University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. Ascent College

Deciding between University of Maryland, Baltimore and Ascent College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Baltimore, MD
  • Ascent College Gainesville, VA
  • Setting
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Large City
  • Ascent College Midsize City
  • Total enrollment
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 6,636
  • Ascent College 83
  • Type
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Public 4 Year
  • Ascent College Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • Religious Affiliation
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College Assemblies of God Church
  • Status
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Non-profit
  • Ascent College Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Ascent College $8,550
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Ascent College $8,550
  • Room & Board
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Ascent College $11,960
  • Average Net Price
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College -
  • Average Grant Aid
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $0
  • Ascent College $0
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • Ascent College 0%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College -
  • Admitted
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College Open
  • Enrolled
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College Open
  • Typical SAT score
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • Typical ACT score
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • Average High School GPA
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College -
  • Typical High School Grades
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College -
  • Admissions Standards
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Unavailable
  • Ascent College Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • ACT Range
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • SAT Range
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • Submit Test Scores
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Not reported
  • Ascent College Open admission
  • Application Deadline
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1
  • Ascent College 8:1
  • Popular Majors
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College
    • Theology and Religious Vvocations (100%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College -
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $102,900
  • Ascent College N/A
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 85%
  • Ascent College -
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $15,000
  • Ascent College N/A
  • Median Loan Payment
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore $155
  • Ascent College N/A
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 28%
  • Ascent College 43%
  • % Women
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 72%
  • Ascent College 57%
  • Racial Diversity
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore High
  • Ascent College Very High
  • HBCU
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • Ascent College No
  • % White
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 56%
  • Ascent College 36%
  • % Asian
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 13%
  • Ascent College 3%
  • % Black
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 19%
  • Ascent College 45%
  • % Hispanic
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 5%
  • Ascent College 16%
  • % Native American
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • Ascent College 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 0%
  • Ascent College 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 3%
  • Ascent College 0%
  • % International
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • Ascent College 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore 2%
  • Ascent College 0%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College 67%
  • % Out-of-State
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore -
  • Ascent College 33%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Ascent College No
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College No
  • Meal Plan
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore No
  • Ascent College No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Yes
  • Ascent College Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Ascent College No
  • Learn More
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore Details
  • Ascent College Details

Comparable Facts

Compare University of Maryland, Baltimore in Baltimore, MD with Ascent College in Gainesville, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

University of Maryland, Baltimore is larger than Ascent College based on total student enrollment (6,636 students vs. 83 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • University of Maryland, Baltimore is located in Baltimore, MD (Large City setting); Ascent College is in Gainesville, VA (Midsize City setting).
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Ascent College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Maryland, Baltimore 5:1; Ascent College 8:1.

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. Ascent College Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, University of Maryland, Baltimore or Ascent College? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • In-state tuition differs between Ascent College and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($8,550.00 vs. $0.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition differs between Ascent College and University of Maryland, Baltimore ($8,550.00 vs. $0.00).
  • The same share of students receive grant aid at University of Maryland, Baltimore as at Ascent College (0% vs. 0%).

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. Ascent College Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, University of Maryland, Baltimore or Ascent College? Typical SAT and ACT scores (midpoint estimates from the mid-50% ranges in the table above), enrolled-tester score ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Ascent College and University of Maryland, Baltimore.

  • Ascent College reports an open admissions policy.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: University of Maryland, Baltimore - Not reported; Ascent College - Open admission.

University of Maryland, Baltimore vs. Ascent College Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for University of Maryland, Baltimore and Ascent College? Where federal data is available for both schools, the bullets below compare graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt using the same College Scorecard / IPEDS fields as the comparison table. If a metric is missing for one school, that school is noted separately.

  • Graduates from University of Maryland, Baltimore have median earnings of about $102,900 about ten years after starting college (College Scorecard). Comparable earnings data is not available for Ascent College.

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.