technology than at University of Maryland, Baltimore (85% vs. 0%).

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. City Tech Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, University of Maryland, Baltimore or City Tech? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between City Tech and University of Maryland, Baltimore.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) among enrolled freshmen who submitted scoresCUNY New York City College of Technology 900/1140.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: University of Maryland, Baltimore - Not reported; City Tech - Test optional.
  • Typical fall application deadline: City Tech Sep 1, 2026.

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. City Tech Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for University of Maryland, Baltimore and City Tech? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • CUNY New York City College of Technology's six-year graduation rate is 24%. Comparable graduation rate data is not available for University of Maryland, Baltimore.
  • Graduates from University of Maryland, Baltimore earn a median of about $59,900 more per year than City Tech graduates about ten years after starting college ($102,900 vs. $43,000), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, CUNY New York City College of Technology graduates have a $4,387 lower median loan debt than University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates ($10,613 vs. $15,000).
  • Among borrowers, City Tech graduates have an estimated $46 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates ($109 vs. $155).
  • More University of Maryland, Baltimore graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former City Tech students, three years after graduation. (85% vs. 47%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.