Tuskegee University vs. SFC

Deciding between Tuskegee University and St. Francis College? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Tuskegee University
St. Francis College

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Tuskegee University Tuskegee, AL
  • SFC Brooklyn, NY
  • Setting
  • Tuskegee University Distant Town
  • SFC Large City
  • Total enrollment
  • Tuskegee University 3,121
  • SFC 4,567
  • Type
  • Tuskegee University Private 4 Year
  • SFC Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Tuskegee University #649
  • SFC #1035
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Tuskegee University -
  • SFC -
  • Status
  • Tuskegee University Non-profit
  • SFC Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Tuskegee University
  • SFC
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Tuskegee University $25,386
  • SFC $28,775
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Tuskegee University $25,386
  • SFC $28,775
  • Room & Board
  • Tuskegee University $9,980
  • SFC $18,000
  • Average Net Price
  • Tuskegee University $24,344
  • SFC $17,698
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Tuskegee University $19,910
  • SFC $20,003
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Tuskegee University 71%
  • SFC 97%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Tuskegee University 11,632
  • SFC -
  • Admitted
  • Tuskegee University 5,663
  • SFC -
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Tuskegee University 48.7%
  • SFC
  • Enrolled
  • Tuskegee University 13.9%
  • SFC
  • Typical SAT score
  • Tuskegee University 1130
  • SFC 1120
  • Typical ACT score
  • Tuskegee University 22
  • SFC 24
  • Average High School GPA
  • Tuskegee University 3.1
  • SFC 2.9
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Tuskegee University B
  • SFC B
  • Admissions Standards
  • Tuskegee University Moderate
  • SFC Moderate
  • Applicant Competition
  • Tuskegee University Low
  • SFC
  • ACT Range
  • Tuskegee University 18/26
  • SFC 22/26
  • SAT Range
  • Tuskegee University 995/1255
  • SFC 990/1240
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Tuskegee University Test optional
  • SFC Not reported
  • Application Deadline
  • Tuskegee University Apr 15, 2027
  • SFC
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Tuskegee University 14:1
  • SFC 15:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Tuskegee University
    • Business (24%)
    • Engineering (16%)
    • Agriculture (11%)
    • Biology (11%)
    • Psychology (8%)
  • SFC
    • Business (23%)
    • Education (14%)
    • Communication (12%)
    • Health Professions (9%)
    • Liberal Arts and Humanities (8%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Tuskegee University 43%
  • SFC 50%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Tuskegee University $40,900
  • SFC $50,000
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Tuskegee University 46%
  • SFC 53%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Tuskegee University $32,122
  • SFC $24,425
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Tuskegee University $332
  • SFC $252
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Tuskegee University 36%
  • SFC 56%
  • % Women
  • Tuskegee University 64%
  • SFC 44%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Tuskegee University Extremely Low
  • SFC Very High
  • HBCU
  • Tuskegee University Yes
  • SFC No
  • % White
  • Tuskegee University 0%
  • SFC 40%
  • % Asian
  • Tuskegee University 1%
  • SFC 4%
  • % Black
  • Tuskegee University 90%
  • SFC 19%
  • % Hispanic
  • Tuskegee University 0%
  • SFC 20%
  • % Native American
  • Tuskegee University 0%
  • SFC 0%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Tuskegee University 0%
  • SFC 1%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Tuskegee University 0%
  • SFC 2%
  • % International
  • Tuskegee University 0%
  • SFC 4%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Tuskegee University 8%
  • SFC 9%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Tuskegee University 21%
  • SFC 88%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Tuskegee University 79%
  • SFC 6%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Tuskegee University Yes
  • SFC Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Tuskegee University Yes
  • SFC No
  • Meal Plan
  • Tuskegee University Yes
  • SFC No
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Tuskegee University No
  • SFC Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Tuskegee University No
  • SFC No

Comparable Facts

Compare Tuskegee University in Tuskegee, AL with St. Francis College in Brooklyn, NY on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

St. Francis College is larger than Tuskegee University based on total student enrollment (4,567 students vs. 3,121 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Tuskegee University is located in Tuskegee, AL (Distant Town setting); St. Francis College is in Brooklyn, NY (Large City setting).
  • Tuskegee University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. St. Francis College is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Tuskegee University 14:1; St. Francis College 15:1.

Tuskegee University vs. SFC Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Tuskegee University or SFC? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • The typical actual cost that students pay to attend (average net price) is less at St. Francis College than Tuskegee University ($17,698 vs. $24,344).
  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Tuskegee University are 44.6% lower than at St. Francis College ($9,980 vs. $18,000).
  • St. Francis College is 13.3% more expensive for in-state tuition than Tuskegee University (about $3,389 more per year; $28,775.00 vs. $25,386.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 13.3% higher at SFC than at Tuskegee University (about $3,389 more per year; $28,775.00 vs. $25,386.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at St. Francis College than at Tuskegee University (97% vs. 71%).
  • The average total grant financial aid received by St. Francis College students is 0.5% larger than aid received by Tuskegee University students ($20,003 vs. $19,910).

Tuskegee University vs. SFC Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Tuskegee University or SFC? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between SFC and Tuskegee University.

  • The typical SAT score (median estimate) at Tuskegee University (1130) is 10 points higher than at SFC (1120).
  • Incoming SFC students have a 2 point higher typical ACT composite (median estimate) (24 vs. 22 at Tuskegee University).
  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Tuskegee University 995/1255; St. Francis College 990/1240.
  • Reported middle 50% ACT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted students: Tuskegee University 18/26; St. Francis College 22/26.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Tuskegee University - Test optional; SFC - Not reported.
  • Typical fall application deadline: Tuskegee University Apr 15, 2027.
  • Accepted freshman Tuskegee University students have a 0.2 point higher average high school GPA (3.1) than students at SFC (2.9).

Tuskegee University vs. SFC Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Tuskegee University and SFC? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • St. Francis College's six-year graduation rate (50%) is higher than Tuskegee University's (43%).
  • Graduates from St. Francis College earn a median of about $9,100 more per year than Tuskegee University graduates about ten years after starting college ($50,000 vs. $40,900), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, St. Francis College graduates have a $7,697 lower median loan debt than Tuskegee University graduates ($24,425 vs. $32,122).
  • Among borrowers, SFC graduates have an estimated $80 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Tuskegee University graduates ($252 vs. $332).
  • More SFC graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Tuskegee University students, three years after graduation. (53% vs. 46%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.