Trinity College vs. Virginia Union University

Deciding between Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences and Virginia Union University? The table below shows tuition, aid, admissions, and outcomes side by side. Data comes from public sources across more than 3,000 U.S. colleges and universities. No account is required.

Virginia Union University

Frequently compared to these colleges. Click a college to add to the comparison. 

  • Overview

  • Location
  • Trinity College Rock Island, IL
  • Virginia Union University Richmond, VA
  • Setting
  • Trinity College Small City
  • Virginia Union University Midsize City
  • Total enrollment
  • Trinity College 65
  • Virginia Union University 1,646
  • Type
  • Trinity College Private 4 Year
  • Virginia Union University Private 4 Year
  • National Ranking
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University #1021
  • Religious Affiliation
  • Trinity College -
  • Virginia Union University Baptist
  • Status
  • Trinity College Non-profit
  • Virginia Union University Non-profit
  • Team Colors
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University
  • Cost

  • Tuition (In State)
  • Trinity College $24,989
  • Virginia Union University $17,450
  • Tuition (Out of State)
  • Trinity College $24,989
  • Virginia Union University $17,450
  • Room & Board
  • Trinity College $8,256
  • Virginia Union University $11,016
  • Average Net Price
  • Trinity College -
  • Virginia Union University $11,483
  • Average Grant Aid
  • Trinity College $0
  • Virginia Union University $17,524
  • % Receiving Grant Aid
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Virginia Union University 88%
  • Admissions

  • Applied
  • Trinity College -
  • Virginia Union University 2,835
  • Admitted
  • Trinity College -
  • Virginia Union University 2,778
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University 98%
  • Enrolled
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University 14.3%
  • Typical SAT score
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University 870
  • Typical ACT score
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University
  • Average High School GPA
  • Trinity College 3.42
  • Virginia Union University 2.71
  • Typical High School Grades
  • Trinity College B+
  • Virginia Union University B-
  • Admissions Standards
  • Trinity College Unavailable
  • Virginia Union University Unavailable
  • Applicant Competition
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University
  • ACT Range
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University
  • SAT Range
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University 850/885
  • Submit Test Scores
  • Trinity College Not reported
  • Virginia Union University Test optional
  • Application Deadline
  • Trinity College
  • Virginia Union University
  • Academics

  • Student to Faculty Ratio
  • Trinity College 3:1
  • Virginia Union University 16:1
  • Popular Majors
  • Trinity College
    • Health Professions (100%)
  • Virginia Union University
    • Social Sciences (35%)
    • Business (20%)
    • Communication (9%)
    • Psychology (7%)
    • Human Services (7%)
  • Outcomes

  • Graduation Rate
  • Trinity College -
  • Virginia Union University 29%
  • Median Earnings (After 10 years)
  • Trinity College $47,300
  • Virginia Union University $33,300
  • Making Student Loan Payments
  • Trinity College 78%
  • Virginia Union University 19%
  • Median Student Loan Debt
  • Trinity College $19,500
  • Virginia Union University $33,750
  • Median Loan Payment
  • Trinity College $201
  • Virginia Union University $348
  • Diversity

  • % Men
  • Trinity College 18%
  • Virginia Union University 49%
  • % Women
  • Trinity College 82%
  • Virginia Union University 51%
  • Racial Diversity
  • Trinity College Low
  • Virginia Union University Extremely Low
  • HBCU
  • Trinity College No
  • Virginia Union University Yes
  • % White
  • Trinity College 82%
  • Virginia Union University 1%
  • % Asian
  • Trinity College 2%
  • Virginia Union University 0%
  • % Black
  • Trinity College 4%
  • Virginia Union University 94%
  • % Hispanic
  • Trinity College 6%
  • Virginia Union University 1%
  • % Native American
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Virginia Union University 1%
  • % Pacific Islander
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Virginia Union University 0%
  • % Two or More Races
  • Trinity College 5%
  • Virginia Union University 0%
  • % International
  • Trinity College 0%
  • Virginia Union University 0%
  • % Unknown Race
  • Trinity College 1%
  • Virginia Union University 2%
  • Students

  • % In-State
  • Trinity College -
  • Virginia Union University 60%
  • % Out-of-State
  • Trinity College -
  • Virginia Union University 20%
  • Campus

  • Campus Housing
  • Trinity College No
  • Virginia Union University Yes
  • Freshman Dorm Required
  • Trinity College No
  • Virginia Union University No
  • Meal Plan
  • Trinity College No
  • Virginia Union University Yes
  • Weekend/Evening Classes
  • Trinity College No
  • Virginia Union University Yes
  • Daycare Facility
  • Trinity College Yes
  • Virginia Union University No
  • Learn More
  • Trinity College Details
  • Virginia Union University Details

Comparable Facts

Compare Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences in Rock Island, IL with Virginia Union University in Richmond, VA on tuition, admissions, graduation, earnings, and student body data using the table above.

Virginia Union University is larger than Trinity College based on total student enrollment (1,646 students vs. 65 students)

Location, institution type, and student-faculty ratio

  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is located in Rock Island, IL (Small City setting); Virginia Union University is in Richmond, VA (Midsize City setting).
  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is a private, non-profit 4-year institution. Virginia Union University is a private, non-profit 4-year institution.
  • Student-to-faculty ratio: Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences 3:1; Virginia Union University 16:1.

Trinity College vs. Virginia Union University Cost Comparison

Which college is more expensive, Trinity College or Virginia Union University? Published tuition is the sticker price; many students pay less after aid (see average net price below).

  • Living costs (room and board or off-campus housing budget) at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences are 25.1% lower than at Virginia Union University ($8,256 vs. $11,016).
  • Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences is 43.2% more expensive for in-state tuition than Virginia Union University (about $7,539 more per year; $24,989.00 vs. $17,450.00).
  • Out-of-state tuition is 43.2% higher at Trinity College than at Virginia Union University (about $7,539 more per year; $24,989.00 vs. $17,450.00).
  • A larger share of students receive grant aid at Virginia Union University than at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences (88% vs. 0%).

Trinity College vs. Virginia Union University Admissions comparison

Which college is harder to get into, Trinity College or Virginia Union University? Typical SAT and ACT scores (same estimates as in the table above), middle 50% test ranges where reported, test score submission policy, deadlines, and acceptance rates summarize admission difficulty between Virginia Union University and Trinity College.

  • Reported middle 50% SAT composite range (25th-75th percentile) for admitted studentsVirginia Union University 850/885.
  • Submitting SAT or ACT scores: Trinity College - Not reported; Virginia Union University - Test optional.
  • Accepted freshman Trinity College students have a 0.71 point higher average high school GPA (3.42) than students at Virginia Union University (2.71).

Trinity College vs. Virginia Union University Graduation Outcomes Comparison

How do outcomes compare for Trinity College and Virginia Union University? Graduation rate, earnings, and student loan debt are common indicators. The bullets below summarize the same federal outcomes fields as the comparison table (College Scorecard / IPEDS where applicable).

  • Graduates from Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences earn a median of about $14,000 more per year than Virginia Union University graduates about ten years after starting college ($47,300 vs. $33,300), per the same Scorecard earnings definition.
  • Among federal student loan borrowers, Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences graduates have a $14,250 lower median loan debt than Virginia Union University graduates ($19,500 vs. $33,750).
  • Among borrowers, Trinity College graduates have an estimated $147 lower median monthly federal student loan payment than Virginia Union University graduates ($201 vs. $348).
  • More Trinity College graduates are actively paying back their federal student loan debt than former Virginia Union University students, three years after graduation. (78% vs. 19%)

Sources: U.S. Department of Education https://nces.ed.gov IPEDS and College Scorecard https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/. Values reflect the most recent year available in our dataset.