Illinois vs. Principia College

University of Illinois Urbana Champaign and Principia College side by side on admissions, cost, and outcomes, from public data.

University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Principia College

At a glance

  • Cheaper after aid: Illinois. Average net price is $13,973 vs $18,248 at Principia College.
See your own chances ->
Acceptance rate
Illinois more selective
Illinois42.4%
Principia College-
SAT range (middle 50%)
Illinois higher
Illinois1310-1520
Principia College1040-1250
Average net price
Illinois $4,275 less
Illinois$13,973
Principia College$18,248
In-state tuition
Illinois $18,676 less
Illinois$16,004
Principia College$34,680
Out-of-state tuition
Principia College $444 less
Illinois$35,124
Principia College$34,680
Graduation rate
Illinois +82 pts
Illinois82%
Principia College-
Median earnings (10 years)
Illinois +$66,500
Illinois$66,500
Principia College-

Sources: IPEDS and College Scorecard.

Admission calculator

Partner

Not sure you'd get in? Check your chances at Illinois and Principia College with Appily's free admission calculator.

  • Applied
  • Illinois 73,742
  • Principia College -
  • Admitted
  • Illinois 31,247
  • Principia College -
  • Acceptance rate
  • Illinois 42.4%
  • Principia College
  • Yield (share of admitted who enroll)
  • Illinois 28.8%
  • Principia College
  • Typical SAT score
  • Illinois 1420
  • Principia College 1150
  • Typical ACT score
  • Illinois 32
  • Principia College 21
  • Average high school GPA
  • Illinois 3.79
  • Principia College 3.34
  • Typical high school grades
  • Illinois A-
  • Principia College B+
  • Admissions standards
  • Illinois Exceptional
  • Principia College Easy
  • Applicant competition
  • Illinois Low
  • Principia College
  • SAT range
  • Illinois 1310-1520
  • Principia College 1040-1250
  • ACT range
  • Illinois 30-34
  • Principia College 19-23
  • Submit test scores
  • Illinois Test optional
  • Principia College Not reported
  • Application deadline
  • Illinois Jan 5, 2027
  • Principia College
  • Tuition (in state)
  • Illinois $16,004
  • Principia College $34,680
  • Tuition (out of state)
  • Illinois $35,124
  • Principia College $34,680
  • Room & board
  • Illinois $14,522
  • Principia College $13,910
  • Average net price
  • Illinois $13,973
  • Principia College $18,248
  • Average grant aid
  • Illinois $19,299
  • Principia College $30,402
  • % receiving grant aid
  • Illinois 52%
  • Principia College 90%
  • Graduation rate
  • Illinois 82%
  • Principia College -
  • Median earnings (after 10 years)
  • Illinois $66,500
  • Principia College N/A
  • Making student loan payments
  • Illinois 78%
  • Principia College -
  • Median student loan debt
  • Illinois $20,500
  • Principia College N/A
  • Median loan payment
  • Illinois $211
  • Principia College N/A
  • Student to faculty ratio
  • Illinois 20:1
  • Principia College 6:1
  • Popular majors
  • Illinois
    • Engineering (16%)
    • Business (13%)
    • Social Sciences (10%)
    • Communication (8%)
    • Psychology (7%)
  • Principia College
  • Location
  • Illinois Champaign, IL
  • Principia College Elsah, Illinois
  • Setting
  • Illinois Small City
  • Principia College Rural Fringe
  • Total enrollment
  • Illinois 59,238
  • Principia College 339
  • Type
  • Illinois Public 4 Year
  • Principia College Private 4 Year
  • National ranking
  • Illinois #117
  • Principia College

Comparable Facts

Compare University of Illinois Urbana Champaign in Champaign, IL with Principia College in Elsah, Illinois on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the tables above.

University of Illinois Urbana Champaign is larger than Principia College based on total student enrollment (59,238 students vs. 339 students).

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • University of Illinois Urbana Champaign is located in Champaign, IL (Small City setting); Principia College is in Elsah, Illinois (Rural Fringe setting).
  • University of Illinois Urbana Champaign is a public, non-profit 4-year institution. Principia College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: University of Illinois Urbana Champaign 20:1; Principia College 6:1.

Cost details

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Principia College are 4.2% lower than at University of Illinois Urbana Champaign ($13,910 vs. $14,522).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 1.3% higher at Illinois than at Principia College (about $444 more per year; $35,124 vs. $34,680).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Principia College than at University of Illinois Urbana Champaign (90% vs. 52%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by Principia College students is 57.5% larger than aid received by University of Illinois Urbana Champaign students ($30,402 vs. $19,299).

Admissions details

  • Typical ACT composite is 11 points higher at Illinois than at Principia College (32 vs. 21, midpoint estimate).
  • SAT or ACT scores are test optional at Illinois, not reported at Principia College.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Illinois Jan 5, 2027.
  • Enrolled first-year students at Illinois average a 3.79 high school GPA, 0.45 higher than at Principia College (3.34).

Loans and repayment

Sources: U.S. Department of Education, IPEDS and College Scorecard. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.

Change schools

You can add up to two more colleges. Each one gets its own column.

University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Principia College
Add a college Compare up to 4

Frequently compared to these colleges